Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Keonepoko Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2013

My kids have been attending Keonepoko since 2011-2013 (2years) I have three that will be attending third grade , second grade & kindergarten for 2013-2014 school year . The teachers my kids got were really there for the kids, they do the best they can. I would suggest if your worried to go in and check with thevteacher offer to volunteer in your child's classroom if you can so that you can see for yourself what is going on. My kids enjoyed their Teacher's they had over the last 2 years. I would visit often just to chat with the teachers or staff o see how my kids are doing I only here good things. My kids got certificates and Notes sent home saying how they are a good helper, listener, and so on, I'm going to miss Mrs V. Nakamura and Mr. Haring , I hope my younger kids will have them in a couple years. I would love it if the school had more parent involvement kids this age love it when they see they have support from parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

lBoth grandchildren attend and I don't know too much about it. I am seaching for for your yearly school calendar. please advise where to find it.


Posted May 23, 2012

Which involves running around the class room , throwing of chairs . and disrespecting there peers Sad to see the youth growing up to be a complete menics to society This school is rated by others with five stars . look good , however keep in mind these rastings are probaly buy parents who never lived anywere but on the island or a island . The tutors are the best thing walking there. if you have to send your child to a public school drive to Hilo. It will be worth it for


Posted September 25, 2010

Because this school has great teachers.


Posted September 16, 2009

the kids are very eager to learn past what they are expected to know


Posted March 28, 2009

My sixth grader loves this school! she never gets into anny trouble. They have wonderful teachers and tutors
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

My daughter goes to the school and she loves it! She just recently got awards from her teachers for being a good student and she said that it feels 'nice' to feel so loved at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

My son has been at this school since 1st grade and he loves it. He's had great teachers so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

We have three kids at this school. They love it! The teachers really care about the kids. The office staff has been very disappointing, however. They lost my one of my children's health records twice (even though all three were together).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2004

I have twin great-granddaughters attending this school. They seem to really enjoy school. I've heard great things about how the teachers interact with their students. There doesn't seem to be alot of parent participation or activities for parents to participate in. Hopefully, this will change. I'd like to see more parent workshops and activities that both the parents and students can participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 54% 34%
Hispanic 14% 6%
White 14% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 34%
Two or more races 7% 8%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15890 Kahakai Blvd
Pahoa, HI 96778
Phone: (808) 965-2131

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT