Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highlands Intermediate School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded | 957 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2013

Highlands Intermediate is a very good school when it comes to academic, however its sad to say that its a lot of favoritism toward Asian kids in this school. If your child is not local Japanese, good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

Highlands Intermediate is a good school,lots of extracurricular activities for the students and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I'm a proud student of Highlands Intermediate.The school is awesome and the teachers are awesome.Yaaaaay!!


Posted August 27, 2013

Highlands Intermediate is a very good school.This is my child's last yr.at the school and I have to say that the teachers are really good,from Band to all the other subjects,math,English,science,social studies etc.They are hardworking teachers.The science club teacher I think her name is Mrs Lin.correct me if I'm wrong,she's there at the school every single day including non school days,outstanding teacher.All the teachers are great including the principal.Glad that my child is going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2013

I reported the reviewer dated June 28, 2013. Calling people names is not writing a review. The spelling was horrible and, in my opinion, the lack of punctuation shows this is not a student who cares about academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

I am a current student at this school. :) I transfered for the first time in my life to become a 7th grader. In other words I came from Elementary to Intermediate. I was nervous at first but they proved that middle school isn't as bad as people say it is.The teachers are nice and they are concerned when someone ever gets bullied. But that barley ever happens. There are many electives to choose from and many after school clubs like robotics. The school structure may be old but it is still in good shape.


Posted January 11, 2012

It's an awesome school to be in. I'm a student at this school and my teachers are very nice to me and they give me help when I need it. Highlands Intermediate school also has a variety of after school activities and clubs. I'm currently in the Jr. LEO club and I am the homeroom representative in my homeroom. There is plenty of electives to choose from for 8th and 7th grade. This school also has things that are fun for those who do good in school like going to bowling and ice skating field trips. Did I mention the Highlands Got Talent at this school? The winner gets to be in Brown Bags to Stardom. I love this school very much and hope that many others will too!


Posted February 16, 2010

Its a great school. I am currently a student in HIS. Thererlots of activities and clubs: Math team, Sciene club, Robotics club, National Honors Society, Student government, etc. Being in these clubs, you can have chances to go on field trips for competition and tournaments. You can have a chance to participate in the Science Fair and National History day. The teachers are nice, they wont scold you for nothing; they are really kind. They have great electives: Band, Art, Cooking. They recently added Japanese a their language course so you can earn highschool credit when your in middle school. It has a big campus too! There is library, bandrooms, portables, etc. Youll have fun being in this school in your 7th and 8th grade years. It is a highly recommended school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2010

This school has an excellent education program in which students are split into teams so they have a sense of bonding. Teachers also help to make the school a safe learning environment by stopping all disruption that may arise from any high school student. Also, Highlands excels in doing well at competition that are held around the nation. I have enjoyed my time at Highlands and i would recommend the school to everyone I know.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2009

I think Highlands is a great place to be and that it's a great place to be. I honestly wouldn't want be anywhere else. The activities are great and all the people there are nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2009

Teachers are great. Commetted to the students. Great enrichment programs, after school activites, Lego and FIRST robotics teams, and great staff. School infrastructure needs some renovation, but that is a DOE budget problem not the school. Teachers and staff are willing to help out to stretch the school budget. Active encouragement of Parent involvment. There is a small number of kids with behavior problems, but there is no problem keeping good kids away from it. Ohh! Band is great!! My son who was forced to take it (by his good for nothing parents :-) ) now loves the Alto Sax.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

LIttle concern from teachers and staff for safety, academics, and ethics. I would not send my children back to this school. When I withdrew them to another school - there was no hesitation whatsover - it was a common occurrence, forms were preprinted and ready just for the asking. That alone should say something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

HIS is a great school. My son just came from a DoDEA school on Guam and I was very concerned about him fitting in with the locals and bullying issues. However, he hasn't had any problems and has many friends of various ethnicities there. The teachers are wonderful and stay on top of the students daily with the use of an agenda that is stamped by the teacher. It is very helpful in collaborating. Being both a former teacher and a parent, this school gets an A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

I am a former student HIS and currently attend PCHS. I am appalled by the first review written by a parent of a transfer student. The two years I have been at HIS, I had no problem with the curriculum whatsoever. I was in Honors English and Math both years. My 8th grade year they made a 'Honors' science class even though it wasn't a different course. We just went through the material at a slightly faster pace. However, the teachers were teaching the right curriculum. Algebra was the 8th grade Honors math. So, 11th grade math would most likely be trigonometry. How in the world would a teacher teach an 8th grader trig when they don't even know geometry? That is ridiculous and I believe this parent was going out of their minds when typing their review. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 24, 2006

This is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2006

My child transferred into the school from honors level classes in the Southeast while class president and having placement on the Duke University List. Teacher and counselor indifference to her adjustment need, the school failed my child adjust to a new way of teachnig in Hawaii. Consequently my child almost failed in every class for the year. The second year was worse. Fortunately, Term 2 removal to general level classes and costly private tutoring helped my child graduate to high school. Teachers were so concerned about 'filling squares' on standardized tests that teaching the students became an abandoned chore for both school years. In honors math, for example, the teachers were teaching the 8th grade students at the 11th grade level on a 200% acccelerated teaching schedule (trying to finish the entire year of 11th grade study by Christmas.) A one-day illness and there's no catching up for the student!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

493 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

478 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

477 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 48% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 26% 34%
Two or more races 9% 8%
White 7% 14%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1460 Hoolaulea St
Pearl City, HI 96782
Phone: (808) 453-6480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT