Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public
Kealakekua, HI
Students enrolled: 586

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Konawaena Elementary School 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
Run as fast as you can! Kids are treated like prisoners in this bland, lifeless school. Made to walk in a straight line , hand behind their backs and head down when going from class to their 15 minute lunch break or recess in the shadeless grass patch with no playground equipment ( unless you could a few hula hoops and balls)... Basically zero supervision -1 teacher to 130+ kids! If your child is at all meek be prepare them to be bullied since the administrators don't care. It is so sad. So much potential in these kids just wasted. There are a few teachers that want to make a difference but it is hard when met with total indifference. I hear in the community that the principal is a racist too. Your mileage may vary with her if you look like her though. No wonder they don't allow parents to tour the school. They have plenty to hide.

Konawaena Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Konawaena Elementary School's teachers and administrators care about students' achievement and well-being.


Konawaena Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
great teachers and administrators as well as support staff!

Konawaena Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
All of the school personnel are very dedicated! The system for monitoring,tracking and supporting student progress has been so successful and increased our student progress yearly. The school is innovative, diverse and a leader in the district in providing systematic interventions.

Konawaena Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Teachers and staff are so dedicated to our childrens success!


Konawaena Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a community member
It's the BEST elementary school in South Kona - great teachers who really care about their students!

Konawaena Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and staff at Konawaena are the best! Everyone goes out of their way fo rthe kids.

Konawaena Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a community member
It has an incredible principal! The staff is on call - I mean I work in government and when I call - they answer and follow-through! Their leader is the best - and they have a great team of volunteers and teachers! I love them and they are essential for a healthy community!


Konawaena Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
The school campus is well maintained and the students appear to respect their institution and environment by helping to keep it so. Education is not just textbook learning, it must necessarily include awareness of our environment and surroundings to include pride and respect for what we have and other people. The staff at this school appear to be working together toward these goals.

Konawaena Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
Social behavior of students are excellent. See it every year at their Spring (MayDay) Festival, have not missed a year since our children, grandchildren and now our great granddaughter goes to this school. The students display, respect and talent and they have great teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Konawaena Elementary School
81901 Onouli Rd, Kealakekua, HI  96750
(808) 323-4555
Last modified Konawaena Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Konawaena Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top