Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Iao Intermediate School 1

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
Our overall experience with the school has been extraordinarily disappointing. There are a few good (read good as meaning capable AND dedicated) teachers here and they are scattered amongst the chaos. I do not blame them as it's management's responsibility to create and organization that excels. Teachers cannot do this on their own. This year 2013 - 2014 the school is under new leadership at both levels and things are not getting better, rather I fear the opposite. There is little to know visible structure/discipline, more school fights, and the culture of no homework and fantasy grading scales continues on. The scale for a C at this school ranges between 65-79%. Why? It has created a false sense for the students, and will be worse moving forward into high school, and beyond. Teachers are always absent. A few new teachers this year seem to be assigning large amounts of homework to their kids (my child is one of them). Everyone is frustrated and upset. It's obvious the kids are behind. Does the school realize it's their fault? No. No changes to help the kids. Instead they want the teachers to "lay off". That's how we got here. Everyone laid off. Do something! Help the kids.

Iao Intermediate School 1

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
It's amazing that the Board of Education turns a blind eye to this circus. Never have I seen such complete incompetence and lunacy. Furthermore, it is totally asinine that they think wearing their new socialist uniforms is going to turn the tide of academic achievement. If they spent a mere 50% of their energy addressing the real problems, rather than policing clothing and ID cards, then they may actually make some head way. Communication with parents is dismal, passion of the teachers non existent, and overall care of the children's future is a total sham. What I gather is these teachers are just in it for the paycheck, a small one yes, but you get the point. Unfortunately I live next to this school and have been denied on 2 occasions for my children to be relocated to another school nearby.


Iao Intermediate School 4

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
This school has excellent teachers that run a tight ship. Their band program is outstanding. The principal is excellent and you can tell she is always trying to improve the school. There is a reward program called the Renassance program that your should encourage your child to join. Even though Iao is a huge school our daughter had a very good experience there and made many friends from a variety of socio-economic backgrounds.

Iao Intermediate School 1

Posted April 08, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Iao Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted February 11, 2010
- a community member
Four stars - Iao has numerous special programs to meet the needs of the students. Excellent after school program, effective ELL program, and effective academic incentive program.


Iao Intermediate School 1

Posted December 20, 2008
- a parent
Teaching staff is very good if they stick around. There are honors classes, but unfortunately many of the children don't care about acedemics. I have talked to my daughters friends and the say that their parents are of no help. More community involvment would really help this school.

Iao Intermediate School 1

Posted July 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Iao Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2007
- a student
The Principal Is Strict But Knows How To Keep Things Right.


Iao Intermediate School 5

Posted January 21, 2005
- a student
I think that the Principal is very respectable. She is a hardworker and keeps the students in line.

Iao Intermediate School 1

Posted May 20, 2004
- a parent
The discipline is really good but not the safty. The principal does not dress like a real principal she dresses more like a teenager not a real principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Iao Intermediate School
260 South Market St, Wailuku, HI  96793
(808) 984-5610
Last modified Iao Intermediate School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Iao Intermediate School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top