Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mililani Ike Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
The new Common Core standards is confusing, unorthodox and nearly impossible to pick up quickly. No wonder there's such a high special education enrollment in this school.

Mililani Ike Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
I don't see fairness, integrity or honesty being practiced here whatsoever. It would be impossible to develop these traits if the teachers and staff can't follow it themselves.


Mililani Ike Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
DO NOT BRING YOUR KIDS HERE!!! Only the smart students get the most attention from the teachers here, who are generally not nice people. These teachers are basically allowed to bully the kids here, without any form of consequences. The teaching methods are confusing and are based completely according to "Common Core" standards. Terrible school, terrible Principal and Terrible teachers. I would recommend transferring to Mililani Mauka if you can.

Mililani Ike Elementary School 1

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Very mean, biased teachers and staff. Terrible terrible favoritism, and put kids into special education classes way too much. I do not understand how some of these staff members keep their jobs.

Mililani Ike Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
How can they do that if the teachers can't treat their own students fairly? That would not be possible.


Mililani Ike Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
My child attended a GenEd classroom and from that experience, ended up having a typical child look after him during the after-school program and the GenEd functions. This could be the school, the child's parent's or both.

Mililani Ike Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
If the teachers/staff don't have integrity, I'm not sure how they could pass it to kids.

Mililani Ike Elementary School 3

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
I should give them a one-star for education because that is what they are supposed to be doing, but I'm giving an "overall" assessment. My child has Autism and ADHD and is intellectually disabled, and he was in a self-contained special education classroom. The teacher-student ratio in his classroom was good; the community activities were good; the teachers were nice.... However... my child scored "well below" on everything.. he can't read, can't write, and they denied him summer school... why? Because it wasn't about "progress" but "retention" over the school breaks, so he didn't "qualify". They found every loophole they could find in order to deny my child extra services. (He's been here for 2 years now...) And now he's going to transition to Middle School next year. The "transition" meeting was worthless... Middle school said that they don't have the services to provide Quran a "safe" school environment, and needs the Elementary to start paperwork to get him the services. Ike Elementary teachers and staff were rolling their eyes and sighing and said, "oh, well it's too late, we only have three days left, so we can't do anything." (Mentally and emotionally my child functions at a 3-year old level, and he is small for his size.. he looks like he's 8 years old (and wears size 8 clothing)).. but he's going to be integrated in with the Middle Schoolers...). Safety and education (in my opinion) are the most important thing, but not to Ike Elementary. I don't think the teachers and staff are malicious, but maybe they have too much on their plate to give the kids what they need... Not sure. (?) The after-school program is worthless for Special Ed kids. The staff are young, understaffed and underpaid. Every now and then there'd be a few "nice" staff who would look out for him, but for the most part, not. They gave him snacks against his dietary restriction numerous times (although it's in the paperwork and I've told them several times not to). Another reason I gave them a 3-star rating instead of a 1-star is because my child loved it there. The teacher did have a reward system that motivated him to stay on track. There were a few GenEd kids who took care of him. A few staff here and there would see Quran and greet him. There are many there who have the "aloha" spirit. Education is nonexistent for SpEd kids at Ike Elementary .


Mililani Ike Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
I have a 4th grader and a kindergartner attending this school. First of all, my children love coming to school and to me, that is the most important thing. We have had wonderful teachers such as Mrs Lee, Ms Terao, Mrs Fujimori, Mrs Powell and Mrs Matsumoto. The librarian Mrs Seatriz does a great job providing book fairs, creative family contests, Read Across America activities. The front office staff are very helpful. I see what these teachers have to go through and I really respect the hard work that they do. I think Mililani Ike is a great school!

Mililani Ike Elementary School 1

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
These teachers are sooooooooooooo MEAN to these children and its allowed because the scores are high. I've been told even from the school district that thats how it is now a days, that the teachers get paid by the test scores. But I dont know why they are allowed to pretty much BULLY these poor Elementary kids. Horrible teachers and Horrible Principal!!!! Worst school EVER!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mililani Ike Elementary School
951330 Lehiwa Dr, Mililani, HI  96789
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (808) 626-2980
Last modified Mililani Ike Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top