Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mililani Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1722 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

I love this school! They manage to make the experience very personable in spite of its huge size. My daughter is on a team of only 60 kids:) Teachers respond in a timely matter, and all staff care about the kids and do everything they can to create a nurturing environment. I was a tad disappointed in the rigor of the 6th grade expectations, but education is a balance between pushing the kids and caring for them; push too hard one way and you lose the other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

It's sad to say this school is overcrowded and runs on a track system. The students are out of school on intersession just about every other month for 2-3 weeks at a time making it difficult for students to retain information they learned. Also, teachers are quick to label students negatively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

My daughter attended 8th grade here. While she enjoyed the classes and the students, we never once saw the principal in the office, nor on the school grounds. We even tried to schedule meetings with her. There is no communication between the teachers and parents, and no way to check the progress of your student until progress reports are sent home. We prefer some type of online grading and email contact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

My child likes the school but unfortunately has fallen so far behind since we took him out of a small private schoo two years ago. The teachers and administrators do try but because there are too many kids there, they cannot keep up with arranging meetings in a timely manner to discuss about how we can 'save' my son from failing. Now they are talking about four tracks! As if three isn't bad enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Mililani's Middle Schools team approach to teaching encourages students to learn. The safe learning environment and caring teachers is a model for other middle schools on O'ahu.


Posted September 16, 2009

Mililani Middle School is a fantastic publicly funded school that has several programs designed to engage students as well-rounded civic minded individuals. This is a school with truly dedicated administrators and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 2, 2009

I loved this school and wish my child was still attending. Unfortunately, we had to move to the mainland and though I enrolled him in the third ranking middle school in our area as far as state test results are concerned, he is learning so much less than he was at MMS. I also wanted to say that I wish average SAT scores were also shown for Hawaii schools because the HSA cannot be compared with another state's standards. It is worth noting that most Oahu public schools have pretty high average SAT scores, many in the upper 80 to upper 90 percentile for class averages. ...It would be most helpful to people who are moving especially to be able to see national standard test scores. I hope this will be included
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I pulled my daughter and got a GE so I could take her to Wheeler Middle School. I am MUCH happier with her education, students and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I think that is is an exellent school that these stundents learn from
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

My child says, ' All the teacher are awesome.' The counselors are great they inform us on everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

Nothing special here, it's like all public schools in Oahu. I moved from Honolulu to Mililani and my son and daughters say that the only difference they notice is the students at Mililani are snooty and they think they live in Kahala.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I am a student at mms. I love this school. They have plenty of electives there. And the teachers are amazing and funny. This school I think is the best in the country. Overall this school is the best there is. Go Blazers!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

My child really enjoys every day of school at MMS and looks forward to going back after the breaks. The school is a multi-track school, so the kids go to school year-round with a schedule of about 5 weeks at school, then about 2 1/2 weeks off. 2/3 of the school is in attendance at any one time. The schedule is fine for us, even as a family with children at two other schools as well (and on a different schedule). I even enjoy it as it gives me lots of time to spend with my child. My child's teachers are encouraging to my child and responsive to my requests when I have wanted to discuss an issue. There are a number of elective courses offered, and each student also takes a 'wheel' of elective-type classes each year which enriches their experience at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

most teachers are stubborn, and never want to admit their wrong. And they say that school is just for the tests. Its like after the test, the info doesn't matter. But I don't think it's all the teachers fault. If I didn't get paid enough, I wouldn't try that hard, either. But I guess most of them are just doing what they're told to do. And my parents DO agree with me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2007

An honest view is that Mililani Middle is an above average school. Nothing really special, nothing really bad...an average school in the pulic school system in Hawaii.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I think that mililani middle school is a very wonderful school to go to. My daughter loves it there especially the hip programs (orchestra). She also loves the sports that they offer. She said that orchestra was awesome and that she likes the music teacher a lot (Mr. Gushiken). Also she really enjoys the way that almost all of the teachers are very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

I used to go to Mililani Middle School two years away. I think MMS is a greatschool but they try to cram a lot work in to the student's brain in six weeks.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 4, 2005

Academic program in 6th and 7th was excellent for my son. Many teachers are way ahead of the curve with standards-based environment and cross-disciplinary collaboration. My son learned to use rubrics as road-maps for success. Orchestra program is outstanding. Best of its class in any middle school; including expensive private. (Mr. Gushiken is a music hero) Very ineffectual approach by staff & admin to bullying, rumors, fights, criminal activity. Parents must be advocates for the child to insure appropriate actions are taken to end negative behaviours.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

558 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

558 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

609 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

607 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

607 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 47% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 21% 34%
White 12% 14%
Two or more races 11% 8%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Equestrian
  • Gymnastics
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

951140 Lehiwa Dr
Mililani, HI 96789
Phone: (808) 626-7355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Hanalani Schools
Mililani, HI


Ho'ala School
Wahiaw, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT