Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Anthony Parish School

Private | PK-8 | 374 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kailua

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $710,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2013

As a parent who has had two children graduate from this school, I can honestly recommend sending your children here. The current administration is really pushing the school toward the future and adjusting the school's teaching style according to our ever changing society. I love the teachers and my kids love to visit, and only have good things to say about St. Anthonys. They both got into great high schools and have been doing very well. I totally recommend anyone to send their kids here. It is a very nurturing and loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

This past year I graduated from St. Anthony's.I attended for 2 years and was less than impressed.In fact, I became so stressed and upset about having to return there after 7th gr that I spiraled into a depression.I felt like I wasn't learning and the kids there were too sheltered. In 7th grade I was pre alg in math so I had to do independent study until the day an accredidation commitee came and they put me downstairs with the librarian.No coincidence there or anything!In 8th grade I had a teacher but I had a shared class!Really, I only had half a period of math everyday.Oddly enough, even though I only got a half a period I probably learned the most out of any class.I really did feel like I was wasting my time going to school everyday.As middle schoolers, we were forced to do the same stuff as the little kids taking away from education time. I come from a christian famiy and after attending religion class I can tell you that i never want to have any part of christianity as an adult.The hipocrisy displayed by the teacher was overwhelming.She also didn't have any viable knowledge to back up what she was teaching us."Because it's tradition" is what she'd say. Don't send your child.


Posted August 3, 2012

My 5 year old recently completed summer school here. I couldn't be more pleased with the results. He went from not knowing which hand to write with to tracing his own name with his right hand while holding the pencil correctly. I couldn't get him to do it with me for months and he got it in 6 weeks. The staff is so friendly and it feels like a family there. My son was in the ELC program and felt so comfortable in their environment. For summer school they mixed 3, 4 & 5 year olds but all the children worked well together. The ELC has a beautiful playground complete with a clean sandy bottom, slide, little tree house and jungle gym. Inside they have tons of excellent manipulatives and toys as well as a train table which is my son's favorite. The children had water play every Friday and walked to the local public library once a week. This is a Catholic school so the children also learned lots of prayers. My son picked them up quite easily and he still says them even today. He even told me that he knew all the sounds of the letter A, and he did. I am so impressed and every day was so worth it knowing how much he learned in such a short time. A+++ St. Anthony's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

As a military child, I have been enrolled in many wonderful schools, but St. Anthony;s is by far the worst I have ever been to. Not only does it lack appropriate teachers for those students more advanced, but it also does not help those students who are falling behind. The religion program was also very disappointing and made me very upset everyday. Students who attend a Catholic school should not doubt their Catholic faith because of the religion class. This private school was not worth the money, sedn your child to a different one.


Posted May 4, 2012

We have been so happy with the elementary part of this school. I love how teaching is done outside of the box with hands on experiments, guest speakers and wonderful parental support. We came from a public Hawaii school in Kailua that didn't have music, art, Spanish... Sas offers all this with skilled professionals and fab computer center as well! We are military and my child has attended many schools. This is by far our favorite!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

Most of St Anthony's teachers are the reason the school continues to attract students. Other teachers need to be replaced. All of this is due to lack of leadership by the two Administration personnel. They care more about perception and protecting their job than the school. Class sizes have ballooned from 17 to 22 in three years. In the past year, they have shuffled bad teachers to other positions rather than removing them from the school. They have created useless middle school writing classes, with no structure or purpose. Lastly they have lowered their acceptance standards, accepting students who will struggle and sometimes disrupt the learning process with bad behavior. It is a sad state of affairs. The core problem is the administration, who must be removed. The school needs someone with vision and leadership. This will be the last year that I will keep my children at the school. I believed things would get better, but it is more of the same from the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

As a parent to 3 students at SAS, I couldn't be more pleased with the school. The teachers are top notch, the curriculum is challenging, yet comparable to what is being taught on the east coast, and most importantly, it provides a Christian atmosphere- truly embracing the "Ohana Ideal." We have no reservations or worries concerning how well our children will transition upon our inevitable return to mainland schools. Contrary to other recent reviews, we have found the Early Learning Center (ELC) to be the highlight of our time at Saint Anthony's. The teachers are loving and provide developmentally appropriate instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

