Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kaala Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
Kids there are out of control. Throwing chairs, yelling and screaming. Teacher was telling at kids in a foreign language. (Chinese?)

Kaala Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
I went to the teacher several times. Went to the principal on more than one occasion. Issue of bullying was NEVER solved.


Kaala Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
No bullying is an issue here. Kids show 0 respect to other kids, staff, and teachers.

Kaala Elementary School 1

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
Who is this teacher that wrote the children are "well behaved"? Do they really teach at Kaala because if they did then they would know that this statement is false. if the children are so well behaved then why do a lot of the teachers have to BRIBE their students with rewards in order for them to be quiet and pay attention?! Or, YELL at the students to do what they want them to do?! During school assemblies, the vice principal has to constantly remind the students to be quiet and pay attention. And the students' behavior is even worse when they're having lunch in the cafeteria: they're screaming and yelling at the top of their lungs and not listening to what they're supposed to do. I visited classrooms in kindergarten and first grade where a lot of the kids were out of control: yelling at the top of their lungs and running around the classroom as if it was a playground. The teachers just ignored them probably because they're used to them. And the new principal is of no help. You ask him for support and he gives you basically nothing in return. Don't let this teacher fool you into thinking Kaala is such a wonderful school to send your children because it is NOT.

Kaala Elementary School 4

Posted June 01, 2013
- a teacher
Ka'ala Elementary has experienced tremendous growth over the past 12 years. The curriculum is streamlined and emphasizes thinking and problem solving. The children are eager to learn and well behaved and the parents really want their children to be successful. Come with a heart and commitment to inspire and promote growth.


Kaala Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2009
- a parent
We love Kaala school. Our experience with the teachers and staff has been positive. Our child came from a very challenging background. Kaala's commitment to raising educational standards and holding students responsible for excellence have made the difference. Thanks for all the hard work.

Kaala Elementary School 4

Posted September 27, 2009
- a teacher
Currently Ka'ala is one of the few schools in the Leilehua Complex that has made AYP status. Ka'ala has made tremendous gains in both reading and math. The University of Chicago and the publishers of the Everyday Math Program has acknowledged the school's outstanding accomplishments.

Kaala Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 23, 2009
- a teacher
This is not a happy place for most teachers to be : overall poor leadership, and lack of classroom support - sends too many good teachers fleeing. A change in administration , and weeding of unmotivated instructors and staff -could begin to make this a school on the upswing


Kaala Elementary School 2

Posted September 01, 2005
- a parent
The quality of Kaalas academic programs isnt that great.Your childs learning all comes down to how good of a teacher they have luckly for me we had a good teachers. when we had a bad one I pulled my kid out of school until she was which. we have moved off island and my daugther started kindergarden there and she did great the whole time there, but now here in New York there standards are much higher then Hawaii and the only ones who really suffer are the kids.I felt alot of times that we didnt get what we needed at KaAla and i am gald to be gone.

Kaala Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2005
- a parent
Kaala has an excelent reading program. But my son started saying it was boring. Some students learn faster than other students and the teachers don't recognize it. Don't get me wrong, SFA is a GREAT Program. Two of my children read at a higher grade level. my son in the 5th grade reads at the 8th grade level and my son in the 1st grade reads at the 4th grade level. My son read the newspaper and reads it. The parent/child projects are fun to. but more parents need to participate and support the teachers and students. over all. I would recommend kaala school.

Nearby schools

Kaala Elementary School
130 California Ave, Wahiawa, HI  96786
(808) 622-6366
Last modified Kaala Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top