Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-4
Private
Kailua, HI
Students enrolled: 25
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We invite you to contact us for a tour of our school. We strive to create a learning environment where students thrive. The Journey for Learning Begins Here...
September 7, 2011

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Huakailani School for Girls 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
We have 2 daughters that attended Huakailani School.I currently homeschool since we are a military family on the move. I must say that their time at Huakailani proved to be an invaluable educational experience. My youngest (who started there in K) is supposed to be in 2nd gr., but she works at almost a fourth grade level in math, and she works at a 3rd grade level in all areas of language arts. My oldest (who started at the school in 3rd grade) works easily at grade level in math, and excels at language arts as well; especially writing. Both girls reminisce on the cool experiments they got to do and neat ways they learned specific concepts.My oldest learned valuable computer technology skills that i'm sure she would not have been exposed to at other schools (she especially loved working on a community service project in which she learned claymation!).Focus on the community was a big draw for us.The school strives to have students be stewards of their community.They experienced an environment in which they learned according to their strengths, and the director and staff are open to changing things that may not be working for a particular student.Great school for esteem building!

Huakailani School for Girls 5

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter has attended Huakailani from K through 2nd grade. Originally we only intended to have her there for K because she was very, very shy with speech delays, and we knew she needed more attention than she would get in public schools. She made such huge strides in every aspect of her education, confidence and strength of character almost immediately, we decided it is definitely worth it to keep her at Huakailani for as long as we could afford to. The teachers are really amazing with the girls, her education is very individualized to her, she loves going to school everyday and regular online and in person updates let us know how to support Kaia's growth as well as our family needs. Huakailani constantly amazes us with very creative projects, field trips and opportunities to learn. I love the degree of parent support and the wonderful rapport that both students and parents have with the staff. The school even makes interpersonal relationships an important focus, they often help the girls to effectively resolve any disagreements in a respectful manner. I would absolutely recommend this school to anyone. It has been an amazing experience for our family.


Huakailani School for Girls 5

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
My daughter was begging to be home schooled. She needed a small size classroom as she was quiet and was not getting the attention she needed at her previous school. When we found Huakailani, it was just what we were looking for. Their small class room size allows each girl to get the attention she needs. When our daughter was having a problem with long division, her Huakailani teacher spent several individual sessions with her until it clicked. The all girl environment is supportive and inclusive. Our daughter went from a shy and reticent child in the classroom to an outgoing leader! This school is technologically advanced, inspiring, creative and a find! Check it out and see if it's a good fit for your daughter.

Huakailani School for Girls 5

Posted September 18, 2011
- a parent
Huakailani is an excellent school!!! The individual curriculum that they provide for each girl in invaluable. Our daughter was technically kindergarden last year, but all of her areas of studies were first grade. This allowed her to continuously be challenged at a level that was appropriate for her. Unfortunately, we moved this summer because we are a military family and we miss Huakailani very much! We would recommend this school to anyone. The tuition is high, but is still cheaper than other schools on the island especially for the small size and individual attention that each girl receives. The school uses the latest technology which keeps the girls in touch with the changing world. The curriculum is also well-rounded which gives the girls the opportunity to learn about many different subjects other than the traditional ones. We would definitely encourage parents who are looking into a private school for their daughter to take a serious look at Huakailani.

Huakailani School for Girls 5

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
In April we looked at this school for possible enrollment for the fall for my 8 year old daughter, we were so impressed with it that we decided to let our daughter transfer in right away. Although it is expensive, it is still less costly than the other major private school in this area and the small class ratio of teachers to students has helped our daughter make positive gains both academically and emotionally in a relatively short period of time. The teachers and principal are very caring and each girl and her parents are considered to be part of this school's extended family. I would definitely give this school a 5 star rating.


Huakailani School for Girls 2

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
The school has a caring environment. However, tuition is very high, for the level of education provided and lack of a traditional school campus/offerings. There has been very large and consistent turnover of teachers and students (both local and military), not only a result of people moving. For some, though, it might be a good match. Look carefully.

Huakailani School for Girls 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
We chose Huakailani for our kindergarten-age daughter while we were temporarily relocated to Hawaii. We worried about transitioning her in mid-year, but the individual attention, flexible academic program and wonderfully supportive teaching staff and students made it easy. The atmosphere of this school is positive and the kids are happy to be there. The PE, art, dance and language add to a great foundation of learning on the basics. We have moved back to the mainland now and find ourselves searching here for a school just like Huakailani. It is a gem!

Huakailani School for Girls 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
My husband and I have been thrilled with our daughter's experiences at Huakailani. (kindergarten) She is flourishing. Her confidence has continued to build and she is participating in so many diverse activities. She is excited to go to school everyday, and I am excited that she has 6 more years to reap the benefits that a Huakailani education provides


Huakailani School for Girls 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
What a great place for my daugher to learn in a positive environment. Her confidence in learning has increased since she has been attending Huakailani, where the girls can get the individual attention needed to excel.

Huakailani School for Girls 5

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
This being the first expeience for my daughter to attend school has been more than I could have ever anticipated. Her growth as a person as well as her intelect has been most rewarding. Kudo's to the excellent teaching staff and well developed curiculum.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Huakailani School for Girls
146 Hekili Street STE 104, Kailua, HI  96734
(808) 263-2020
Last modified Huakailani School for Girls is a Private school that serves grades K-4
Huakailani School for Girls Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top