The Administration lacks vision. The ELC which was a gem has deteriorated to become a daycare. In 2010 this was a highly regarded school. Most teachers are excellent. The schools Administration continues to run excellent teachers out of the classroom due to the lack of leadership. Unfortunately I must say that St. Anthony s has a terrible administration. I can no longer say that the ELC is a place that I would send my children, or recommend it to anyone else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

Great school! The Early Learning Center is an amazing place for preschoolers. My children were all very happy, safe, and learned so much. We will miss the school when we leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

Excellent school! The people are wonderful amd make you feel like one 'ohana.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

My 3 children have all attended St. Anthony. They each have great standardized test scores and my two oldest were accepted at every school to which they applied. More importantly, I felt they were well cared for, well prepared, and treated with respect. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

I have taught at this school for a number of years. The administrative is supportive and has revitalized the vision for the school. They encourage and support professional development for teachers - I have personally been to more than 40 hours of classes and workshops during just this year. The leadership team has a strategic vision and is actively involved in a project to make St. Anthony a center for 21st Century Learning Skills. I wouldn't work anywhere else.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2009

My three children have gone to Saint Anthony and it's a great school. The curriculum is rigorous, but the teachers work to make each child successful. The school has wonderful extra-curricular activities such as before and after school care, competitive sports teams, hula, martial arts, student council, and even a drama club that produces delightful plays. Saint Anthony students do great in state or national academic and art competitions such as Geography Bee, Spelling Bee, Peace Poster, Word Power Challenge, Write in the Middle, and Science Fair. The administration is so kind and caring. Whenever one of my kids starts to struggle, or make less than great choices, everyone in the office, the principal, vice-principal, or even the school secretary is immediately available to listen to my concerns, and work toward a solution. Saint Anthony provides a fantastic, well-rounded, strong Catholic education. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

Check for yourself....ask the teachers (and compare different answers) about the last time they had any professional development? ...how many middle school MATH teachers they have gone through in the past 5 years? who has control over the curriculum? ...what they do with the outcome of the standardized test scores to improve weak areas? ...what interventions exist for students who are struggling or gifted? ...how do they accomodate different learning styles and how they differentiate insturction to meet ALL the student's needs? how do they integrate technology into the curriculum? Ask tougher questions and don't reley soley on word of mouth. Go to the school and ask several teachers. They have some amazing teachers that keep the school afloat but the current administration has done little to ensure high academic standards for the school and it's getting worse every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

The administration, or lack there of, negatively impacts the teacher's ability to provide a high quality of care. It is sad because the school has been around long enough to know better. Obviously, the school leadership made a conscious decision somewhere along the line to have one person handle the entire school's administration. We withdrew our son because of this, even though we REALLY liked our teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

St. Anthony's is a wonderful school! I would highly recommend it to parents who are looking into sending their children to a private school. The teachers are great and the whole staff is loving and caring. Your child is not just a number at this school - St. Anthony's is a tight knit community. We will be moving this summer and I will really miss being a part of a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2006

I went to this school it is really great & very friendly community
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2006

St Anthony's provides an inexpensive quality education. My 3 children were enrolled there after living overseas and attending an international school. St Anthony's welcomed them and provided a great atmosphere that allowed them to rapidly assimilate with the existing student population. St Anthony's offers numerous athletic programs and other community service opportunities. After 3 years at the school, we are very pleased with the quality and environment that St Anthony's provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2005

i had two childen that went to st anthony's and absolutely loved it the teachers were great k-3 alot of homework but well worth it in the end my children now go to a dod school it is nothing compared to st anthonys if we get stationed in hawaii again my children will go back to st anthonys.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 21% N/A
Two or more races 6% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 4% 4%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Bridget Olsen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (808) 263-3518

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Honolulu
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

148 Makawao St
Kailua, HI 96734
Website: Click here
Phone: (808) 261-3331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT