Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Makakilo Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 506 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2012

great school for kids, I think the teachers genuinely enjoy educating their students. I believe they take the time to identify each kids strengths and weaknesses and try to convey their finding with the child's parents. I had expressd my concerns for my child's speech development and that day I had a meeting with a special needs teacher and she developed a plan of action which really impressed me. My children have progressed well at Makakilo and would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I asked to sit in class to see what my child was doing that was causing her to get poor grades. Was she playing around? not paying attention? or distracted which most children are. The fourth time I asked if I could sit in and observe her they set up a meeting with me to have her checked for ADHD. "Alright" I said but I would like to sit in class with her before I make her take any pill. The first time I met with her teacher I was told my child had difficulty in writing her spelling words down. I then asked my child to show me where the spelling words are posted. she did not know where they were. Something simple yet this was not noticed by the teacher!!? Had she not shown me I would have never guest where amungst the clutter these spelling words were. She never had a problem with that afterwards. The kids are always going home with each others homework which the parents have to sign and how effective is it to have 4th grd. children correct each others work they always mark things wrong when its correct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

They want me to consider ADHD meds for my 6 year old! Ridiculous!! The classes are small compared to most in the nation, and yet the teacher had trouble maintaining control, and this was blamed on my child. If I had a choice, we would not send our child to Makakilo Elementary this coming school year. It's safe, but they could do better relating to and disciplining their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Close to home. Son enjoys the Teachers and Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

It's the best school. Based on my daughter's experienced she learned a lot and as a kindergarten students she's not a failure because she has a very good teacher. She earned a lot of encouragement in study, and she value everything what she does. Now she's a first grader she gain a lot of knowledge and they watching who's improving and who needs help. I'm proud of this school because my daughter learning is not a failure it brings success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

The quality of teaching at this school is very questionable. They encourage parents to volunteer, however, they do not want the parents involved in the classroom. Teachers don't really work with the parents. Principal is new, as a result, he seems afraid to make decisions that questions the teachers ability to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

This school works hard with the parents, and is especially pro-active for children with IEPs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
46%

2009

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 42% 34%
Asian 36% 35%
White 10% 14%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 8%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

92675 Anipeahi St
Kapolei, HI 96707
Phone: (808) 672-1122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT