Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
444 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Seabury Hall School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was able to be her natural leader self at Seabury. She was able to experience many different extracurricular and academic challenges She was prepared well for college and stepped into leadership in college . She now has a very successful career in engineering on the mainland. I would and do recommend Seabury as the school of choice on Maui! Thank you Seabury !

Seabury Hall School 5

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
My daughter's natural abilities of leadership and academics shined through at Seabury She was well prepared for college and is a very successful engineer on the mainland. Thank you Seabury!


Seabury Hall School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
Uninspiring teachers who simply go through the motions. I realize it is hard to find quality educators in the islands but we are paying nearly 20k for our children to be treated like dogs. We are the customers and the teachers and administration seems to think that they have all the power!

Seabury Hall School 1

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
For the last six years my children have attended Seabury Hall. I pulled my son out two years ago because we felt that the school was ill prepared to handle the needs of the average student. If you are not in the elite top of the class or the in the bottom you might as well be invisible. My husband (a well respected surgeon) and I felt that the high school might not be the best fit for our son who attended Seabury Hall for Middle School. We were talked into keeping him at Seabury during a Private Meeting with Headmaster Joseph Schmidt. Schmidt who proceeded to explain to us that he was a straight D student in High School and look what he had accomplished, then promised us that our son would be well taken care of and would succeed. Long story short our son struggled to get mediocre grades and as a result left Seabury with a horrible self image. Mean while our daughter was in sixth grade at Seabury and was doing well. She has now completed 8 th grade but had a very hard time due to our family's reputation after pulling her brother out. Our daughter finished 8th grade as the middle school president and a headmasters list student the entire three years however she was still treated horrible by the middle school principle Jaqueline Peterka and many of the teachers because our family complained about our son's experience. Bottom line if you have opinions about how your children should be educated or you question anything that the school does: grades, programs, awards, recognition ect., do not send your children to Seabury Hall! Especially if you are educated as the school administration is deeply threatened by doctors and other educated professionals. My husband has had countless physians tell him horror stories about their children's experiences at Seabury Hall. Joe Schmidt the sociopath is leaving in a week, let's hope that the new headmaster can change the school for the better. As it stands Seabury is like a beautiful woman with a hideous soul!

Seabury Hall School 2

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
I didn't enjoy enrolling my son into this school. It cost me and my wife an arm and a leg and when he went there he was almost living In an imaginary world where everything was given out. When he graduated in 2007 he began to run into struggle because everything wasn't handed to him. We cut him off when he dropped out from a university in California. When he went to college he had an extremely hard time because in seabury everything was easy. He said he honestly had a harder time in the public school then he did at seabury. College prep school? Didn't do it's job. Very big waste of money. It's truly a spoiled school.


Seabury Hall School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Seabury Hall was the best choice on Maui for my two sons. The strong academic program, taught by caring teachers, provided my boys with an excellent foundation for collegiate success. The camaraderie, support and sense of 'ohana they experienced on the beautiful Upcountry campus has built life-long friendships. I highly recommend Seabury Hall to prospective students who are looking for a college prep education in a setting that encourages them to explore their individuality and passions.

Seabury Hall School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a community member
Seabury hall is a tight community and school spirit is everything. Academics will challenge you, and it is by far the best school on the island. The school gives you a great social experience as well as a solid foundation for college. Teachers are always their for you, but give you the space to develop into your own person. The students are encouraged to be who they are and are met with litte criticism from peers and adults. Overall this school will always accept you and will prepare you for college as well as giving you every opportunity to succeed.

Seabury Hall School 1

Posted June 25, 2012
- a parent
Seabury Hall education is abysmal. Don't let the beautiful campus fool you. The staff portrays a false superiority and they are not at all sensitive to the needs of the students. They fail both academically and emotionally to meet the students needs. The students are not taught to think for themselves and there is no sense of community or care for each other. We kept our son in Seabury only because there are no choices on Maui for a college preparatory education, but if I had it to do over again I would leave the island at least for the high school years and let my child receive an education in which the students are taught to think for themselves with encouragement and a spirit of inquiry.


Seabury Hall School 5

Posted November 19, 2010
- a community member
SeaburyHall is expensive indeed, but if your child and you can make it through either high school or middle school at SeaburyHall it is well worth it.

Seabury Hall School 4

Posted July 12, 2009
- a parent
Great middle school. outstanding 6th grade team. In the high school the advisement system is great. Both are very challenging, be reedy for a lot of homework, but preps a student well for college.

Nearby schools

Seabury Hall School
480 Olinda Road, Makawao, HI  96768
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (808) 572-7235
Last modified Seabury Hall School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top