Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kalaheo High School 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a community member
As a student at Kalaheo,I can confirm that there is nothing good about this school. Staff turns a blind eye to drug use and most of them are there for the money. There are only 2 functional toilets for boys throughout the school and there are no toilet paper rolls or running water.

Kalaheo High School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
My daughter spent about 2 and a half years at the school. She had a pretty good experience. She was not in the AP type classes so she was not always challenged as much as she could have been. Her counselor and the college counselor were great. wish they could have been more flexible with students with enough credits wanting to leave campus early to work part time for a job in their career field.


Kalaheo High School 3

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
We have two sons, one quit going to the private school he was attending and chose to get his diploma through the Windward school for adults (also located at Kalaheo High). He scored high enough on the GED test to get a diploma instead of a GED. Our second son is a freshman at Kalaheo, he has had problems with reading and writing since he began school. This is the first school that he has enjoyed attending. He is involved in the Jr. ROTC program, this has increased his confidence in himself.

Kalaheo High School 5

Posted February 13, 2010
- a parent
We have 2 children attending Kalaheo High School. Our son has been attending for 4 years and will graduate this year, our daughter is now a sophomore. It has been a good experience for both of them. We have been happy with the teachers. They use snapgrades so you can keep up on your students grades which is helpful. The teachers are open to students coming in after school if they need extra help. The college counselor is great. It's a small school so your students can try any sport. The teachers and coaches are encouraging.

Kalaheo High School 1

Posted November 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Kalaheo High School 4

Posted November 08, 2009
- a community member
I graduated from this school last year, and my overall opinion of it, is that it's generally a good school. Most of the staff love their jobs and genuinely care about their students' success. There seems to be a huge chasm-like gap between the expectations of AP teachers and regular class teachers. But I guess that's just a typical high school, since it required to attend. Those who cared about their grades and going to college were definitely welcomed with open arms.

Kalaheo High School 0
no rating

Posted July 26, 2009
- a student
Kalaheo is a good school. The administration and teachers are both extremely helpful and well educated. The best thing by far about Kalaheo is the teachers who are dedicated and caring. The students themselves generally are very disrespectful or apathetic with the exception of the AP and honors courses. Athletics are good, however too much emphasis is placed on it. Facilities are okay, however a renovation is needed. There are a certain amount of cliques as well, as like any school has. Basically, the teachers are awesome and the school itself is okay, and there are hardworkers and those who dont care. Overall, a good school.

Kalaheo High School 0
no rating

Posted July 13, 2009
- a parent
My eldest child will be a senior at Kalaheo next year. She loves this school, especially the AP program. We have also hosted an exchange student who attended Kalaheo and loved it. Also great sports opportunities. You get out of it what you put in it!


Kalaheo High School 5

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
After hearing horror stories about public schools in Hawaii, we still decided to give it a try, and were pleasantly surprised. My 9th grader attended Kailua Intermediate for 2 years before attending Kalaheo this year. Before KIS, we were on the mainland. She's getting just as good an education here as she would in a private school, and in my opinion, just as adequate as any normal high school on the mainland. My only beef with this school is the EXTREMELY lax dress code. My daughter feels safe at Kalaheo H.S., gets great grades, has made lots of friends, and overall is very happy. They also have a very good NJROTC program. They get a little less homework than I would like to see, but it doesn't seem to be having a negative affect on her education. Don't waste your money on private schools!

Kalaheo High School 1

Posted February 07, 2009
- a community member
We hosted an exchange student from Germany a while back and began to get a very disturbing picture of the poor quality of the teaching going on at this school. In one Biology class our exchange student was taking, they didn't do a single lab while he was there. Students were shown videos daily. His teacher wasn't certified to teach Biology. Kids were very disruptive and disrespectful to the staff and each other. The class was taught that UFOs, alien space ships are real, along with many other examples of factually incorrect knowledge. We saw very little homework out of his classes. In short, this was a lost year for him and he had to repeat elements of his senior year when he returned home. We had to come rescue him from a riot that broke out on campus one day. Our ranking at #48 tells it all.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kalaheo High School
730 Iliaina St, Kailua, HI  96734
(808) 254-7900
Last modified Kalaheo High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kalaheo High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top