Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kamalii Elementary School 2

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We will be pulling our children out of Kamalii this year. The new Principal is neither available nor approachable. The manner in which she discontinued the accelerated program was hurtful to the parents who enrolled their children in Kamalii specifically for the program. Unfortunately they lost many wonderful teachers last year and the ones who are left seem very frustrated and unhappy. This used to be a nice school, what is happening is too bad.

Kamalii Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
Reading previous posters' reviews, there are different experiences based on individual teachers and children. We have had kids at this school for the past three years. Our kids have had amazing teachers and it has been a good experience for our family. Our kids have learned to love to read. The school's test scores have been improving every year. As with any school - try to be involved. I've volunteered in my kids' classrooms regularly, and have been encouraged to see how much our teachers care. This school has a good PTA, too.


Kamalii Elementary School 1

Posted July 25, 2012
- a parent
The drop off and pick up system is terrible oh what am I saying there is no system and Mr buzz your food is awful no one like green stuff ozing out of their chicken and three day old left overs its not just the lack of teacher responsibility to get our kids to the cafeteria on time but they really don't want to eat it parents did you know in 2011 our second graders were left outside the classroom with no supervisors for twenty minutes because a long term substitute was not set when the school knew the temp sub was leaving at fell break over crowded classrooms while other classroom are filled with recess equipment make any sense we are rated one of the top schools in HI but yet transferring your student may run the risk of a hold back Mr D you certainly have your hands full this year.... Let's make a differance.

Kamalii Elementary School 1

Posted February 16, 2012
- a parent
Once again this schools poor negative teachers have wasted another year of my childs education. My advice to teachers, if u no longer enjoy children, quit your job!! Parents take my advice and run!!! My child will be attending kihei charter next year.

Kamalii Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2012
- a parent
Awesome School. Uses technology, amazing teachers, they really care about the kids, nice campus, the new principle is great!


Kamalii Elementary School 1

Posted July 20, 2011
- a parent
This school is so terrible! I don't have the time to list all the things wrong with this school. The school grounds are very nice but besides that you will be disgusted by the behavior of the staff. If you have a problem you will feel helpless because to nothing ever changes. Make the drive to go to a private school or get a transfer to another school. It will be worth it.

Kamalii Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
The Principal and Grade Level Chairs have focused on curriculum continuity in all grades this year and have succeeded. Kamali'i Elementary is also focused on technology. The school has quality networked computers and uses the most recent Apple software to teach our children the tools they need to succeed. The teachers have done an outstanding job teaching students in the 2009-2010 school year with the limited time and resources available to them.

Kamalii Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
I love Kamali'i school for their quality of education & their Hawaiian culture studies and the values they teach the children.


Kamalii Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 09, 2009
- a community member
kamalii was great when it was new, and they retaied their greatteachers. Now, it is not the same New principal who seems to turn a blind eye when it comes to teacher/parent/student communication= AND discipline for trouble makers at school.Both of our children rate tops on STAR testing, are well-advanced for their years, and do well academically.But some of the teachers, AND office workers, are so off the chart they really should not even be working with the public, let alone with children.

Kamalii Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kamalii Elementary School
180 Kealii Alanui, Kihei, HI  96753
(808) 875-6840
Last modified Kamalii Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kamalii Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top