Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waters of Life Public Charter School

Charter | K-7 | 74 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2009

Most dedicated group of people I've ever worked with. This is the scrappiest good school... very dedicated professionals. The Hawaii BOE should be ashamed to this day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2008

This school has its weakness just like any other school! in all actuality this school has alot of children that could not function in a normal public school but when upon entering this school they have excelled greatly! this is because we do have great teachers with good hearts that teach the children in not only traditional ways but they adjust to each childs learning style to give they an opportunity to learn in their own way. When my oldest child entered this school he was in special education and within a year the teachers took the time to work with him and he graduated from sped. I had one child with adhd that could not adapt to anyone and his kindergarden teacher worked with him to build up the trust and he has prospered.All of our teachers are highly qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

My son enjoyed this school. He was in K/1 7-06 to 11-07 and would still be there if we did not have to move out of state. Because of his teacher he enjoys reading and math. Since moving to California he has been placed in advanced classes. I know the school site is unconventional, but they are having trouble building on the property they own because a few other home owners do not want the school built near them. The teachers are always around to talk to, and they would always let me know what was going on. I never had any problems with parent teacher communication. My son's teacher knew what each child needed to work on and worked with them so they can grow. I knew all the teachers at the Ainaloa site and they all seemed to care about the kids. A caring school that we miss!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I took my daughter out of school because the teachers at the school were ill equipped, emotionally immature, and she was not learning up to her level. I had my daughter tested previously and she tested above average intelligence. I am very angry that the school is allowed to treat the kids in that manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

This school is complete mismanaged on all levels. The school sites are inadequate and in some cases, dangerous. Many of the teachers lack subject area competency and all teachers lack sufficient resources to teach adequately in their 'make-shift' classrooms. I know many students who attend this school and are very unhappy, do not feel safe, and feel that they are learning nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

My child sadly attends this school (not for long tho) there has never been so much stress and poor teaching and discipline! clearly no one cares how these children are taught or cared for! There is no communication between teacher and parent! This school gets a F + in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

Waters of Life is an excellent school giving children the small class attention that they deserve. The results are that we have highter test scores and better prepared students for college and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

21 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
8%

2009

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

21 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
0%

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

14 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
8%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 36% 34%
White 35% 14%
Hispanic 11% 4%
Two or more races 9% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Asian 3% 35%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

181355 Volcano Hwy
Mountain View, HI 96771
Phone: (808) 966-6175

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT