Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mililani High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

This school's staff and leadership are excellent. My son has been here for 1 year- for his sophomore year. The teachers he had were amazing- I wish I could name them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

I just finished my freshman year at MHS, and I am overall very impressed. I moved here to Oahu from the mainland right before school started. We chose to live in Mililani because the schools looked very good. MHS is definitely a very good high school. A new principal was called this year, and he is very involved. The old principal (also very good) became the superintendent. The teachers are all very good, friendly, and qualified with only a few bad ones here and there. The Pre-AP classes are more accelerated and rigorous than regular classes and have definitely helped me to prepare for AP classes I will be taking next year. I like how this school offers a 15 minute recess break after the first two periods so that students can have a break from their work. I am not involved with athletics but MHS has a very good sports program. The students are overall very friendly and I never had a bad encounter with another student. I was very impressed with my first year at MHS and I look forward to returning next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2013

My daughter attends MHS and the honors and AP program is excellent. The regular classes are not challenging, but overall her experience has been good. She is also in JROTC, this is the first year that they have JROTC and she is learning A LOT in this program. I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

We moved to Mililani specifically because of this school's rating as the best in the state. We have been here two years and cannot wait to LEAVE! This school is horrible. The teachers couldn't care less about the quality of their instruction. Everything is "group project", in which one or two students do everything, rest do nothing, and yet they all get the same grade. The teachers are not held accountable. We have gone twice with no response either time. First time was over a teacher who taught by throwing a video in every day and telling the kids if they had any questions, to read their books. The kids were all failing and I finally raised so much grief that the counselor transferred my kid to another teacher. Second, a science teacher threw fits, called the kids "incompetent" and other names, kicked lockers in frustration and broke glass beakers on the floor because he didn't like kids wearing open toe shoes. Despite all this, kids are pushed through the grades without basic skills to get them into college. DO NOT BRING YOUR KIDS HERE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

Best public high school you will find on Oahu, hands down. Students (and teachers) are held to a higher standard than in most DOE schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2011

The school is very good at teaching the students what they need for their future and making sure that they pass all of their classes. They punish their students properly by detention such as cleaning up the campus or a teacher's classroom. Only a very small select few of teachers are considered unbearable. Otherwise all of the other teachers are excellent. The school also has a class almost every wednesday that helps us students get ready for life beyond high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2011

My son attended his freshman year as a Trojan, and I was very happy with Mililani High School. If it was not for a military move I would have loved to have my son finish high school as a Trojan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Coming from the mainland, we were worried about the reputation of Hawaii public schools. However, we are impressed with Mililani High school. Our daughter is very involved in the music program at MHS. The music instructors are very hard-working and dedicate many extra hours to the programs. The honors/AP classes have been appropriately challenging. The principal is great. He returns calls within a day and gets results. He pushes ALL students to work to their potential. Although we have no experience with the athletic programs, we would recommend this high school to any parent looking for a good, solid education. This school is just as good as any private high school on the island.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

The review is not intended to be directed toward the students attitude. That comes from the teaching at home. The review is intended to be about the school. The school itself is where one receives their education. I believe my child is receiving a great education here in MHS. That is what is most important. Parents are more involved here and the teachers are not only qualified but care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

We have been happy with our experience at MHS. My child has been able to take Honors and Advanced Placement classes that are appropriately challenging. She has participated in the drama program which has several different teachers involved teaching drama, dance, singing, costuming, set design, and lighting. The Mock Trial program has an extremely dedicated teacher involved with it. I like that the students at the school aren't overly competitive as far as the brand of clothes they wear, how their hair is styled, or where they live. Just a nice group of kids overall. There are a number of interesting electives offered. The buildings are in pretty good shape, with some recent updating as well as a new building underway. Many excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

This is a wonderfully culturally diverse school. There are all kinds of wonderful opportunities for students here at Mililani. The principal is very concerned and the parents are greatly involved also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Biology I

606 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2013.

577 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

578 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 47% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 19% 34%
White 13% 14%
Two or more races 12% 8%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

951200 Meheula Parkway
Mililani, HI 96789
Phone: (808) 627-7747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hanalani Schools
Mililani, HI


Ho'ala School
Wahiaw, HI





Pearl City High School
Pearl City, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT