Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seabury Hall School

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Makawao

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $358,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,503.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I didn't enjoy enrolling my son into this school. It cost me and my wife an arm and a leg and when he went there he was almost living In an imaginary world where everything was given out. When he graduated in 2007 he began to run into struggle because everything wasn't handed to him. We cut him off when he dropped out from a university in California. When he went to college he had an extremely hard time because in seabury everything was easy. He said he honestly had a harder time in the public school then he did at seabury. College prep school? Didn't do it's job. Very big waste of money. It's truly a spoiled school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Seabury Hall was the best choice on Maui for my two sons. The strong academic program, taught by caring teachers, provided my boys with an excellent foundation for collegiate success. The camaraderie, support and sense of 'ohana they experienced on the beautiful Upcountry campus has built life-long friendships. I highly recommend Seabury Hall to prospective students who are looking for a college prep education in a setting that encourages them to explore their individuality and passions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Seabury hall is a tight community and school spirit is everything. Academics will challenge you, and it is by far the best school on the island. The school gives you a great social experience as well as a solid foundation for college. Teachers are always their for you, but give you the space to develop into your own person. The students are encouraged to be who they are and are met with litte criticism from peers and adults. Overall this school will always accept you and will prepare you for college as well as giving you every opportunity to succeed.


Posted June 25, 2012

Seabury Hall education is abysmal. Don't let the beautiful campus fool you. The staff portrays a false superiority and they are not at all sensitive to the needs of the students. They fail both academically and emotionally to meet the students needs. The students are not taught to think for themselves and there is no sense of community or care for each other. We kept our son in Seabury only because there are no choices on Maui for a college preparatory education, but if I had it to do over again I would leave the island at least for the high school years and let my child receive an education in which the students are taught to think for themselves with encouragement and a spirit of inquiry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

SeaburyHall is expensive indeed, but if your child and you can make it through either high school or middle school at SeaburyHall it is well worth it.


Posted July 12, 2009

Great middle school. outstanding 6th grade team. In the high school the advisement system is great. Both are very challenging, be reedy for a lot of homework, but preps a student well for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Outstanding School, skilled teachers who care for the child, great college preparation, outstanding extra-curricular activities including the arts and athletics. this school is a tremendous bargain compaired to mainland tuition costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I sent 3 children through this excellent. Expensive but they get a great education Ry Barbin Maui
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

not worth the money for education...Better to send kid to kalama seemed to learn more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

The Middle school is amazing. My daughter just finished the 6th grade and loves it. Teachers are amazing and they get the kids involved and the students actually want to excel. It is very competitive, because they all want to do good. My daughter even wants to go to school when she's sick. She loves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My granddaughter has just entered the 6th grade coming from a Montessori School and what a difference. This is going to be a wonderful educational experience for her and my other grandchildren will soon be following her. We feel very lucky!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 34%
Two or more races 11% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% 34%
Black 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

480 Olinda Road
Makawao, HI 96768
Phone: (808) 572-7235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT