Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Major Sheldon Wheeler Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2013

Some of the teachers have too much of an 'island' mentality and are very lax in giving instruction in the classroom. In addition, their principal has a very passive personality and doesnt require teachers to fully monitor their classrooms during class time. Students are left to teach themselves or depend on one another for project completion. Definitely not the typical teaching styles that are normally found in DoD schools; very disappointing and confirms why their overall test scores remain low for students. Wheeler is the lesser of the evils when it comes to Hawaii schools as their scores remain higher than others schools in the area but still well below the national average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

Overall the school staff and administration is top notch. Very visible on the campus and at school activities and events. If you are a parent that is involved in your child's education then your child will do wonderfully well at this school. WMS offers a variety of sports, specialty groups and activities for students to get involved. Beautfiful campus which is amazing since the school is bursting at the seems with students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

I was very worried about this middle school because I hadn't heard great things. This was the most wonderful middle school any of my children have been to. We have seven children and two of them attended this school while we were stationed in Hawaii. I felt like we were all part of the family or Ohana while we were there. The teachers really care about their students. They want them to succeed. They tailor their programs to appeal to the students and help them learn while they are having fun. The teachers were easy to get in touch with and they always kept me informed of what my children were doing. My son had teachers with Master's degrees in math. The teachers also took time out of their private after school schedules to come and support our children in their other activities. We are so sad that we had to leave and would not hesitate to recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2010

Very poor parent/teacher communication. Teachers did not seem to care about the well being of my child. The teacher/student ratio was exceptionally high for middle schoolers. If your child didn't understand a lesson, then they just moved right along to the next lesson without caring if he received it or not. So basically if your child didn't get it, they had the" too bad" attitude. We decided to remove our child, and homeschool. His attitude is so much better. Very Poor school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2010

My daughter was behind in school when we moved to Hawaii. The staff at Wheeler Middle school helped her to catch up with her peers. The local children were her best friends while she attended there 2006 and 2007. The hardest thing about leaving was she misses all her local friends. We are a military family and we loved Hawaii.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

This is my daughters 1st year at Wheeler Middle. What a great difference from her last school. Teachers keep me informed of her status. Weekly emails as well as phone calls. Has made the honor roll the past 2 qtrs. Admin staff does an awesome job keeping this school running as well as they have! Keep up the great work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

This school is just awful. They do not do anything to stop the bullying. The teachers do not communicate with the parents and the school is just filthy. You can not even have a good conversation with the Principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

I have attened Wheeler Middle School and This school is probibly one of the most intersting i have ever attended. There is character in that school that i cant describe with words. The Teachers are very helpful and really care. The students stick together when we go through rough patchs. I remember my friend was crying in the hallway and people we didnt even know were asking what was wrong, and they were comforting her. Wheeler has served as my 2nd home. This school has taught me to be more humble, to accept people for who they are, and how to stand up for myself (without the fighting) i am proud to say i was the President of Wheeler Middle for the year 2008-2009. For i would never trade these 2 years for anything
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

This school is one of a handful of schools that made AYP this year. The teachers care, I get weekly updates from the PCNC via email and a newsletter monthly. My daughters teachers are always willing to help and have an online grade checking system so I can always tell what my daughters grades are. It is a great school that has won awards this year and has a lot of pride
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

my son currently attends this school. I have enjoyed the communication efforts the school has done. Through newsletters,emails, and occasionally calls upon request. The Principal @ this school is very professional and although we have never met personally, she smiles and greets you when she passes by. She is always outside on school grounds checking on the students and knows most of them by name. That in itself shows she cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

If this school is your only choice for your child, BE INVOLVED!!! The staff have to know that you care, or your child will fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

I would like to offer a more positive opinion about Wheeler Middle School. I had a daughter go to 8th grade here (2002-03) and my son is currently in 6th grade. Beginning with the principal, who is wonderful with the students, parents and her staff, I have been favorably impressed with the quality of education my children have received. I have found that his teachers truly care about him and his academic progress. They have been available to conference with me if I've needed it. In response to some of the other parent reviews: parental involvement is low here; but not because of a lack of opportunity. Discipline problems exist, but usually come from a handful of students (usually the same ones). But, there are also great students here and the school also provides lots of positive reinforcement and rewards for good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

My two sons went to Wheeler as 6th and 7th graders. The school was quick to notify me when there was a fight, but not about their academic progress. My youngest son was in danger of failing and I received an 'oh well' attitude from the teachers. There is a lot of racism at the school also. The schools in Hawaii are very racist and the civilian attitudes are the same. 'We don't want you here'. I hated the time spent in Hawaii, thank God we are no longer there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

The school needs work on all the fighting. My son has gone there for two years now and he really don't feel safe there. They have groups of kids who go around the school and harassing the other kids and they really don't do much to the kids who are doing this. I'll be glad when we my kids don't have to go to this school any more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2003

Discipline was a weakness, the school bus system is lacking. But, my son's teachers seemed truly interested in his welfare and academic progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 14%
Black 22% 2%
Hispanic 17% 6%
Two or more races 10% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Wheeler Army Airfield
Wahiawa, HI 96786
Phone: (808) 622-6525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ho'ala School
Wahiaw, HI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT