Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aikahi Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

101 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2014

Lot of hype. No substance. It looks like the school staff has been posting positive reviews to offset the actual reviews. Doesn't surprise me much. These are not the people you want educating your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Aikahi is an outstanding school. My daughter is challenged and enjoys going to school. The teachers are inspiring and knowledgeable! The administration team is friendly and supportive. One of the best schools is Hawaii!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

We are military family whose kids attended kindergarten. So military friendly and very understanding to the kids who have parents deployed or have frequent travel. Mrs. Hansen was an amazing teacher for my kids. We since moved to the mainland and they were either at or above reading and math levels as the other kids in their school. Very positive Hawaii public school experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

The teachers continually tell me that my children are not their responsibility. They have no safety concerns whatsoever. They have first year teachers who are not informed about safety and procedure. One teacher said this exactly: "I checked with the office and they said I don't have to know where your child is when they leave my room". Do not send your children to this school until these teachers are better trained and take accountability for the safety of the children. I'm disgusted that any school would openly admit that they don't care what happens to your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We came from the mainland fully aware of the challenges of finding good education at public schools in Hawaii. This is our third year at Aikahi and are very pleased. We are happy with the new principal. There is also a new vice principal. This position didn't exist before. Our kids have had some very good teachers. Another recent addition is a music teacher that has really inspired our kids. I like the strong sense of community at Aikahi. Parents are very involved, which is probably one the major reasons for Aikahi doing so well compared to other public schools. The PTA is doing some really good things. In regard to some old comments below, there were a number of anti-bulling efforts implemented in the last year. I believe things are better now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

My son has attended Aikahi for 4 years. One of the best things about the school is the size. I love the small environment and that everyone knows everyone. All the teachers and staff get to know the kids and parents personally. Most of the parents also try to get involved in many of the programs and really create a sense of community. I have been very happy with the school and my son has thrived! Aikahi is one of the best schools in Hawaii.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

This principal is definitely pointing Aikahi in the right direction. She's not perfect but who is. I'm glad we chose Aikahi for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

New principal much better. PTA has good leadership. Parents need to be more involved. It's the same parents volunteering every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

The new principal is just what the school needed to excel. She has a clear vision and is already moving the school in a positive direction. Excellent teachers, supportive PTA, and hard working students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2012

My child has gone to this school for 3 years. The teachers are fair and the kids work and play well together. My child is happy here and motivated to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

This school is so over rated! Yes, many teachers are excellent but without an excellent environment to thrive in it's difficult for all involved. Bullying is bad. (and no. Bullying isn't everywhere if nipped in the bud immediately!) Mama drama even worse. And the extra programs offered are for after school only when many kids are off doing their sports. And if you are not a member of the PTSA, forget involvement, cuz the group is very clicky. We bit the bullet and switched to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

Aikahi is simply stated top-notch. Yes, Hawaii public education is lacking in various ways when compared to the mainland, which is why Aikahi sets itself apart from other public schools by offering a tremendous, unique, and diverse after-school enrichment program. Parents who do not get involved with volunteering regularly, PTSA, helping with school events, etc. seem to be the unhappy ones. Your child's educational experience is in large part what YOU as parents make of it with your involvement. Bullying can happen anywhere. It is NOT a bigger problem at this school relative to any other school in Hawaii, quite the contrary. Those that choose to homeschool, so be it....you are missing out on a valuable, irreplaceable, real-world social, cultural and educational experience in this wonderful community. VERY military-friendly school with some fantastic teachers and volunteers. I, as so many others, am PROUD to be an Aikahi parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

Note to those who honestly express opinions that contain elements of truth (regarding the administration in this school). Trying to share resources with other families who may have had similiar experiences is apparently not permitted (must have missed that in the terms of use and school review guidelines). Your post will mysteriously vanish into cyberspace (as 2 of mine have). Has anyone else had this experience? Hmmmmmm? Just wondering what they have to hide? Apparently factual information is seen as threatening and/or dangerous. LOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

I searched out the best school we could find when moving here with the military. We jumped through hoops to get our kids into Aikahi. It was a mistake. The bottom line is that the principal tolerates and protects bullies, and the academics are far behind a basic public school in the rural south. I know 3 separate families, 4 including my own, who now home school their children because Aikahi Elementary failed them. Teachers there seem nice and work hard, but bullies ruin the atmosphere for learning and no one does anything meaningful to stop it. Even with multiple investigations the only outcome was lip service, and in so many words, blaming the victims. Subsequently, these 4 families had their children in counseling to deal with the bullying, but the bullies were not only tolerated, but unaffected by the school s response. Academically, we found the curriculum quite unremarkable, particularly in math (Everyday Math with few supplements), history (none that I saw), and science. The gifted program was challenging in Language Arts. On the positive side, your child will learn hula and the kids enjoyed art and the cool playground, if they are not being bullied on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

We are a military family and have been on-island for 6 months. We specifically rented a home within this school district based on everything we read. Aikahi seemed like top-notch school. And it is. However, I do think that a lot of the information floating around out there is dated. Aikahi likes to tout the fact that it was a Blue Ribbon School. This is a great accomplishment to be sure, but it should be noted that since this was awarded the school's principle has changed. I am very pleased with my children's teachers, however, the principle Ms. Kong leaves a lot to be desired. I walk my children to school, volunteer regularly, and have lunch with them about twice a month. Since the school year began (6 months ago) I have seen her TWICE on an ordinary day (walking the hall). She is never outside in the morning to greet the children, I've never seen her in the cafeteria, and have yet to witness her saying your typical "Bye, have a good night and don't forget to do your homework". I have been to the two coffees she has held (one about the academic software the students use, and one about next year's budget). I worry that her lack of leadership will pull this school down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

My son attended Aikahi from Kindergarten - 2nd grade. We absolutely LOVED it. Yes...the principal is a bit scatterbrained, but the teachers and PTSA is fantastic! If we move back to Hawaii, we would definitely consider coming back to Aikahi. VERY MILITARY FRIENDLY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

We chose to pull our children from this school. There was a fairly minor incident on the playground, that could have turned into one of those magical teaching moments if the principal knew anything! The woman has all the right degrees and zero ability to implement any of it. She actually said several things to me that would raise the eyebrows of her superiors, at the very least!!! She made disparaging remarks about children that witnessed the incident, she said one thing then another about one subject, she even made inappropriate threats. This school has so much potential! Most of the teachers are very dedicated and are the kind of teacher you always hope your child will have. The facilities are beautiful and the children are a wonderful mix of locals and military. The reputation this school earned under the leadership of a fantastic principal is what keeps their rating high. Once the current principal gets finished she may ruin the whole school. She has weakened the morale of the teachers to a staggering level - they know they cannot count on her for the administrative support they need!


Posted November 9, 2010

Great environment with helpful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Committed parents, great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

Fantastic teachers that care and give their 200% every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 18% 34%
Two or more races 15% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 34%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

281 Ilihau St
Kailua, HI 96734
Phone: (808) 254-7944

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Redemption Academy
Honolulu, HI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT