Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hawaii Academy Of Arts & Science Public Charter School

Charter | PK-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

This school is great for any student. It has absolutely no tolerance for bullying which is why I love Hawaii Academy of Arts and Sciences. Student's are very respectful and they have the drive to learn and be educated. Teachers are also very caring and are dedicated to providing the best learning platform for their students. With a wide range of ethnicity's, HAAS is a great place for your child to meet kind and caring friends. The Elementary-Intermediate classes are advanced but "easy" (for lack of a better term) and the high school has many great opportunities. Having attended this school myself I can say that the electives they have are quite amazing! They have high school electives such as Jewelry (I mean real metal jewelry), Surfing (swimming lessons provided before they actually surf), Team Sports, Yoga, Robotics, French, Japanese, Yearbook, Hula, Tahitian the list really goes on and this school cannot receive enough praise. Four words: SEND YOUR CHILD HERE! You won't regret it.


Posted December 7, 2013

I am a proud student of Hawaii Academy of Arts and Science and I loved my school very much! I first started when got into Hui Malama (a small branch of HAAS) in seventh grade and I learned so much about teamwork and I really enjoyed the project based learning! Every week we would take water tests and at the end of the year we would graph our results. It was very interesting and exciting to see the difference in PH levels, Salinity and Dissolved oxygen of different ocean areas. Hui malma helped me realize what truly matters. I am so grateful to have gone to this program and I was fully prepared for high school at HAAS main Campus. I really like high school as well because you can always challenge yourself by sighing up for AP classes, HAAS has a friendly safe learning environment, teachers work very hard to help you learn, we now have growing variety of sports, students can sign up for a wide variety of electives but most of all though I really like that at this school everyone is friendly, kind and accepting of other their peers.


Posted February 21, 2013

My son started here when it was fairly new. In the four years he attend until his graduation it grew substantially. Although it has been a few years since his graduation, and I no longer live in Hawaii to see what the school has become, I can say it was a once in a life time experience for him. My son still lives in Hawaii and still has great friends he made here. I am grateful we had a chance to send him to this school rather than a public one if only because of the more one on one experience. We had a chance to get to know the teachers and principle on a personal level and my son always enjoyed going to school. I couldn't have asked for a better four year experience for him and I'm happy to write a review for them. Hawaii in itself is unique and the Hawaii Academy of Arts & Science is a school that provides a one of a kind learning experience found no where else in the states. I am happy my son was able to attend and I hope your child has a chance to as well. I highly encourage you to consider them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

awesome you should send your kids here best school around if you want your kids to learn and become something then i would reccommend this school.


Posted February 13, 2012

My kids enjoy this school very much. The kids are great, the staff is exceptional. It is a kind, loving environment where children can grow and discover what there passion is. Happy Parent here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

HAAS provides a well rounded education that focuses on the diversity of the learner. It has small class sizes and teachers/supporters that are willing to go the extra 10 miles for the students and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Before moving to Hawaii, our #1 priority was finding the best school for our son, & we found it with HAAS. The teachers truly care and are invested in seeing the children succeed and grow at their own pace with love and encouragement. We are really blessed that we found them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Haas offers a lot of variety to its students from on campus programs, to a variety of local neighborhood options, to homeschool, and even online program. I appreciate the close relationship the students have with their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Because this school have great teachers, staff, and the students are cared for as respectable human beings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

HAAS is innovative and student oriented. They have been progressive and taken on the system to become one of Hawaii's top charter schools. They embrace the home-schoolers and small community groups under their umbrella. They also encourage students and their expression of talent with regular parent evenings filled with performances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

HAAS is a small, but growing community. The social life is that of a close knit family. Parent support is stronger than at any school I have belonged to. The energy of the school is friendly, talented, and the opportunities to express are available to every student in their twice yearly 'Performance Fair.' The turn out of parents and community members is always big. This is a great school that is very community based and promotes progressive learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

This is a pretty good school but what really bothers me is their lack of after-school programs and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2007

This school is so unique and my child really enjoys learning there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

The students individuality is encouraged. The school also encourages community service and leads by example. The campus is friendly, no violence is tolerated. The teachers avail themselves to tutoring to help all students succede
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

We love HAAS, especially the Ohana Programs. They are experimental, intelligent, and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Biology I

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 16% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 34%
Black 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Two or more races 1% 8%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A49%
Female 53%N/A48%
Male 47%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

151397 Homestead Rd
Pahoa, HI 96778
Phone: (808) 965-3730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT