Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public
Kailua-Kona, HI
Students enrolled: 759
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kealakehe Intermediate School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Kealakehe Intermediate School has a loving and caring staff. The teachers have a heart for all their students. They give up their recess, lunch, and are in their rooms (lot's of them :-) tutoring and giving kids extra help. The campus is safe and has a WONDERFUL morning broadcast, with uplifting messages on anti bullying, self esteem, goal setting and all around character building. Love, love, love Kealakehe Intermediate.

Kealakehe Intermediate School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
Kelakehe Intermediate School is a beacon of light in a very transient community, helping students achieve their academic goals while also celebrating their creative abilities. There is a wonderful chorus and ukulele class, wood working, free after school programs, offering cooking, gardening, hip hop, and theater, just to name a few. Kealakehe Intermediate or KIS nurtures the whole child. GO HAWKS!!!!


Kealakehe Intermediate School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
Kealakehe Intermediate School is an excellent school with hard working staff that really care about the kids. There are many programs in place to help students do well, have fun learning new things like robotics, sewing, sports. The administration and teachers work hard to maintain a friendly and safe campus.

Kealakehe Intermediate School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
Kealakehe Intermediate School - Enthusiastic theatre arts program providing both activity and learning opportunities for area kids. Acknowledged excellent May Day pageants, ukelele band and chorus second to none.

Kealakehe Intermediate School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
Kealakehe Intermediate School has improved greatly over the years since I was a student here. Many students have commented that the teachers don't care and that may be true about a few teachers, however the majority of the faculty and staff are extremely caring and dedicated to students. Many teachers use their sick days in order to be able to take students on field trips or hold events like May Day. Members of the faculty and staff put in hours beyond count in order to hold events like school Mini Fairs. Faculty and staff volunteers put in countless hours working with programs like the after school theatre program, the spelling bee, the Newbery Quiz Bowl and so many more. Though the school faces funding challenges as enrollment has fluctuated over the years, the principal and administration have remained dedicated to providing funding for electives at our school, maintaining small class sizes, and continuing necessary services to students. While the school did lose the counseling positions two years ago, admin has fought to restore a counselor to the school as of January 2014, and the majority of KIS students who want to do well, ARE DOING WELL.


Kealakehe Intermediate School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
My school are one of the few in our state that still offers cooking class, robotics, sewing class, and hi-hop, to name a few!

Kealakehe Intermediate School 1

Posted April 22, 2014
- a community member
This school needs shaping up. Time to start including kids that are kind. Only accept kids that are kind and nice. Teach self control. Have the school suspend any children who bully children the second you hear it. Have a better counseling. This school should be a positive environment, not a jungle . This school should be filled with inspiration, not filled with habits to have kids end up into something bad... This school could be better if they really really and I mean REALLY!!! Tried!!!

Kealakehe Intermediate School 2

Posted May 20, 2013
- a community member
Okay, first off, I'm a student here so I know what it's like. This school is TERRIBLE! They have ZERO art supplies to help the students, most teachers don't even care about their students, and the food is HORRIBLE. ( I know, can't really complain about it but anyways, moving on.. ) Also, this school is just STUPID beyond compare. The students are stupid, the teachers are stupid and students here are so judgmental it's scary. I hate this school with a passion and I hope they stop teaching for the rest of eternity.


Kealakehe Intermediate School 1

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
seems to be a lot of bullying at this school. Staff seems unconcerned and the principal disregards phone calls. Although it says class average is 16 students, upon walking on campus many classrooms appear to have more like almost 30 students. Buses are over crowded. Seems to be some sort of favortism among staffing as some classrooms seem to be well equipped and others rather sparse.

Kealakehe Intermediate School 5

Posted November 17, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a 7th grader who loves her new school & the teachers plus all the students who are down to earth which equates to a great learning environment. Coming from Florida where there is a ton of bullying plus teachers who don't teach, Kealakehe Intermediate is a godsend. My child actually looks forward to coming to school. The teachers & staff make it a great school. Never in my wildest imagination did I expect to actually speak to a teacher on her cell phone about my child, her student. Science is so exciting to have such a wonderful, exciting female teacher to teach hands on plus all the other teachers especially the native Hawaiian teachers make for an awesome education. The media male teacher is #1. Mahalo teachers for the love you show all the students in teaching them. It is a truly a gift! formerly ms new tampa now ms kailua kona

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kealakehe Intermediate School
745062 Onipaa St, Kailua-Kona, HI  96740
(808) 327-4314
Last modified Kealakehe Intermediate School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kealakehe Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top