Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12 & Ungraded
Public charter
Kamuela, HI
Students enrolled: 311
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 1

Posted September 06, 2012
- a community member
As far as education is concerned Kanu just doesn't have what it takes. They fail to teach their students in an effective manner which is clearly visible in their test scores, which are comparable to those of the failing public schools in Hawaii. European and U.S. history are missing from the curriculum, along with a formal and effective language arts program. Critical reading and literary analysis skills are absent along with the ability to write a college or even high school level essay. Kanu allocations of funds is abhorrent. Instead of using state sanctioned funds along with donations from the private sector to better the education of their students, money is allocated to cultural activities that fail to prepare the youth for their future. While not a college prep school, the meager education the willing and ambitious students managed come upon in most cases leaves them at a disadvantage to succeed in college or any form of further education. Instead of the primary focus being on preparing their students for their future and extended schooling, Kanu focuses on teaching its students of the Hawaiian culture and its values. As an educational facility it fails.

Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 4

Posted December 01, 2010
- a community member
I like Kanu. It's different from most schools. You get to be outside and malama the 'aina. the best project is waipi'o. its really fun. the drawback is the schedule. It's really confusing and the teachers dont tell you what is happening. there was a excursion to teach HPA the makahiki games and i was chosen to be alaka'i. nobody told me that i was chosen so by the time i found out, they had already left. i was really mad because when the people who did go had alot of fun. Many others have the same story as me.


Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
For the Kumu. I have never met a more dedicated group of teachers and administration than the ones at Kanu. They love my child for who he IS rather than dislike him for what he DOES. :) Thank you, thank you, thank you, from the bottom of my heart!

Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
Kanu o ka Aina is an amazing school for so many reasons. Anyone affiliated with the school is considered family and treated with the respect, kindness and care you would treat your most cherished loved ones. There is an authentic interrelatedness of the community, the curriculum, the heritage and the environment that I have not seen in any other school setting. This school supports the whole child by acknowledging that includes the whole family. Kanu o ka Aina teaches its students and families to be educated citizens proud of their unique participation, relationship and offerings to the broader community network.

Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 0
no rating

Posted September 26, 2009
- a parent
It teaches our new generation of kids to be helpful and protect our planet earth and teaches them to feel important and being smart ready for the world


Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
Kanu supports and teaches the children of the future to love their heritage.Kanu o ka aina.

Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This school is cutting edge, humanistic, creative, inclusive, positive and immensely successful as an innovative culturally based charter school

Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
My daughter loves her High School <Kanu> I am delighted she is happy and that she is learning alot


Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a teacher
Kanu o kaina NCPCS provides place-based learning that is culturally driven. The hands on learning experiences engage students in real world learning.

Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
I love Kaniu!!! Kanu not only helps me with my Hawaiian culture but I get to share it with everyone!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School
64-1043 Hiiaka Street, Kamuela, HI  96743
(808) 890-8144
Last modified Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kanu O Ka Aina - New Century Public Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top