Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
150 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School 2

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Worst experience, poor Administration, non existent sport program, false advertisement, poor curriculum. The worst investment we ever made. We will be willing to spend more money somewhere else. Can't wait for the year to end.

St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School 3

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
I have just learned that there will be a replacement teacher for Saint Anthony's English classes and their religion classes. Apparently the new replacement for the religion class is an administration member; I'm of the opinion that having an administration member teaching a class would be to strenuous. On top of having the responsibilities of an administrator the replacement would also have to formulate class plans. Due to the ratio of teachers to the amount of available subjects there is an overabundance of teachers who teach multiple classes. Having school staff members (administration, faculty members and teachers) upholding multiple responsibilities is to much to ask for. Regardless on whether or not the school is public or private, schools shouldn't demand so much of their teachers. Teachers who teach multiple classes may be discouraged to thoroughly teach each subject and may become too preoccupied preparing for their other classes. Despite the over-tasking of the teachers I find the school satisfactory. There are many teachers who would go the extra mile to assist the students and I appreciate their help, however, it is important that the teachers don't strain themselves.


St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
My children love going to school in the mornings. They and their classmates consistently rank above the national average in critical reading and writing, and two of my children were accepted by several leading universities because of the excellent academic education and the important leadership skills they learned at SAS. The youngest two are involved in community service projects as well as sports, arts, and academic competitions. SAS provides a safe, wholesome, christian (Marianist) environment for students. What other school can offer that?

St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School
no rating

Posted March 18, 2009
- a teacher
I was a teacher at SAS and know that the old administration left behind a lot of garbage. The new principal was caring and strong enough to bring about new changes. I felt a lot of camaraderie there with the admin and the faculty as well as the staff. My students were great in spite of some behavior problems in some and lack of self-discipline in others. I would love to see better discipline and responsibility in the students as well as better self-respect and mutual respect of students. I also would love to see students really respect their elders, defer to authority, and have obedience as it used to be in the old days when SAS was know for their strict discipline that was taught by the religious sisters and brothers. I really did enjoy teaching at SAS and would not mind having my own children attend this school.

St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School 3

Posted July 09, 2008
- a community member
I am a 2008 Alum and this school was a good place to grow up. Admin was horrible and the school is losing more and more teachers. Discipline in student body is going down because admin would not allow teachers to deal with misbehaiving students appropiatly. The only thing teachers could do was send them up to the office were nothing was done to correct their behaivior. The school all around was a mess because of poor financing and intelligent personel in admin. With all of that aside... I as a student felt like St. Anthony was my home because of the family type of atmosphere. And I fear that soon the poor condition that St. Anthony is in will tear that family atmosphere apart. Once better teachers are obtained and corrections are made in admin, St. Anthony will be the best.


St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School 3

Posted February 21, 2007
- a parent
Limited music and art. Most of attention spent on football. Academically, AP classes are available. And teachers do take a personal interest in your child. However, Teachers/administrators spend too much time on pointing out trivial things, ie 'tucked in shirt', matching socks, etc. I'm sure they would rather concentrate on teaching. After a while teens just tune them out. Need more positive feedback to students in general. They get enough nagging at home or maybe not? New Principal being brought on starting fall 2007. We are looking forward to some new leadership.

St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School 4

Posted November 18, 2005
- a parent
Quality, caring teachers and administration who are willing to go the extra mile for their students. Limited music and art, however, advance placements courses are available as well as college placement opportunities.

St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School 2

Posted November 28, 2004
- a parent
Horrible administration. The only choice I have besides public school. Not worth tuition but my kid is safe.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School
1618 Lower Main St, Wailuku, HI  96793
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (808) 244-4190
Last modified St. Anthony Junior/Senior High School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top