Advertisement
Advertisement

Kailua Christian Academy

Private | 4-12 | 43 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kailua

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $710,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2010

This school has been extremely supportive of our child - who would have been lost in public school. As you can see from the student response below, the school expects hard work and rewards students who complete ALL of their work instead of letting them slide through. The teachers are a loving group of christian educators . We thank the lord for school like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

I enrolled my son here in the middle of his freshmen year. They had him take a placement test, so that he could be placed in the math and english classes according to his score. I was shocked by my son's low test scores. It seemed that my son did not understand the english and math classes that he was previously in. In fact, my son struggled during his middle school year. By placing him in the correct math and english class, my son was able to catch up to where he should be at with 'A's' and 'B's' up until he was a senior. Unfortunately, my son wanted to go back to his old school where most of his friends where. But having him enroll here during his freshmen year has improved my son's outlook about his education. He is now a senior with a 3.5 gpa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

This is an excellent school I had 2 of my children went there before we moved. Education and God 100% on the time!


Posted July 23, 2008

The school is a bad environment to grow up in. You have no real social interaction to speak of that isn't severely limited, and I remember days where we were all so drained from working constantly that we would all stand in a circle and not talk about anything, for lack of motivation. The curriculum is purely structure-based, and if you are like me and had to leave before you can finish even the final test of something, they will not give you the credit for that entire class, an issue that I am still dealing with financially, scholastically, and socially. There is little good I can truly say about this school, please do not enroll your kid here. Please.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2007

My child gets tired of looking at a computer all day long. There is no extra activities, and my child does not have many friends. There is not enough teacher-student interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

All three of my children graduated from KCA, which may not have a sports program, but scouts always go to the clubs before going to high schools on scouting trips. KCA provides one of the highest academic programs in Hawaii. Students who graduate from KCA are college prepped upon graduation. KCA is a 'traditional' school, which means the curriculum is individualized and tailored to meet the needs of the student. The teacher helps on an individual basis. The room is set up to minimize distractions, so the student can concentrate. Students have breaks every hour where they can socialize with one another. All KCA students are involved in a yearly Christmas musical. Students are offered after school music lessons. Also, at this time first through ninth grade students are participating in water sports twice a week, and before that they were involved in field and gym sports.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 17, 2007

The quality of the academic program at this school is less then average, honestly my child would have done better at a public school. There is no outside activity, my child would sit at her desk and type in her work. No music, art, or any sport clubs. I strongly recomend for the reader to not apply their child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 40% N/A
White 33% 20%
Two or more races 19% N/A
Hispanic 9% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1077 Uluopihi Loop
Kailua, HI 96734
Phone: (808) 263-9999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT