Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mauka Lani Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2013

Mauka Lani is a fabulous school, and I cant wait to see what the future holds.


Posted July 24, 2011

We moved here with just a couple of months left in the school year. I was very impressed when the principal took us on a tour of the campus. She's obviously quite proud of the school. My daughter's teacher was great; she truly welcomed her into the class. The May Day celebration was absolutely incredible. What a fantastic way to see Hawaiian pageantry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

My daughter has attended Mauka Lani for 4 years. She previously went to Kaleiopu'u and Kapolei Elementary. I believe the Teachers & Principal are better at Mauka Lani because they actually take the time to know the students. However, I do believe that the 'No Child Left Behind' has changed the structure of teaching which is disappointing. The children who get the most attention are those that are not doing well, while the children that are excelling grow bored & complacent. The children that do excel are used as teaching tools for students who are not meeting proficiency. I believe that we should spend a good amount of time assisting students to pass the HSA & teaching them to do better in school. However, I believe that it is just as important to reward the students who excel, giving them an incentive program as well. When school staff do not give as much positive reinforcement to the excelling students, they are instilling in the children that mediocrity is just as good as excelling. School should be challenging for all children, not just for those that do not meet proficiency standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

The Special Education Preschool has a great program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My son's school makes sure that they get the help that they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

This is by far one of the best public schools in Hawaii. The principal has brought back May Day and has established many after-school programs. I am very pleased to say that my children (3) have had a very good experience their and have scored above average and exceeds proficiency on their standardized test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

My children moved from Ewa Beach Elem, to Mauka Lani Elem... and the learning here at Mauka Lani is incredible! My children come home learning more then they have ever learned at their other school! I recommend this school to all parents! Mahalo, Teachers & Staff @ Mauka Lani! Aloha
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

I have been a Mauka Lani Parent since 1990. My oldest just graduated,2 are at our high school and my last one is in 5th grade. I believe that Mauka Lani is one of the best schools on this side of the island because of involved parents and caring educators. We have gone through alot of changes over the years; three principals, new office and lib. buildings and a great value system implimented(ohana values). Even our support staff is great. If you want to send your child to a great school look high up to the mountains of Makakilo!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2003

My children go to Mauka Lani Elementary School and it is the best public school in Hawaii. Just check out the school SAT scores!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 34% 34%
Two or more races 20% 8%
Hispanic 19% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 34%
White 9% 14%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

921300 Panana St
Kapolei, HI 96707
Phone: (808) 672-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT