Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Helemano Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2013

My children have attended this school for two years, and one more before we move. As a military family, I'm conscious of the academics and environment as we move frequently and have to accept which ever school our housing falls into. I've been pleased both years now. My oldest started 3rd grade at Helemano and the teacher was very understanding of our transient life, and my desire to maintain education levels to transfer back to VA schools. The teachers encourage him/her to excel and push oneself to achieve more. I feel if a parent is willing to be involved and encourage the child to do well the outcome is better received. If you set lower expectations, or none at all, then don't expect much from your child regardless of the school. My other child attended Helemano as a Pre-K parent participation program (we didn't qualify for the regular pre-k/headstart). It was a great beginning school experience. They also offered a wonderful summer kinder-prep program. The kindergarten year has been a great experience, the staff is welcoming to students and parents. I volunteer in the classroom weekly as a teacher's aide and see progress in all the student's academics and social behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Dont like this school. staffs are rude and my kid's teacher 1st year teaching, due to her lack of experience my son wasted his whole k year. for sure not a military friendly school. My older child got injured by one of his/her classmate and was bullied the whole year but no teacher, principal not even vice principal cared. Its so sad. I dont recommend this school. we re actaully moving so that my kids doesnt suffer next school yr


Posted April 14, 2012

I have to say Helemano more then exceeded my expectations. The entire staff is very welcoming. Excellent leadership and teachers. If you ever have a concern or a problem they are more then willing to help resolve it. They welcome parent involvement. I highly recommend Helemano to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

Being in the military, we came to Helemano School with so much apprehension, mainly coming from other military family who came to Hawaii and experiencing 'culture shock'. I could say that through my own personal experience that I am fortunate to have my child attend this school. The administration and staff are excellent. There is a mixture of students both military and civilians. The school staff work together to provide a safe learning environment for its students. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

wonderful and caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

My child is attending this school since kindergarten. I'm impressed with the teachers. They are caring and supportive. My daughter enjoys going to school. The administration has addressed any concerns I've had quickly. The gals in the office are always smiling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

I realy like this school My kids are lerning so much the teachers are wonderful they encourage my kids to want to learn they have a very good reading program because of this school my kids love to read. We have been at this school for 2 years and we are sad that we have to move to the main land Parking, droping off or picking up is difficul but they are looking for ways to improve. over all this is good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2005

My child attended this school from k-5 and I feel that he got a quality education and benifited from the many extra curricular activities provided.I wish Helemano went up to 12th grade because if it did he would still be there.The teachers are very caring and nuturing and the administration does and excellent job with what little they have.Thanks to Helemano my child took and passed the test for a very prestigous private school and is currently enrolled there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

I like this school because it has allowed me to work around and with kids of all ages, race. I have found it a priveledge to become a part of the staff, working as a Adult Yard supervisior. The income has been a blessing for my family. The teachers have been very understanding,and helpful. The principle has been easy to work with and help me to resolve problems when I felt that my kids were being treated unfairly. Helemano has taught me alot about the Hawaiian,Japanese and other cultures.I have learned to appreciate many different kinds of foods, new languages and religions.The school is fairly small in size, which I like, because it makes it more of a safe school.I have enjoyed the Fun Run's and also the traditional, May Day.I have enjoyed this school and would recommend it to other families.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 27, 2005

I absolutely hate this school. The only reason we attend here is lack of option. They want parents to be involved but the lack of parking make it hard. Academic is mediocre at best. There is no parking to pick your child up from school. There is no drop off or pick up place.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 46% 34%
White 19% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 13% 34%
Hispanic 11% 6%
Black 7% 2%
Two or more races 3% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 IhiIhi Ave
Wahiawa, HI 96786
Phone: (808) 622-6336

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ho'ala School
Wahiaw, HI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT