Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kapolei Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

Honestly, I was a bit leery when I enrolled my son in a public school in Hawaii, but I figured we should at least give it a try. My son started kindergarten here with Ms. Pascual, and I must admit that I'm quite impressed. She had great control over her class and the students were fairly responsible, upstanding individuals. My son was writing book reports, doing simple math problems, and reading easy level books by the end of the year. Now that he's in first grade, he's progressing nicely and I believe it's largely due to Ms. Pascual's preparation and tutelage. The teachers are often in meetings to learn new ways to teach, so I was a bit put off by all the substitute teachers but I understand it's necessary to improve their curriculum. Ms. Sah is equally wonderful. Her gentle manner of teaching helps my son see problems from different angles. Ms. Castr, the VP and his staff were very proactive and helpful when there is an issue that needed addressing. All the rumors about public Hawaii schools are not true here. The staff here truly cares about each student and strive to make this a pleasant learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Kind and caring class teacher and other staffs.My son started 3rd grade in the year 2012 and was new to everyone in this school and had some problem with understanding the language even though he was good in math. He did not take much time to understand everything because of his class teacher and other members of the school. I really appreciate his class teacher`s effort. He passed his HSA exam with very good score. This school offers wonderful programs for their children including games and field trip. 5 stars for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

Kind and caring teachers and staff. My kids love it there. Kapolei Elementary offers wonderful programs for their students. The coffee hours for families are beneficial. The school offers many opportunities for parents to learn about school programs and how we can help our children. 5 stars for Kapolei Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

KES gets zero stars from me. My Brother has his daughter here in 1st. grade. There is a VALID & CURRENT Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) against the mother on file with the school. The 'mother' can't be anywhere near the child. 'Mom' showed up at the school on 9/1/11 and the office staff let her sign the child out. Appears they didn't check child's file. Now, on 9/7/11, whereabouts & safety of the child are unknown.


Posted August 4, 2011

Kapolei Elementary is a 5 Star school. There curriculum is excellent & above DOE's expectation. My neice went to Pre-K, not knowing anything & at the end of the year could read a whole book & do really good basic math. My son started Kindergarden this year & in 2 days he can spell his name, that is 9 letters long. So I'm very pleased with them academic & I haven't found a flaw in this school yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

Ihave a grandaughter attending Kapolei elementary. This is her second year, she had a soild foundational teaching in kindergarten the reinforcment in teaching skills have caused her to excell this year. mahalo to kindergarten teacher kerry yrojo she's the best at Kapolei Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My son has been attending this school for 3 years, and so far I love his teachers. His kindergarden teacher was very encouraging and loving - so I think that's why he had a good first impression of school. His first grade teacher is awesome! My's son handwriting has improved so much and I think he is learning great things. The only improvement would be the drop-off, pick-up situation - very dangerous with no traffic cop...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

I have had 3 children at the school for over 3 years. I have only had 3 good teachers out of 9!! The classes are way overcrowded, the teachers each have their own curriculum, not having to explain their grading system or how they got their grading system. When the princ. and the asst. princ. are involved, they stare into space and do nothing. Teachers do not have to account for their screaming at the children nor do they have to follow any guidelines. I have twins in same grade, different teachers, yet completely opposite homework and grading. There are no textbooks for any grade, and no instructions are ever sent home on how to help the children with the homework. The A+ program is the worst I have ever seen, with leaders constantly scream at the kids, are just out of high school and the mgmnt is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

School is crowded (evidenced by track system) and short on resources, but the teachers care and I think my children got a surprisingly good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2004

I had two children attending Kapolei Elem and pulled them out due to lack of safety concern, overcrowding and non-challenging academics. Some teachers were very professional, while majority of teachers encounted seemed overstressed and did not like parents to inquire about their child's progress. The principal was disorganized. My children did not feel safe attending school and actually regressed in academics instead of progressed. And yes, I did work with them at home as well. I really don't mind driving an extra 30 minutes to have them attend a great DOE school like Moanalua Elem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

My children attend Kapolei Elementary. I find that the school is overcrowded with an average of 25 students per teacher. Teachers are overloaded. Class sizes are too big. Students cannot get the individual help needed. The multi-track system disrupts the learning. It is not working. The campus is still overcrowded. Lunch is rushed. The playground equipment is insufficient for the 1200 plus students. I would really hate to see a fire and have the students crammed into the hallway at once. The 'GAP' kids fall thru the cracks due to the lack of quality time to get to know the student difficulty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

My son attended 1st grade at Kapolei, but we decided not to send him back for 2nd. I think that the teachers and principal of Kapolei are well-intentioned, caring people who simply are not able to 'make it all work' in an over-crowded, under-staffed school where parent involvement is low and the different cultures collide. The teachers are very young and inexperienced. The year-round, multi-track schedule means there are a lot of breaks throughout the year and consequently, a lot of interruptions to learning. The playgrounds/athletic fields are not well supervised or maintained (the grass is often 'child high') and the play structure is woefully inadequate for the 1200+ student population. There were very few organized after-school programs (other than after-school care) or weekend fundraisers or get-togethers. And, although the school tries to encourage volunteerism among the parents, a lot of programs were cancelled due to lack of interest. There is a disconnect b/t the parents and teachers--no regular parent/teacher conferences and teachers so over-worked, they have no time to talk! There was no art instruction at all, but music and Hawaiian culture were part of the curriculum. On a positive note, the rooms are air-conditioned and the school's lunch program is very good, with balanced meals and a pint-sized salad bar!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 39% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 31% 34%
Two or more races 10% 8%
White 9% 14%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

911119 Kamaaha Lp
Kapolei, HI 96707
Phone: (808) 693-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT