Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mililani Mauka Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 888 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2010

Mililani Mauka is a great school. My child just loves this school! The teachers my child has had have been great! The curriculum is very challenging. I feel that success for any child starts at home. It is not the schools responsibility alone to teach our kids. The only complaint I have about this school is that they seem to always want to fundraise. We just got a survery about fundraiser for next year and our year isn't over yet. They do 3 fundraisers back to back in the beginning of the school year, plus collecting for tshirts, yearbooks, field trips and more. Doesn't the Principal know we are in a recession?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I noticed that most of the complaints are done durning registration time. Could the reason be that these ill feelings come from registration not being processed due to incomplete paperwork? There is two sides to a story. We often forget to evaluate how we came off to someone to cause a reaction as such. My child attends Mauka and I sometimes volunteer there. I am confident that my child is being treated fairly and is safe. Involving the children is a poor way to get a voice across. If feelings of unfriendliness or unwill to help is really the issue there is a more productive way then trying to get parents riled up. I am pretty sure if a child was being mistreated it would of been out...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

I have also experiened rude, unwill to assit office help, but recently I notice they jump up from their desks and run to the counter to assit. I can't but help to wonder if they read GreatSchools.com too! I really like Mauka. They rated 2nd in the state in testing last year. The teachers really push the kids to do their best..which can be good and bad (too much presure on the kids to keetp up). But overall, it is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

I am a parent of a child that attends MMES. I have been in the office on several occations. The office staff workers are wonderful. I have witnessed first hand while waiting for my child in the office how rude some of these parents get to them when told they can't have it their way or can't do a certain thing. We as parents or visitors need to realize that these individuals have a job to do. They have rules and procedures. They follow it to a T and are fair all the way around. No special treatment for anyone. It is the ones who think they are above everyone else who get upset when rules are enforced upon them. My question to the most recent post is'What didn't they allow you do do'? They have told me 'no' several times. Oh well that's life. Rules/ Procedures...there everywhere we go!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

This school is excellent. My kids have attended this school for the past three years and I am very pleased with their progress. The teachers are really good and the standards are high. One of the best in Oahu! Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I'm quite impressed with this school. My child another atteneded another school on Oahu and progress was limited. At Mililani Mauka, my child was challenged and has shown tremendous growth his first year there. Teachers seem to work well together as a team and curriculum is quite rigorous. Having my child at Mauka has been the best thing for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

This school is over rated, no programs and extra activities compared to other public schools on Oahu. We moved from Kaneohe to Mililani and wished we did not....School and homes are poorly made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

My son is in Kindergarten and really loves it. This is the best school on Oahu that we could find that doesn't cost 15,000 to go to. Parent involvement it appreciated. There is so much to learn here in Kindergarten. My son is learning Japanese, Hawaiian, and sometimes they learn about other cultures . I volunteer quite a bit and too be honest I think a permanent assistant would be a great idea for this school. Parents do not seem to volunteer as much here because most parents have to work because of the high cost of living. I would recommend this school to anyone. My son has learned so much. They have to get up in front of the class and speak about their journal or sharing time. This really helps the shy kids to come out of their shell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

We lived in HI for only one year and my two children attended this school. The school culture is very rigid. Lots of consequences for lack of responsibility. This was actually a good thing as I saw tremendous progress being made academically. If your child can rise to a challenge and be tough emotionally, this is the school to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

This first rate school has been somewhat handicapped by having to provide for two separate schools on one campus this year. This caused the population to rise to 1250. The new school will open this month and the population will fall to normal levels. In spite of the crowding, the school earned highest ratings from a Honolulu Magazine study, was nominated as a Blue Ribbon school, and has exceeded NCLB/AYP requirements easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2003

My son attended this school from K through 5. He and his classmates received an excellent foundation education plus had opportunities to explore science, music (both chorus and strings), and high-level math in a safe, challenging supportive environment. The current principal is outstanding. She is hardworking, intelligent, and committed to the success of all of the children. (some of the other comments sound suspiciously like 'sour grapes'.) This is the best K-5 education on Oahu and it doesn't cost $12,000 per year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

My children attended Mililani Mauka Elementary from 3rd grade until 6th grade. The school is very beautiful, it has quite a bit of up to date equipment. Unfortunately the volume of work at this school is rather high. After inquiring with a specific teacher if they are looking for quality or quantity. The response is they want both, the student teacher ratio is higher than stated, the school is over populated. The office staff is rather rude and not very quick to help. Administration will look into a parents concern but not necessarily follow up on it. My children were both pulled out of the middle of 6th grade and returned to their old schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2003

One of the best public on Oahu, unfortunately the State school systems overall performance is poor. There is no local control over the school system. The principal works for the unions and the money coming out of the state is based on political ties. This makes the local population less willing to be involved in the system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2003

I have two children currently at this school and have been here for a few years. This school has it's good and bad points to it. It is in a nice neighborhood and has a good selection of teachers and staff. Some of their programs are outstanding and others need work. Their PE program is one of the best that I have seen. As with any school, there are teachers that really have the students in mind, and ones that are just there doing make-work with the students. The facilities are all very nice and well supplied. Unfortunately, it's the parents that are having to supply the school with most of the things that it uses. The office staff in unbelievably rude and uncooperative. The Vice Principal is very controling and the principal is equally the flip side of the coin and is totally run over by the desires of the V.P. If you are willing and able, the more that you Volunteer your time with this school, the better you will be accepted. Otherwise, if you want to be involved in your childs' education, homeschool. This school only requires notification and testing at certain grade levels.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 46% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 16% 34%
Two or more races 15% 8%
White 11% 14%
Hispanic 9% 6%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

951111 Makaikai St
Mililani, HI 96789
Phone: (808) 626-3350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Hanalani Schools
Mililani, HI


Ho'ala School
Wahiaw, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT