Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henry Perrine Baldwin High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1612 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

I am an alumni of H.P. Baldwin High School. I love this school so very much. The academics and programs offered are diverse and amazing. I love this school so much I am coming back to teach here. I would recommend this school highly. I believe it is the best school on Maui.


Posted July 18, 2012

Baldwin High School is a great school with an incredible reputation. As an incoming senior I can say I love Baldwin. Baldwin has a stellar reputation in athletics competing at the state level in most sports. The school also offers many academic opportunities including AP (Literature, Language, European History, Calculus, Art, Biology and Chemistry) and Honors classes (English, World History, Geometry, Algebra 2, Trig, pre calc, Biology, Chemistry and Physical Science). Baldwin has a wide range of extracurriculars to let students get involved. Baldwin also has one of only two Peer Education Programs in the county. Baldwin also has a stellar Drama program, and art program. Baldwin students score consistently well on AP tests and is home to many National Merit winners. The classes at Baldwin are challenging but Baldwin does it's best to help and support for students such as tutoring and online gradebooks which allow both students and parents to track student progress. Baldwin student council goes to extreme lengths to get students involved and active. The school values student voice. Baldwin's sports, extracurriculars, academics, students and staff make this school incredible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2011

Baldwin is a great highschool. It has a great relationship and reputation among other schools on maui and even the rest of hawaii. Although baldwin doesn't have the best facilities we have impressive teachers and our students determination and effort bring our standards higher than other public schools. Our school is proud to boast an amazing drama program, a challenging math program, a english program that suits all its students. Our students are proof of how well baldwin does, we have the most science fair participants in the district and our students are the most recognized. We have history day winners, have a great standing in mathcounts and students who have competed at national levels of academic and athletic contests.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2010

The 10th grade teachers do not update Classroll consistently. I don't know if and when my child receives a bad grade until it's too late - and he won't tell me. When requesting teachers to contact me when my child's grades begin to drop - there is little-to-zero interest in doing so. The perfunctory attitude of "...get me outta here" with regard to these 2010 HS students derails parent interaction. The curriculum for tenth grade is elementary including crossword puzzle worksheets in HONORS history, connect the dots, utilizing magazines to make collages for the summer reading program. Most of the classes don't require the student to think for themselves. All of his test are multiple choice with the exception of math. The math answers to the previous night's homework is posted prior to turning homework in. I think some students deserve more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It's on Maui! The Principal and Staff are superb!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

H.P. Baldwin High School is easily one of the best high schools on Maui. The curriculum is well structured and many courses are available including Honors and AP. In addition to this, motivated students should find no difficulty in school work or assignments. Another point of interest is that there is much diversity within the student body: Asians, Pacific Islanders, Caucasians, etc... The sports programs are excellent as are the many student organizations on campus. They afford students the ability to get involved with not only at the school but also in the greater community and often times out of state. I strongly recommend H.P. Baldwin to anyone looking for a good public education. This high school rivals many of the private high school institutions on Maui. Not only is it affordable but provides much more to its student body than some schools with outrageous costs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2008

baldwin high is not so bad school it lacks some what teaching abilitys. such as pushing the students to achive better higher expectations and also not explaining the work to the ower class men.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2007

I attended Baldwin High School for 2 years which I will always cherish the last 2 years was spent at Kamehameha Schools Kapalama Campus on Oahu. I currently have 2 children attending Baldwin and I can honestly say that there is no other high school that I feel as content as with Baldwin. I have 4 children and all four children had no other desire to attend another school. As far as the faculty and staff they are excellent!!! Teachers are not our babysitters, but our mentors and educators. Sometimes we take it for granted that it is the teachers responsibility for our lack of knowledge, participation in our child's life. Some are so quick to blame when we are at fault or feeling quilt, we need to thank and praise them for the sacrifices that do for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

My Child has been attending there for about 6 years now, and i am not very pleased with some of the meals they provide. The Walkways are also extreamly narrow. A Wide prson as myself cannot fit very easily. The bathroom stall are also too close together. And DO NOT get me started on the lockers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

My children currently attend Baldwin High School. I am not happy with the way the teachers teach. They are uncaring and unnuturing. They are also bland and uncreative. The cafeteria food is not tasty and unnutritional. I am so upset with baldwin I am going to remove my children and put them into private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2005

H.P. Baldwin High is a fine educational institution. Easily, Baldwin is the best high school on Maui due to exceptional academics and a successful athletic program. Teachers are great resources for information and advice. The school offers AP courses in biology, calculus, chemistry, language, literature, and US history. Popular extracurricular activities include newswriting, drama, symphonic band, key club, kiwins, science club, aloha club, art club, japanese club, JROTC, and yearbook. Baldwin students have gone on to study at Stanford, MIT, Cornell, Columbia, Georgetown, Berkeley, Notre Dame, USC, Northwestern, Brown, UCLA, UCSD, Harvey Mudd, Pomona, NYU, Carnegie Mellon, Johns Hopkins, UNC, Boston College, Williams, Amherst, Carleton, Colgate, and Washington University of St. Louis.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 28, 2005

I graduated from Baldwin about five years ago. I believe that the school gave me a decent foundation. It prepared me academically (I had a mix of honors and general education classes) as well as socially. When I attended, there were a number of fun and stimulating organizations such as the Drama Club, the Art Club, the Newspaper, academic clubs like the National Honors Society and the Biology Club, and cultural groups encouraging understanding of Hawaii-Pacific, Japanese, and Filipino peoples. The school even has a JROTC, which no other Maui institution can boast. Because it's a rather large public school these opportunities aren't handed to students should have some self-determination. The help and support is there as long as students are somewhat aggressive about getting it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 11, 2004

As a grad of said school, I have little love for my 'alma mater,' though I wouldn't call it as such. My fondest memories are of the Drama Dept, under the wonderful leadership of Ms. Loudon, Drama Goddess. I recieved professional-level training there for my careers in theatre and film. Now, a full-time college student, I can honestly say that I would not have the skills I have today were it not for Ms. Loudon. That said, the dept. is in desperate need of funding, though despite this, or maybe because of it, it has to be the best high school drama department in Hawaii--just severly understated and underfunded. I can speak of no other virtues of Baldwin, other than it exemplifies a Military Academy with its rules and regulations, not to mention the Nazi-like attitude of the administration. If you can handle that, though, it's worth it for the theatre.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Biology I

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 38% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 36% 34%
White 15% 14%
Two or more races 7% 8%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1650 Kaahumanu Ave
Wailuku, HI 96793
Phone: (808) 984-5656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Maui High School
Kahului, HI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT