Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pearl City Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 550 students

Our school is best known for our being a NASA Explorer School.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

As a parent, I m happy that my chid s school has a second parent teacher conference, that I don t think other schools do! I know how hard the teachers work and I want to let them know that we really appreciate their efforts and putting children first, especially with the new common core standards - even I need to learn more about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

I give the teachers in this school 4 stars because some of them they really care about the kids and the rest only care about their pay checks. The principal seems very nice always smile I wish I can say the same for her staff. I agree with one of the reviewer, the staff needs to smile more often.I don't think I will bring my child to this school next year, probably to Momilani or a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Pearl City Elem. is a ok school to me,reason is because lack of supervision in the morning for students around campus,in the cafeteria and playground areas,also there's not enough supervivision for the kids at the parking lot.But I have to say that the teachers are really great even though some of them are not really friendly,they still good teachers.Most of the staff members are snobs,they look sad and angry everyday.But for new parents don't let that stop you guys from going to Pearl City El. Because the teachers are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2013

Our daughter started going there with only 2 months left in the school year. The staff/teachers and the students were kind and friendly and very receptive. We could not be happier with our current situation! Teachers challenge the students and make learning fun and exciting. Oue daughter loves going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

Pearl City Elementary School provides students with a nurturing environment in which to learn and grow academically and socially.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2013

There are many great things that PCES is doing to help educate our schools. They have many extracurricular activities for the upper grade students to participate in such as JPO, Chorus, and Robotics, to name a few. In addition, the technology used at this school is OUTSTANDING!! The students have laptops in the classroom and use various online programs to enhance learning. My experience with the teachers and staff was wonderful. They are nurturing and cariing. Everyone should bring their children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2013

I have one child currently attending PCE and have to say my expectations were not very high in the beginning because I had heard some negative reviews of this school. However, after one year of my child attending PCE I only have good things to say about this school. The school is diverse with plenty of military kids and local kids who get along beautifully with each other. I have volunteered at the school several times and my impression of the staff is positive. There are really only 2 staff members who seem a bit harsh towards the kids. But what I mean by that is they have a more "old school" approach. I don't particularly agree with their style/tone but I certainly don't want to blow it out of proportion. My child doesn't even really have to interact with these people much, so truthfully, I don't give it much thought. My other little one is starting school at PCE next year and I'm happy to have them both there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

This is our first year at this school and as of right now, it's leaving me wanting to home school my child. The play ground supervision is lacking, and those who do are extremely rude, bossy and unfair to the children. 1 teacher threatens the class, with holds recess from them for reporting things a class bully does, then set thems up for failure by asking them what happened during lunch when no one openly tells. Teachers seem cold and uncaring towards most of the student ( although it's clear they do have favorites) The only bright side to this school is that it's one of the few that offers music class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

This is a great school! We sought at Geographical Exception to this school after hearing rave reviews about it. The principal is great, very friendly and knowledgeable, and is always seeking grants and other funds to make improvements to the school; right now they are building a brand new library. They are very military friendly, and very welcoming to new students. The teachers are very positive and truly care about the students. They have lots of neat classes, like music, computer, Hawaiian studies, library, etc. They also offer many extracurricular activities after school. Our favorite is the art classes which our daughter has enjoyed tremendously. Low student to teacher ratio (comparatively) with many E.A.'s to assist. Thanks PCES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

I have 3 children that attend now and a fourth that will attend in the fall. I have been surprisingly pleased with the quality of teachers and the amount of programs offered at Pearl City. The Chorus program is fantastic and the Gifted and Talented program pushes the students beyond what they thought they were capable of! The school is consistently trying to offer programs that appeal to everyone....the parents now just need to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

This school is a great school to teach at, with a positive atmosphere and great support!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2009

I am very impressed with the music program and chorus. The students have the opportunity to learn music concepts from a very experienced music teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2009

Pearl City Elementary school is a wonderful environment for all students. Teachers genuinely care for the academic and social welfare of the students. I am very pleased with my son's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Pearl City Elementary is a great school and it provides lots of opportunities to connect technology to learning. As a NASA school, students are also provided extra opportunities to work with people from NASA and participate in activities dealing with Science. The school also provides after-school tutoring, a math club, a robotics club, and chorus. As a new teacher to the school, I am happy with what the school provides for the students and the students are always eager to learn and participate. The staff is also friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2009

Pearl City Elementary School is conveniently located at the junction of Kamehameha Highway and Waimano Home Road, easy to find, with good access. This award-winning K-6 NASA Explorer School offers a curriculum with an emphasis on the sciences and technology. The school is working toward providing computer & technology access to all students at all grade levels, with computer lab and library expansions already underway. The staff is dedicated to providing for the needs of every child. The campus provides a safe environment for students, and the dynamic mix of diverse, friendly students provides a multi-cultural environment supporting both academic and social development. Extra-curricular activities include chorus, robotics, and a spring track team, with additional activities being developed. A+ and KidzKare programs are available on-site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

My 2 children have been attending Pearl City Elem. School and our family is very pleased. The academics are rigorous and standards based.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Pearl City Elementary has a variety of programs geared towards the students' many interests and academic needs. Dedicated teachers volunteer their personal time to supervise activities that encourage the students to explore their academic and career interests.


Posted February 4, 2009

Pearl City Elementary School avails a curriculum and programs that are up to the national standards across all content areas. It provides a nurturing environment and opportunities to grow and progress.


Posted November 13, 2008

Pearl City Elementary is a great school! I am very happy with the curriculum and the time spent helping my child. I am impressed with the NASA program and the extracurricular activities that are available to all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This school does a great job for below-average and average kids and pours their resources into these areas. Higher-end kids have less challenges. They refused to test my kids for GT and after I took them to another school, they qualified easily for the program. There wasn't much of program that I could see anyway. Parent participation is low. Parents are told they cannot volunteer in their own child's class due to disruption. Even so, there are some parents who practically live at the school volunteering in their kid's class. They do welcome new students and the principal is kind and a good leader in general. The NASA program is a plus and the computer teacher is great. There seem to be a lot of discipline problems in the upper grades. It didn't meet my kids' needs overall, and I never felt comfortable having my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 34% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 26% 34%
White 17% 14%
Hispanic 9% 6%
Two or more races 9% 8%
Black 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Behavioral health specialist
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Japanese
American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Japanese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Susan Hirokane
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (808) 453-6467

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Behavioral health specialist
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Japanese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Wal-Mart
  • Ben Franklin
  • Honolulu Police Department
  • Kiewit
  • PC Lion's Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Campus Safety Officers
  • Math club
  • Positive Action Club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Highlands Intermediate
Pearl City High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1090 Waimano Home Rd
Pearl City, HI 96782
Phone: (808) 453-6455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT