Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Waimea, HI
Students enrolled: 251
 

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parker School 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Our son is just finishing kindergarten. He loves his school and his teachers. Parker has been a wonderful school. The teachers really care about the kids. It is amazing to see the growth of our son. We moved from Kona to Waimea just to send him to Parker. It was the best decision we ever made. The lower School head Heather is amazing! She is always happy and goes out of her way to make each child and parent feel welcomed and special. If you want your child to get a great education in a loving and caring enviroment, Parker is Where you should send you child.

Parker School 1

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
We had a terrible experience at Parker. They claimed to nurture each student with rigorous academic challenges, but our child was completely bored and this caused extreme frustration and depression . The principal and headmaster were no help. When we tried to withdraw from the school, we were told we were still on the hook for the year's tuition. Although they said we were all ohana, they didn't make it right. Instead, it was all about the money. But the biggest price we paid was our child who once looooved school now hated it. Luckily, our new school provides materials from 1-2 grades ahead, and we have put Parker behind us.


Parker School 5

Posted April 12, 2015
- a parent
Parker School has been amazing for our child! They love it and feel challenged on a daily basis. Academically the best school around! While they are trying hard to improve their athletic program( a new athletic director that is trying her hardest- and has been successful)- the school desperately needs an athletic building and gathering place. Great debate team and huge involvement of headmaster in academic programs! Would love to see the headmaster support ALL Art and sports activities!!

Parker School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
Parker's small size and incredibly dedicated staff allows for each child to be known and uniquely challenged and supported. I have been involved with the PTSO for the past 4 years and have had on-going contact with staff, administrators, parents, and students. Although no place is perfect, Parker does an outstanding job at preparing kids who are confident, considerate, well-rounded, informed, and importantly, kind. As we like to say, our kids sell our school because they are such enthusiastic and impressive individuals who create a culture of caring and excellence around them. They encourage each other to be and do their very best. Since Parker is small, kids participate in activities that they might not otherwise and often learn and grow in dynamic ways. With excellent academics, a top-notch debate team, good arts/drama offerings, sports and an o'hana (family) feel, Parker has been an exceptionally good choice for us.

Parker School 5

Posted February 16, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter entered Parker School's middle school this year. She is currently in the sixth grade. She says it is the best school that she has attended. She also says that while the school is academically rigorous they also know how to have fun. She loves the teachers and the students. As a parent we couldn't be more pleased. They are a college preparatory school but they also want to help create well rounded individuals. The art and drama programs are top notch and they have a nice selection of sports and extra curricular activities. Their Board of Directors and PTSO are vibrant and active with an eye on working with the administration to help enhance the Parker School experience. The teachers are amazing. They are accessible to the students and the parents. They use the term Parker Ohana (family) and it truly is a family environment.


Parker School 5

Posted February 16, 2015
- a parent
Parker offers a challenging and engaging curriculum delivered by a staff of dedicated and experienced teachers. Our 6th grade boy is LOVING his first year at Parker, and we can see great development in him academically (e.g. he attacks math problems without drama, shares new-found knowledge, communicates ideas more clearly than ever). He is clearly happy and very comfortable socially. Communication with teachers is easy and they're highly responsive. We recommend Parker without qualification - it's easily Hawaii Island's best school!

Parker School 5

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended Parker School for 3 years and has had a wonderful experience. He is getting a great education and is socially very happy here.

Parker School 5

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
My eldest has been at this school since 1st grade, and is now in 3rd. My youngest will be starting Kindergarten next year. I cannot imagine a better school for my kids! The teachers are excellent and dedicated in providing the best learning environment and opportunities. They are also loving, and skilled in training kids to develop social and communication skills. The curriculum is project-oriented, kids are so focused on achieving these fun projects that they seamlessly read, research, write, count and present to others... with joy and without realizing it is actually hard work! I love this school.
1 person found this helpful


Parker School 5

Posted April 25, 2012
- a parent
Individual attention and while there are standards, children also allowed to progress at their own pace and pursue their individual interests. My daughter loves school and the after school program. The art, music, language and science teaching in the elementary school are wonderful.

Parker School 5

Posted February 26, 2011
- a parent
My daughters have attended the elementary school since kindergarten and they love it. The teachers are exceptional, the staff and administration is supportive and approachable and the campus is darling. The curriculum has been challenging but not too much so, and the enrichment programs including field trips are wonderful. Overall I give the school the highest recommendation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parker School
65-1224 Lindsey Road, Waimea, HI  96743
(808) 885-6803
Last modified Parker School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Parker School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top