Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
113 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 129 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mokapu Elementary School 2

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Up until this school year, I would have given Mokapu a much higher review. That being said, we are nothing but displeased with the quality of educators that our child has been subjected to this year. How a teacher can remain employed when year after year their are numerous complaints lodged against them is beyond my comprehension. I would like to point out there are several other wonderful teachers at the school and if you have children in lower grades without special needs then you probably won't have that much of a chance for problems. It's a shame that a few "bad apples" can really ruin the reputation of the entire school. We cannot wait to transfer away from this school.

Mokapu Elementary School 4

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
The school is a recognition school, which means it's rated in the top 5% of schools across all the islands. It is a military school that offers so many programs for the kids' mental and physical well-being. The teachers are over 95% highly qualified. They offer special classes that the kids LOVE; art, music, STEM, and technology. The reason I give it a 4 stars has nothing to do with the school itself, it is the dismal turnout at all PTA meetings and the lack of involvement by the parents who should be invested in this base school. I hear many other parents complaining constantly rather than doing anything constructive about perceived problems. Otherwise, you can see that the kids are happy and feel safe at this school.


Mokapu Elementary School 3

Posted April 11, 2015
- a community member
If the "powers that be" felt that this military base was a priority, perhaps Mokapu ES would have been a DoD school, many years ago, instead of a drain on the Hawaii state system. However, it is what it is and military parents on Marine Corps Base Hawaii can pretty much expect from their Mokapu ES experience, what THEY put into it. Mokapu ES has many caring and dedicated staff members who have chosen to work there for many years. Likewise, there have been some very amazing military families who have contributed time and talents to this school which, in so doing, demonstrated their community spirit, respect for the host culture of Hawaii, as well as respect for the uniform they wear while on duty. So, you have a choice: roll up your sleeves and be a "doer" or stay home on your couch and be a complainer.

Mokapu Elementary School 1

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
Was encouraged to post here by a mutual perspective. Upset with teaxher-parent relationship and the female vp, Character says a lot about a person. Parents talk a lot about these isses but need to get more active in school to ensure that admin wont slack off.. Not sure how the school finds hire? Is the school short of resources? Similar to the other poster, the BOE and DOE are struggling and suppose times are rough. Parents need to think about whats important and hopefully find satisfaction.

Mokapu Elementary School 2

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
Last year was somewhat more productive than this year. Some of the changes in admin and newer hiring perhaps contributed to the decline of parent satisfaction. While we appreciate the honest hard work of many ( kids kindergarten teacher was good), there are some that are terrible additions contributing to the progress of our children well being. Some stories shared by parents concerning faculty are unfathomable (however perhaps due to lack of funds and the ongoing poor ed system in HI, the employee motivation at work is difficult to obtain and improve better hires). Better to homeschool.


Mokapu Elementary School 2

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
The only reason I give this school 2 stars is for my daughters teachers this year.They have been great. Other then that I would choose another school. My son a 5th grader has had nothing but projects this year.Seriously begining to think they just hand out projects so they dont have to do anything else. I have repeatedly asked for help for him and been given the run around. Coming onto a military base I was highly disappointed in what I saw would be my childrens school. I still dont understand why this is not a DOD school. We came from a DOD school in Japan and it was amazing. The fact the the Govt., or the military for that matter subject our children to such low educational standards is appalling. As of now when we get back to mainland even my daughter who is getting straight A's will be well behind the other children her age. So disappointed and saddened with the outcome of sending my children to this school.

Mokapu Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
- Teacher Quality: first year can't really judge - Principal Leadership: don't know who he is. Never seen him. Maybe participate in a school pledge of Allegiance in the so called field they have. Maybe go around the classes and see that the teachers are teaching and how they are teaching. Maybe stop by lunch for each time periods to see how the kids are doing. What they are being fed. Maybe walk around the school and recess during the day to give a high five or play basketball with the kids. Maybe interact yourself with knowing who the kids parents are. Maybe get out of your office and socialize yourself with EVERYBODY. Maybe help out during drop off and pick up. Maybe SHOW that you care about our students. Test scores for math and reading are just over 50%. - Parent Involvement: I think it would be a LOT better if the school would actually care what parents thought and took action. There's no activities for the kids to participate in. Like a school fair with games and cheap prizes. A bake sale is a great idea. Way to get the school and families TOGETHER. There's none of that here. If you do take a chance here GOID LUCK!

Mokapu Elementary School 2

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
I have never seen a school that has such poor organization.. 6 year olds are allowed to walk home alone without parent permission... which i personally thing is wrong, good luck if you want to get in touch with someone by email to discuss the issue of not being able to find your child during pick up because they had walked home because the bell rings and everyone just goes. as far as drop off and pick up, the adults stand outside and wave for you to move further down.. that is all they do i have seen many parents having to get out of the car to open the childs door (which i would assumed was probably child locked) with an adult standing right there.. this is the reason the line doesnt move in the morning.. the teachers are okay though communication with the parents is not the best.


Mokapu Elementary School 4

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been at Mokapu for 3 years. We have had amazing teachers, and overall good experience with the administration. Never really had an issue school level. But parents don't get involved and it is difficult to hear everyone always complaining but never doing anything to change it. 800+ kids maybe 20 people regularly volunteer. The balance is off - making it harder for admin. to handle everything when parents don't seem to care. My daughter has done after school enrichment programs, track, math club, mad science and more - lots of opportunities. School wide Literacy night in the fall (free event) was a blast and The PTA Family craft night in December is an amazing event - event had Santa. Bingo night, craft nights, and so much more. Not to mention NFL Play 60 was yesterday and the kids had a blast. Hopeful that Science and Math night both upcoming will be great fun too! I wish there were more but I understand why without support it is hard for the school and PTA. I love our teachers and staff they know every child and go above and beyond whenever they can.

Mokapu Elementary School 1

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
If you have a special needs child RUN as far and as fast as you can from this school. We have been in Hawaii 9 months and have racked up 14 violations of IDEA. My son is 6 and attended part of his kindergarten year and is currently enrolled in 1st grade. They failed to provide services to him that were listed on his out of state ID, was found in a parking lot by a parent volunteering, started current school year a week late because they didn't have his supports in place, was told by his teacher she didn't have time to listen to safety concerns, freely admitted he is given no direct instruction, I could go on and on. The whole SPED program, from Administration down is the WORST I have ever come across. Please, seriously consider other options.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mokapu Elementary School
Kmcas Bldg, Kailua, HI  96734
(808) 254-7964
Last modified Mokapu Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mokapu Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 129 reviews. Top