Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
73 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ho'ala School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
Work does not prepare you for mainstream education of college. I can assure you, if you go back to public school with what they teach you, you will struggle.

Ho'ala School 1

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
Ho'ala was probably the most ineffective school I ever went to. I learned practically nothing here at this school. It did not prepare me whatsoever going back to public school. Concepts taught at this school are not college preparatory at all, and yet students are pushed through the grades with this education. Unless your kids have extreme learning issues, this is NOT the school for you.


Ho'ala School 1

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
If you have just a regular kid and are planning to send him/her here, this is NOT the place for you. Work here is is simply too easy and inadequate. Remember, just because your kids are getting A's doesn't mean they're learning anything. Also, the whole grading system is very unorganized. They don't even provide a syllabus at the beginning.

Ho'ala School 5

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
There is something very special going on at this learning institution. My granddaughter started Kindergarten in the middle of the first semester when all the other students were familiar with the rules and routine. Her classmates volunteered to be her "helper" to assist her. An older student from another class offered to be her big sister also to help. It is really endearing to watch the older students help the younger ones. All of the faculty and staff knows each and every child and is always available for them. They are all 100% committed to the Hoala philosophy of respect, responsibility resourcefulness. They also offer a Lego Club, Chess Club, Hula, Piano, Taiko Drum right on campus. Spanish is required K -12! Tina the fine arts teacher is amazing. She introduces all mediums of art while teaching Art History! They have gymnastics as part of their PhysEd There isn't a need for the school to have the expense of their own library. The kids visit the public library which is right across the street. It's a good opportunity to get out and walk and get some fresh air! If you believe that it takes a village to raise a child. Hoala is that and so much more!

Ho'ala School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
Ho ala School far exceeded our expectations. My daughter attended Ho ala School from K-4th grade. We recently underwent a military move to the mainland and my daughter started 5th grade, middle school, in a premier school district. We received her first progress report at her new school and she received all A s and a B. I then went to a parent/teacher conference and was told by the teachers that they don t know why I came in for a conference- She s doing GREAT! I explained our recent move and one teacher stated How can she possibly be doing so well coming from Hawaii? I nodded and explained that this is why I chose to send her to Ho ala School. Hoala's investment in each child's development and well-being has allowed my daughter to thrive at her new school! She was definitely well prepared and ahead of the curve for this huge middle school transition due to Hoala's emphasis on respect, responsibility, responsiveness and resourcefulness. Ho'ala's emphasis on character education enriches the WHOLE child! She was not only prepared academically but given life skills through their character education program that are tools she will take with her forever.


Ho'ala School 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
At age 10 our daughter is excited about school and has come to value her education. She has become an introspective person who can act upon her feelings of empathy in the absence of coercion or self-centered conformity. Parent involvement in any school is vital to student success as well as to the success of the school community. We wish for every child and their family the opportunity of a Hoala education that has brightened every aspect of our daily lives and changed how we live in the world. The academics are updated and solid.

Ho'ala School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
This school is the best kept secret on Oahu. It doesn't look much from the inside, but what goes on inside, is amazing. At this school, the child not only learns all the academics, but he's also taught how to be the best person he can be. And he learns how to be part of a community. This is the second year for my son at Hoala, and he loves it so much he wants to stay there until the last possible moment. All the teachers know all the kids and all the kids know each other. The older kids help the younger kids. It's just a fantastic place. If you're looking for a school that nurtures your child and allows them to go at their own pace ( whether that's accelerated, or not ) this is the place. I have nothing but good things to say about Hoala.

Ho'ala School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a community member
Ho'ala School is like an amazing hole-in-the-wall restaurant; once you find it, you wonder where it's been your whole life. I am a Ho'ala alumni (1st grade thru 12th) and so grateful for all the opportunities the school gave me, tiny as it may be. Where else can you go to receive an education (that fully prepared me & took me through college graduation), and have amazing experiences with your whole school instead of just your class? Scuba certification as part of a Marine Science course? Did it. Community Service trips to learn the importance of giving back and how much a small school can impact a community? Ho'ala does that, and more. Students in combined classes are something of the future, and something I think is helpful; it teaches a child that they are part of a group, that everyone working together in a respectful and responsible manner equals more efficient, intelligent and patient children. The school's principal was a former Ho'ala teacher and former Ho'ala parent, which I think adds to the sense of community and the well-oiled machine that is Ho'ala. I am grateful to my parents for sending me to Ho'ala and I continue to carry the values of Ho'ala with me into adulthood.


Ho'ala School 5

Posted September 16, 2011
- a community member
Ho`ala is truly a special place. It teaches everyone that is a part of the school the true meaning of responsibility. The character education that takes place at the school is something that can be transcended not only in your school career but in all future relationships that you have in life. It has taught me (a graduate and student since 1st grade) to be respectful of others and to put myself in others shoes before jumping to conclusions. Just an overall great place to receive more than just a college prep education!

Ho'ala School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
This is a FANTASTIC school. It is focused on developing the entire child and teaches to multiple intelligences. All you have to do is look at the high school students who have come through the program: they are confident, articulate, intelligent and creative. This is the best school on the island.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ho'ala School
1067 California Avenue, Wahiaw, HI  96786
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (808) 621-1898
Last modified Ho'ala School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top