Advertisement
Advertisement

Huakailani School for Girls

Private | K-4 | 25 students

We are best known for individualized education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Kailua

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $710,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted September 7, 2011

We invite you to contact us for a tour of our school. We strive to create a learning environment where students thrive. The Journey for Learning Begins Here...

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2013

We have 2 daughters that attended Huakailani School.I currently homeschool since we are a military family on the move. I must say that their time at Huakailani proved to be an invaluable educational experience. My youngest (who started there in K) is supposed to be in 2nd gr., but she works at almost a fourth grade level in math, and she works at a 3rd grade level in all areas of language arts. My oldest (who started at the school in 3rd grade) works easily at grade level in math, and excels at language arts as well; especially writing. Both girls reminisce on the cool experiments they got to do and neat ways they learned specific concepts.My oldest learned valuable computer technology skills that i'm sure she would not have been exposed to at other schools (she especially loved working on a community service project in which she learned claymation!).Focus on the community was a big draw for us.The school strives to have students be stewards of their community.They experienced an environment in which they learned according to their strengths, and the director and staff are open to changing things that may not be working for a particular student.Great school for esteem building!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

Our daughter has attended Huakailani from K through 2nd grade. Originally we only intended to have her there for K because she was very, very shy with speech delays, and we knew she needed more attention than she would get in public schools. She made such huge strides in every aspect of her education, confidence and strength of character almost immediately, we decided it is definitely worth it to keep her at Huakailani for as long as we could afford to. The teachers are really amazing with the girls, her education is very individualized to her, she loves going to school everyday and regular online and in person updates let us know how to support Kaia's growth as well as our family needs. Huakailani constantly amazes us with very creative projects, field trips and opportunities to learn. I love the degree of parent support and the wonderful rapport that both students and parents have with the staff. The school even makes interpersonal relationships an important focus, they often help the girls to effectively resolve any disagreements in a respectful manner. I would absolutely recommend this school to anyone. It has been an amazing experience for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

My daughter was begging to be home schooled. She needed a small size classroom as she was quiet and was not getting the attention she needed at her previous school. When we found Huakailani, it was just what we were looking for. Their small class room size allows each girl to get the attention she needs. When our daughter was having a problem with long division, her Huakailani teacher spent several individual sessions with her until it clicked. The all girl environment is supportive and inclusive. Our daughter went from a shy and reticent child in the classroom to an outgoing leader! This school is technologically advanced, inspiring, creative and a find! Check it out and see if it's a good fit for your daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

Huakailani is an excellent school!!! The individual curriculum that they provide for each girl in invaluable. Our daughter was technically kindergarden last year, but all of her areas of studies were first grade. This allowed her to continuously be challenged at a level that was appropriate for her. Unfortunately, we moved this summer because we are a military family and we miss Huakailani very much! We would recommend this school to anyone. The tuition is high, but is still cheaper than other schools on the island especially for the small size and individual attention that each girl receives. The school uses the latest technology which keeps the girls in touch with the changing world. The curriculum is also well-rounded which gives the girls the opportunity to learn about many different subjects other than the traditional ones. We would definitely encourage parents who are looking into a private school for their daughter to take a serious look at Huakailani.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

In April we looked at this school for possible enrollment for the fall for my 8 year old daughter, we were so impressed with it that we decided to let our daughter transfer in right away. Although it is expensive, it is still less costly than the other major private school in this area and the small class ratio of teachers to students has helped our daughter make positive gains both academically and emotionally in a relatively short period of time. The teachers and principal are very caring and each girl and her parents are considered to be part of this school's extended family. I would definitely give this school a 5 star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

The school has a caring environment. However, tuition is very high, for the level of education provided and lack of a traditional school campus/offerings. There has been very large and consistent turnover of teachers and students (both local and military), not only a result of people moving. For some, though, it might be a good match. Look carefully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

We chose Huakailani for our kindergarten-age daughter while we were temporarily relocated to Hawaii. We worried about transitioning her in mid-year, but the individual attention, flexible academic program and wonderfully supportive teaching staff and students made it easy. The atmosphere of this school is positive and the kids are happy to be there. The PE, art, dance and language add to a great foundation of learning on the basics. We have moved back to the mainland now and find ourselves searching here for a school just like Huakailani. It is a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My husband and I have been thrilled with our daughter's experiences at Huakailani. (kindergarten) She is flourishing. Her confidence has continued to build and she is participating in so many diverse activities. She is excited to go to school everyday, and I am excited that she has 6 more years to reap the benefits that a Huakailani education provides
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

What a great place for my daugher to learn in a positive environment. Her confidence in learning has increased since she has been attending Huakailani, where the girls can get the individual attention needed to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

This being the first expeience for my daughter to attend school has been more than I could have ever anticipated. Her growth as a person as well as her intelect has been most rewarding. Kudo's to the excellent teaching staff and well developed curiculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

We have two girls at Huakailani and I always say: 'This is what a school is supposed to be.' Each child is on their own journey. This is a very loving and supportive environment. The multi-grade level teaching works so well. It helps the older girls develop empathy and gives the younger girls a role model to look up to. A small school gives the director the ability to be flexible and make adjustments as needed. Both our girls are flourishing at Huakailani. You are welcome to check us out on Facebook and the Huakailani website. Parents are always happy to answer any specific questions you may have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

This is my daughters second year at Huakailani and life just seems to keep getting better. You will never find a more loving, caring and nurturing school. Learning is so much easier when you feel safe. Being a part of the Huakailani Family is like no other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

My daughter found a second home in this school where the nurturing continues and learning is made fun and effective. There's no such thing as perfect, but this is a school close to perfection. You can tell that the founder has a solid vision combined with a lot of heart,passion and great intelligence. But, all is not going to be well done without the right team, and so far, she has the right members of the team! Everybody is working together as a team here. more power Huakailani School!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Huakailani was a wonderful find for our family. I did a lot of research and visited many schools before deciding on a charter school for elementary. We struggled there with various issues, and when we heard of Huakailani starting, we checked it out. It was a great match for our child. The peaceful and nurturing environment creates the ideal situation for positive learning. My daughter had developed a very negative attitude towards school and just a few months into Huakailani, her motivation, enthusiasm and creativity return and thrives. The innovative and creative approach to learning here fosters knowledge. We are so happy to have found the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

My daughter is thriving in this non-traditional environment. With the education tailored for each girl, the program allows for girls to move more quickly through their strong areas and get additional help in weaker ones - whether educational or social. This school answered my family's need where the public system failed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

Huakailani may be a small school but it is filled with big hearts. I think they have the best academic program, the best performing arts, language, and P.E.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Japanese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Good Neighbor Award (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Douglas Brown
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • All girls
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (323) 315-9374

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Reggio Emilia
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Performing arts
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Adopt a Block
  • Plastic Free Kailua
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Zumba

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

146 Hekili Street STE 104
Kailua, HI 96734
Website: Click here
Phone: (808) 263-2020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT