Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Koloa Elementary School 4

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
We moved from an excellent school district on the mainland recently, as did our neighbors. This was the only elementary school we considered on the south shore. Staff faces a socioeconomic challenge daily with great energy and enthusiasm. Enrollment is up because families like us chose to bring our children here. A wonderful community, tremendous gains being made with every semester. Our daughter loves her school...keep up the great work!!

Koloa Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
We are SO lucky to have a great school, wonderful and inspiring teachers, and a community that cares all within walking distance. It truly does not get any better. Actually it does; the Principal is the absolute best Leader and surprises every parent & student constantly. Always challenging the kids academically and offering the greatest after school programs. Thank you Koloa school for caring about out Keiki and our/their future.


Koloa Elementary School 4

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
We have just recently moved and had to pull our children out of Koloa Elementary. I miss the teachers, staff and especially the Prinicipal (Mrs. Lindsey). We always knew what was going on and were involved in so many educational extracurricular activities, now at a new school we're in the dark and lost.

Koloa Elementary School 4

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
Koloa Elementary is a comfortable, supportive school where students are encouraged to explore and learn in a family-friendly environment. Debbie Lindsey and the entire staff have created an educational oasis for the community. I am very impressed by the wide range of educational activities from computer technology, robotics and literacy programs to festivals that celebrate the academic achievements of the students and the cultural diversity of the community. Mahalo nui loa, Koloa!

Koloa Elementary School 4

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
This was my child's first year in Elementary School and I am so glad she went to Koloa. Almost every month, there was a family friendly/learning activity. There was pig out for literacy, pumpkin carving, gingerbread decorating, science night, math night, I could go on and on. If you live in the Koloa/Poipu area, I would highly recommend sending your child to Koloa School. Mrs. Lindsey has been an instrumental part in the success of the school along with the PTA and their 3 for me program. Thank you to all of the staff, students, and families at Koloa School for making it a school we can all be proud of.


Koloa Elementary School 4

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
As a parent, I was very impressed with the recent May Day program. Never have I seen such a performance by the children at Koloa School relating to the hula and music of ancient and modern Hawaii. The staff at Koloa did a fantastic job of working with the children. As a family, we were in preparation to move to the outer island but decided to stay in Koloa simply because of the school. Our child enjoys the school and it's activities. Koloa school is on the cutting edge of technology in the classroom and we as parents enjoy having that available for all the students to increase their skills. The PTSA is so supportive in all aspects.....thank you for your time and effort in helping the school. Thanks to the staff and teachers and Mrs. Lindsey, Koloa school principle.

Koloa Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2009
- a parent
Koloa Elementary School is well on its way to being one of the best schools on Kauai. My oldest child started Kindergarten at Koloa in 2004. Back then there was very little parent participation, a non-functioning PTA, no school activities & no May Day Celebration. There were a few 'Parent Nights' but very few parents attended. No wonder the school had a bad reputation! Since Mrs. Debbie Lindsey became our principal the school has improved in so many ways. The school made it's AYP targets 2 years in a row, student enrollment has increased, parent involvement has grown enormously, we have a fully functioning and very active PTA, and in the 2008-2009 school year they added many after-school activites which are very popular with the students. I have always found the teachers & staff to be very pleasant & helpful. Koloa Elementary is a great school!

Koloa Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
Seems the school has moved forward in a new and positive direction. This is partly due to the new and excellent leadership of principal Debbie Lindsey, and partially due to the energy, professionalism and high level of commitment from Koloa's excellent staff. The positive energy is contagious, and the PTA has seen huge growth in support. All combined, that has translated into higher student achievement and access to enriched programs both during and after school. We could not be happier to be part of this awesome school!


Koloa Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 24, 2008
- a parent
5 stars, we stayed on the south side to keep our son with Mr Gomez,he is the best teacher on Kauai.A credit to his profession.

Koloa Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2008
- a parent
Great teachers, small classes...principal is wonderful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Koloa Elementary School
3223 Poipu Rd, Koloa, HI  96756
(808) 742-8460
Last modified Koloa Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Koloa Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top