Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kahaluu Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2012
- a parent
Kahalu'u Elementary school staff are amazing. You can tell that they love what they do and that they generally enjoy working with each other and care about each of the kids that they serve. It has a feel like you're at home. Such a great type of feel that you want for your kids. Kids are always having fun learning!

Kahaluu Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2012
- a teacher
Parent engagement activities all through the year. Teachers and staff make you feel welcome from the minute you step on campus. Its like a big 'ohana there, and its like coming home. Great campus, and their May Day program is unbelievable!!


Kahaluu Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2010
- a community member
kahaluu elementary is the best elementary school on this island. losing amy arakaki was the worst thing that happened to kahaluu. i still love this school. when i have kids i want them to be apart of this school. all the teachers are great and friendly. they thought me alot when i went to school there ive always wanted to teach in that school just to be apart of that school.... . kahaluu is a great school....

Kahaluu Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
Kahaluu elementary school lost its principal leadership with the retirement of Amy Arakaki. It USED to be a wonderful, caring, country school. Now its staff is indifferent. Such a loss for the students.

Kahaluu Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Kahaluu Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kahaluu Elementary School 4

Posted May 01, 2007
- a parent
I think kahaluu elementary is a very good school. It's a small school, perfect for students to grow and work with each other from k to 6th grade. My son went to that school from 3rd grade and had honor roll from 4th to 6th grade. He will be graduating from castle this year. My daugther has been attending since kinder, and is in the 6th grade. The school goes thru changes as good teachers, staff and dedicated parents leave. Ever since the doe changed the grading system, the kids lost interest in keeping the grades up for honor roll no goals/incentives for them. I really think the school could do better, but it also has to do with the parents being involed with the kids school functions etc. Create a better ohana crew to to work with teachers/parents for more fun events in the future.

Kahaluu Elementary School 2

Posted January 27, 2007
- a parent
I don't like this school. There is absolutely no parent involvement.The children seen 'wild' and undisciplined. The curriculum is so basic. They don't work with each child's academic levels, they combine them all together. The office staff don't recognize you when you walk in the office.


Kahaluu Elementary School 3

Posted October 04, 2004
- a parent
My child attends kindergarten at this school. His teacher is Mrs. Tokoro and she is absolutely wonderful. With 12 years experience teaching kidergarten she is a pro! The principal Ms. Arakaki has a energy and positive outlook that is contagious. The students are very supportive of each other and have manners not always found among youth today. I believe it is due to the feeling of Ohana that flows through the school. The PTA Ohana has overflowed this year compared to previous years and the parents are really interested in supporting the school. The community support from local organizations and churches is also very strong. Our school test scores are one of the worst, but I believe that it can and will change. There are many things a test cannot reveal and I wanted to share with many others who may feel our school is a lost cause. Mahalo.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kahaluu Elementary School
47280 Waihee Rd, Kaneohe, HI  96744
(808) 239-3101
Last modified Kahaluu Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kahaluu Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.