Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leihoku Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 882 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2011

i love love love this school and the staff. i'm glad we live in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

Thank you to Leihoku for its wonderful staff and teachers. It has been a blessing to have found such a caring and helpful school. I have two children that attend Leihoku Elem. Thanks again for all you have done for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My son is a 1st grader and i love it at Leihoku. The teacher's make my child feel welcome and loving. Leihoku Rock'S
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

This is my son's first year at Leihoku coming from a private school. It's only been about a month into the year and already I'm seeing so much progress in my son. He's being challenged in positive ways and it's exciting for him. To imagine we were paying thousands a year for a private school education that wasn't challenging him. I'm so glad we enrolled him here. The curriculum is oustanding and the teaching staff is wonderful and very welcoming. I know that my son is getting a good education here and the school itself is beautiful. They have a Kumon center here too that is so convenient for my son. For all you parents out there who want nothing more than a quality education and a positive learning experience for your children, this is the place to be. I know my son will succeed here. Great job, Leihoku!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

Leihoku not only has a great principal and staff but they also have HEART and a real feeling of OHANA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

I currently have a fourth grader attending Leihoku, and two older children who graduated from Leihoku Elementary. My oldest child is now a sophomore at Waianae High School doing very well thanks to the education he received from Leihoku, and My second child is an honor roll student at Waianae Intermediate School. I highly recommend this school to others in the community. I truly believe they have a great teaching staff and the Principal has a lot to do with their success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

When my daughter was going to Leihoku she had a hard time adjusting to school. Well thanks to the teachers and support staff, she overcame her fear of not seeing mom. And as she continued through her years at Leihoku I could see my child blossom into a very bright and ambitious child who wanted to learn. And as she moved on to the middle school and high school. She was confident enough to take on all the challenges she had through her school years. I believe that with all the support she had gotten in her elementary years she was able to succeed. Leihoku has been very supportive of the children and their parents. I have seen many children succeed. Leihoku has been very good to the children, parents and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My daughter is in the 6th grade and each year that she has attended Leihoku Elementary, she has made tremendous academic achievements. The school is strong in recognizing student's not only for academic achievement but for personal achievements as well. I would not choose any other school over Leihoku elementary. My daughter attends there on a Geographical Exception as schools in our living area are all very good as well but I feel that she has learned how to be humble and empathetic towards others while she has attended Leihoku Elementary. I commend the administration as well as teachers for all of their hard work and dedication as they prepare their youngsters for a bigger and brighter world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Leihoku is a great learning institution. I have sent 3 grandchildren there and my grandson plays basketball for the PAL program. The teachers are always there to answer questions one might have and the principal is a on hands kind of guy. Every time I am at the school I see him out and about and knows so many children by there name and I see their reactions to this. The children feel important and full of pride that they are recognized by someone as important as the principal knows them. The teaching curriculum is great and I know of a lot of parents that try to get their children enrolled in this fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

Leihoku is a very good school. My daughter is in first grade. When she started at Leihoku, she was a behind the class in almost everything. It has been only a couple of months and she is now exceeding. She can read almost everything she sees. Her spelling has improved. She is doing well in Math too. Her teacher is wonderful and the school staff is outstanding. Their curriculum is very different than most schools, but it seems to be working very well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

Three of my children have attended or are attending Leihoku Elementary. In recent years, I have seen a lot of teacher turn over in the school. However the teachers that my children have had are very good. Due to the low test scores, I have seen more of a focus on Reading and Math, and a less of an emphasis on music, art,sports and other extracurricular activities. The students are able to participate in the PAL football and basket ball leagues but due to the lack of coaches, the children seem to be left out. My child consistantly scores very high on all of his school work. If Leihoku would have classes for advanced students, I'm sure it would help the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

I feel that Leihoku Elementary first through fourth grade students should be having 20 spelling words a week where they have to do activities with the words and then have a spelling test at the end of the week. They should be doing this the whole school year. The students starting from second grade on up should be doing a book report once a month where they have to read a book of their choice and write up a little report on it and tell their class about what they read. This school and the majority of school on the Waianae Coast are the poorest and if they don't do these simple things how is a child going to be able to read and write withought spelling and book reports?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

Leihoku Elem. School is truly a great school. With a professional staff dedicated to excellence, Leihoku continues to be the school of choice on the Waianae Coast. The school, like others in the area, is challenged with trying to provide a quality education to an enrollment that consists of a 'higher-than-average' number of students coming from low-income households. Generally speaking, lack of parent participation and 'support from home' is a major contributor to it's lacking overall scores. A child attending Leihoku, who is afforded this much needed parental support from home, will stand a better chance at succeeding both academically and socially. I have sent two children there and am very pleased with the effort of both the administration and staff alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2004

Leihoku is the best elementary school on the Waianae Coast. The teachers and staff are dedicated to helping my children develop academic and social skills that will help them be sucessful academically and socially. I am grateful to the teachers and staff who always strive to be the best and bring out the best in my children. The curriculum is rigorus, parent support is essential and welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 70% 34%
Asian 17% 35%
Two or more races 5% 8%
White 4% 14%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

86285 Leihoku St
Waianae, HI 96792
Phone: (808) 697-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Maili Bible School
Waianae, HI


Kamaile Academy
Waianae, HI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT