Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kanu O Ka Aina Public Charter School

Charter | PK-12 & ungraded | 226 students

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2012

As far as education is concerned Kanu just doesn't have what it takes. They fail to teach their students in an effective manner which is clearly visible in their test scores, which are comparable to those of the failing public schools in Hawaii. European and U.S. history are missing from the curriculum, along with a formal and effective language arts program. Critical reading and literary analysis skills are absent along with the ability to write a college or even high school level essay. Kanu allocations of funds is abhorrent. Instead of using state sanctioned funds along with donations from the private sector to better the education of their students, money is allocated to cultural activities that fail to prepare the youth for their future. While not a college prep school, the meager education the willing and ambitious students managed come upon in most cases leaves them at a disadvantage to succeed in college or any form of further education. Instead of the primary focus being on preparing their students for their future and extended schooling, Kanu focuses on teaching its students of the Hawaiian culture and its values. As an educational facility it fails.


Posted December 1, 2010

I like Kanu. It's different from most schools. You get to be outside and malama the 'aina. the best project is waipi'o. its really fun. the drawback is the schedule. It's really confusing and the teachers dont tell you what is happening. there was a excursion to teach HPA the makahiki games and i was chosen to be alaka'i. nobody told me that i was chosen so by the time i found out, they had already left. i was really mad because when the people who did go had alot of fun. Many others have the same story as me.


Posted September 30, 2009

For the Kumu. I have never met a more dedicated group of teachers and administration than the ones at Kanu. They love my child for who he IS rather than dislike him for what he DOES. :) Thank you, thank you, thank you, from the bottom of my heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Kanu o ka Aina is an amazing school for so many reasons. Anyone affiliated with the school is considered family and treated with the respect, kindness and care you would treat your most cherished loved ones. There is an authentic interrelatedness of the community, the curriculum, the heritage and the environment that I have not seen in any other school setting. This school supports the whole child by acknowledging that includes the whole family. Kanu o ka Aina teaches its students and families to be educated citizens proud of their unique participation, relationship and offerings to the broader community network.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

It teaches our new generation of kids to be helpful and protect our planet earth and teaches them to feel important and being smart ready for the world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Kanu supports and teaches the children of the future to love their heritage.Kanu o ka aina.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school is cutting edge, humanistic, creative, inclusive, positive and immensely successful as an innovative culturally based charter school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My daughter loves her High School <Kanu> I am delighted she is happy and that she is learning alot
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Kanu o kaina NCPCS provides place-based learning that is culturally driven. The hands on learning experiences engage students in real world learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Kaniu!!! Kanu not only helps me with my Hawaiian culture but I get to share it with everyone!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

I love kanu o ka aina, because it gives the children of hawaii the oppertunity to learn about there culture and ancestors. i love it also because it is a fun unique way to learn, and we are all ohana
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Kanu is the best school ever! We get to perpetuate the hawaiian culture in all that we do. We get to experience activities that most kids don't get to experience. We have the opportunity to express ourselves through dance, sports, and other activities. Kanu is the best school to attend if you have a purpose to fulfill as a citizen in the community. Our school helps the environment to become stronger, but while we do this we have fun and we become stronger as an ohana (family). So this school in general is the greatest school to attend. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Kanu! It's totally Awesome i mean its like the best school on the island.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I think that this school teaches you sooo much. i love it here, i love to learn the hawaiian language. I love how we go out into the community and get to work with the aina.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

There are no words to describe how much I love Kanu O Ka Aina!!!! No other school is better!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

I love everything about Kanu o ka Aina because it is the best school in the world. My favorite part about the school is going to Waipi'o every other week and collecting data in the streams of Waipi'o. K lia i ka nu'u, aloha kekahi i kekahi, E ola mau n Kanu o ka ' ina!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

My daughters love going to Kanu! I love how they come home, with smiles on their faces, and telling me about their great day at kanu! Kanu gives me the cultural knowlege as well with the support from all the teachers, we are truly all one Ohana (Family)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My daughter loves Kanu she very happy to be going there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Fantastic school with highly dedicated staff. I could not be happier with my child's progress!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

24 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

24 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

21 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

21 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
24%

2009

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
25%

2009

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 77% 34%
White 19% 14%
Asian 3% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 8%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

651170 Opelo Rd
Kamuela, HI 96743
Phone: (808) 887-8144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Parker School
Kamuela, HI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT