Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
260 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Makua Lani Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
The students memorize Bible verses beginning in Kindergarten and throughout their journey at Makua Lani. They learn to apply these lessons, deepen their faith, and use them in college and in their communities as they raise families of their own. The school welcomed us many years ago and we are so blessed by the teachers, staff and families that we have come to call friends. Our children have made friends with fellow students that will on past graduation from Makua Lani.

Makua Lani Christian Academy 5

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
My kids have been attending since Kindergarten with Mrs. Elliott and I have two kids at MLCA. The school works with us to develop their character through Biblical principles and is preparing them for college and life. We are so blessed to have them attend!


Makua Lani Christian Academy 4

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
This is a good school for our children. Moving from the mainland we thought a private school would be appropriate as we acclimated. Our children are developing a lot better than in the public mainland school they attended. The core classes and work are on par. There are not as many elective choices, but the quality of the teachers, students, parents, and administrative staff have provided my children a well rounded experience in which they are able to learn more and are being supported and built up to succeed in life and whatever vocation they pursue. Our senior at MCLA was accepted to Colorado, Washington, Hawaii, and Arizona State University as well as Oregon Institute of Technology. We are grateful.

Makua Lani Christian Academy
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Yes. Students are encouraged to do well in school by admin. and teachers. They are some times able to hand in corrected work for extra credit to be persistent in learning.

Makua Lani Christian Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Students are treated with respect so they learn respect and give it back to teachers and each other.


Makua Lani Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
They do volunteer work in teams about once/semester. It's a Christian Academy and focuses on the bible and charity.

Makua Lani Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Yes. Students are treated with respect, have bible class, and there is a good relationship between the teachers and students who work with them on social behavior as well as subject.

Makua Lani Christian Academy
Grateful to: no rating

Posted November 19, 2015
- a school leader
We are all so very thankful for Auntie Page and all the amazing things she does for the school. She always greets you with a warm smile and has all the answers you need. She is the glue that holds us all together!


Makua Lani Christian Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2013
- a community member
I am an alumni of Makua Lani. It changed my life and made me who I am today. Whenever I think about high school I smile and say " wow, I was so blessed". This school lead me to and helped foster a more intimate relationship with God. I can only say good things about it. -Melody

Makua Lani Christian Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2008
- a community member
I am an Alumni of Makua Lani ('07). The teachers and administration are phenomenal. God's spirit is definitely evident on campus. The relationship between the faculty and students is very healthy. I am forever grateful for the schools investment in our lives. We will never be the same.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Makua Lani Christian Academy
74-4966 Kealaka'a Street, Kailua Kona, HI  96740
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (808) 329-4898
Last modified Makua Lani Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top