Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Konawaena Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 594 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2010

Konawaena Elementary School's teachers and administrators care about students' achievement and well-being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

great teachers and administrators as well as support staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

All of the school personnel are very dedicated! The system for monitoring,tracking and supporting student progress has been so successful and increased our student progress yearly. The school is innovative, diverse and a leader in the district in providing systematic interventions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Teachers and staff are so dedicated to our childrens success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

It's the BEST elementary school in South Kona - great teachers who really care about their students!


Posted May 3, 2010

The teachers and staff at Konawaena are the best! Everyone goes out of their way fo rthe kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

It has an incredible principal! The staff is on call - I mean I work in government and when I call - they answer and follow-through! Their leader is the best - and they have a great team of volunteers and teachers! I love them and they are essential for a healthy community!


Posted April 25, 2010

The school campus is well maintained and the students appear to respect their institution and environment by helping to keep it so. Education is not just textbook learning, it must necessarily include awareness of our environment and surroundings to include pride and respect for what we have and other people. The staff at this school appear to be working together toward these goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Social behavior of students are excellent. See it every year at their Spring (MayDay) Festival, have not missed a year since our children, grandchildren and now our great granddaughter goes to this school. The students display, respect and talent and they have great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My ex went there, both my children went there and now both my grandchildren attend Konawaena Elementary School. They have great teachers, they take pride in educating our children. The grounds are kept clean and well trimmed. The Parents help and get involved in promoting education, safety and over all participation in our childrends development and growth. I'm very proud of Konawaena Elementary School.


Posted October 2, 2008

Konawaena Elementary is committed to academic excellence. In the recent past many changes have been made to the curriculum to maintain rigorous expectations that prepare children to be problem solvers in the real world. There are intervention programs to help children who are behind and efforts to enrich the learning for those who are ahead. With solid programs in reading and math as the basis for educating the children and deeply committed teachers and administration, Konawaena El. is moving towards being one of the best schools on the Big Island.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I enjoy sending my kids to this school. The teachers are great and they communicate well with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

We are moving to Texas to get away from this school!We are so disappointed with it.My daughter is autistic and it is constantly a battle to get what she needs.They always refuse to help her and say she is doing great.Konawaena Elementary School is not the place for your child whether disabled or not.The academic programs are at least 2 years behind the mainland especially in math.All the extracurricular activities are not available.And the parent involvement is such a tiny amount that they have problems with their fundraiser's.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 58% 34%
Asian 19% 35%
White 11% 14%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Two or more races 3% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

81901 Onouli Rd
Kealakekua, HI 96750
Phone: (808) 323-4555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kona Pacific School
Kealakekua, HI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT