Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kapolei Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

I go to Kapolei Middle School and there are tracks there. Red track isn't very...bright. I'm new on red track so I've been misplaced. That's why I'm going to Green Track because green track has very high test scores and very good teachers and plus everyone there is very nice.


Posted May 6, 2014

I love this school. My child attends sixth grade. Her teachers are awesome and the principal at this school is amazing. It is so refreshing to have teachers and a principal that actually cares about their students! My child has had a great experience this past year. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

im a student at kapolei and as far as im concerned its a very good school majority of the time. The students and I are very fourtunate to have such a nice campus with supportive teachers . As a student who is taking the learning experience hands on i would like to say its very helpful :) This is a great school for your kids.


Posted January 6, 2010

We are new to the island but compared to the middle school my son attended on the mainland, this school is very good. My son really enjoys it. He enjoys his teacher and the other students. He has no issues. You cant really avoid the track system as most schools in hawaii are on it now. I will have another child attending the middle school next school year, he is excited too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

KMS has the best education system on any Middle School in the Nation, the track system is Great way of using infrastructure efficiently, and the teachers are spectacular, they really know how to connect w/ young people of toaday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

My children have been at Kapolei Middle for the past two years. We moved to this area because the school had a good reputation. I have been disappointed and frustrated by the overpopulation of students, disciplinary issues (fights, bullying, etc) and endless rotations of days on & days off. There are way too many kids on this campus. So many that they have this ridiculous track system. Every 9 or so weeks my kids are off for about 3 weeks. They are either 'getting ready for intercession' and slacking off, or 'just coming back from intercession' and reviewing material learned 3 weeks prior. They don't really seem to moving forward, they are constantly in a transition stage, either coming or going. With population explosion occuring here in Kapolei, anyone moving to the area better take a good hard look at these public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

In general, I think that this school depends on the team of teachers that your child has. Some teams of teachers are very strong and cohesive and inform parents regularly of grades and resources available to the kids. Many of the services available at our school are mentioned in the syllabus/planners/parent handbook at the beginning of the year, at open house, and repeated as necessary if a student starts to struggle. All teachers are available for communications through email through the schoolwebsite, written in planner, as well as the phone when the track is in session. As far as not being informed of grades (as one parent mentioned), there are also mid progress reports sent home half way through each qtr. so it allows the student to realize they are slipping and to get help so that they don't end up with failing grades for the end of the qtr.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 18, 2007

Kapolei Middle School is a great caring and safe school to be at. They will do anything to help the kids at KMS. I know Kapolei Middle School has what it takes to be the best hawaiian school in the Leeward board of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

I was a student at Kapolei middle. that school has very nice teachers that will do anything to get your grade up. once I got an f because not doing my work the I have asked my teacher if she could tutor me after school or when ever she is available. the principal is really good and gives good consequences if you do something work, so that if you do that you don't make that same mistake. overall I think that Kapolei is really good at keeping their campus very clean compare to other schools.theres no mud or anything to get dirty from. I had to move to another school but then I really wish I could go back, I really enjoy going to that school. ~BRiANi
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2006

We feel very fortunate for our eighth grade son was able to attend Kapolei Middle School. The administration works very hard to keep the parents and students informed with various parent meetings, conferences and after school homework support. My son's team teachers email the parent's so that we are aware of the week's project that is due. Mrs. Nishikawa is one of the most dedicated Principal's that we have had the opportunity to know. We looked very closely at the Hawaii schools before moving into the neighborhood and we feel very happy that our son will graduate from Kapolei Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

My son is a student at Kapolei Middle. He has average grades but has somehow fell through the cracks in the past month. He went from a 'B' average to 'F' grades. As parents we were not informed until the day he went off track. As his teachers and counselor went on break with the students, we had to wait 3 weeks to get a response. I find it hard to believe that the teachers do not feel it is important to inform the parents and the counselor could not help in any way. Track schedule does not work for the kids and parents are required to do the teachers job. Tutoring is not available for the middle class students, whose parents struggle. It is unfair for the student when the teachers fail. Should every student be tested for a learning disability when the teachers fail?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

I am a student of Kapolei Middle School, I'm going to 8th grade. Teachers are very supportive, teach and handle parent meetings very well.The Field Trips are fun but educational at the same time. Kapolei Middle is calm so new students don't have to feel out of place or alone, I was a new student once at this school in 7th grade. They have lots of extracurricular activities such as book club, bowling club, and even tutoring afterschool to help your child with school work. The 'color track' deal isn't really confusing at all.You can choose a track that will best fit your work or day schedule. I enojy this school,so your child may too.I hope Parents will consider this great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2004

Although the muti-track may not work all the time and can get confusing , the principal regularly takes time to go to class rooms to check on students and teachers. Teachers are always willing to stay after school for tutorials or other help and students are accepting and polite. Im also very impressed with the sport programs at the school. Kapolei offers many different kinds of sports and the coaches take time to help you practice and fill your full potential. My son and daughter both attend Kapolei Middle School and have benn going since grade six. They enjoy all the teachers and have many friends. If your looking for a good school in this area, Kapolei is great, even though there are some problems in our system, Kapolei is a wonderful school for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

The school is overcrowded and lacks that personal feeling. The Principal is unaware of what is happening. Too many students to track. The multi track system is not working. Breaks in the year disrupts learning process. Teachers are lacking training in how to teach the new sytem. Students are failing and being blamed when the fact is that these students were not taught to meet the standards from elementary years. Determining if your child needs help and what may be the learning disability is difficult. It takes parents years of persistence in order for testing to be done. *Note to parents--If your child is struggling persist on state testing thru the school--request should be made in writing for legal matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

518 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

518 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

504 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 38% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 30% 34%
Two or more races 11% 8%
White 10% 14%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

915335 Kapolei Parkway
Kapolei, HI 96707
Phone: (808) 693-7025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT