Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hawaii Preparatory Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Waimea

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $462,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,159.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

My daughter went to HPA for 5 years. The teachers are good. It is the administration that fails the students.How do you fire a well loved and excellent teacher who was teacher of the year just the year before? Also no follow through when school rules are broken. The administration listens to your complaints and then just waits for you to tire of their lack of response. Million dollar energy lab used by maybe 20 students while all the locker rooms and bathrooms need remodeling.Campus is getting pretty ramshackle. All in all the school is pretty rudderless.Current Dean of Academics is a nightmare. NO one likes him.Save your money send your kids to Parker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

Outstanding teachers for anyone looking to be challenged. I have two boys who were in a super elite private school on the east coast. What I can say is this. If you want a quality education, you can get it here. At the top of the class, you will find kids who are as good as anywhere. However, the average student is not as good as the average student coming out of a New England prep school. This is not due to the quality of teaching but rather the population of students from HPA can draw. My eldest son was extremely well prepared for college, went on to be accepted Early Decision at Duke, and is now ranked #1 in his class at Duke, one of the hardest and #6 ranked university in the U.S. He is now a potential candidate for a Rhodes Scholarship. My youngest son, also moved from the east coast elite school to HPA and has had a similar experience. He loves the school, is highly motivated, and should be a strong candidate at any top university in the country. The biggest difference is o'hana (family & friends) as both were happy at HPA. On the east coast, kids believed they got ahead by beating someone else. At HPA, everyone supports each other while still embracing personal excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

HPA is a good school for students wanting to be academically challenged. The campus and facilities are nice, and the faculty seems driven to make the best of the students education. The prices are so high students should take advantage of their accommodations, including mealtime. If you want a challenging education, but you feel like you already know what you want to do in life, like play music or be an actress, or make Video Games or be a Movie Director, I think HPA might seem like a waste of time, and it can be if your not focused by your schoolwork. All I wanted to do was play music, and i was distracted from my studies, obviously, I thought that I wouldn't benefit at all from HPA because I would want to be a musician after my graduation. If you know what you love, school can only distract you from it, it may be a waste of time, but your not, so do what you love.


Posted May 13, 2013

This classic school, set in one of the most beautiful settings in the world has produced two presidential scholars in the last two years, beating out the perennial Goliath's on Oahu, including Punahou and Iolani. Academics is only one piece of the puzzle, as mandatory sports after-school gives HPA students the opportunity to focus on health and wellness on the daily. Their numerous state titles and yearly BIIF titles are a testament to hard working and healthy kids. Community's the third piece of the pie at HPA and it should not be taken lightly. Whether it is class meetings, advisory meetings, or Friday flagpole, students are part of a valued, tight knit community. While the tuition is legendary (the most expensive in the state) it is worth every single penny. Did I mention the facilities? Teachers are insane and the views of natural Hawaii are as good as it gets. Doesn't look and feel like a high school. It feels more like a small liberal arts college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

This school is extremely stable as most of the board of directors and many teachers are former students and associated with the school for decades. Many of the students are children and grandchildren of alumni. The headmasters have all been of the highest caliber in the world. At one time there were more Phd's per student than all but a few US universities. One of the first presidential scholars was from HPA and it is not unusual to have more than one National Merit scholar per year. There also are university students from 2 national universities attending (Cal Berkley!). Class size is quite small some have been only one or two students! Acedemics are main thrust but arts and atheletics are also stressed and many state championships have been won by a very small school. The school is also totally unrelated to the Episcopal church! It was founded by them and abandoned in 1950 or so as I recal. There is a chapel on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

I beleive that HPA is a very good school, but like any other school, it all depends on what the student makes of it. The teachers are great and provide you with the necessary tool a student needs to succeed in life. if a student doesn't want to attend HPA then they aren't going to have the best time, but it they want to study and succeed then HPA is the right school. It has a great athletic program and the college counseling program can help you get into great colleges.


Posted September 16, 2009

best school on the planet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

The school always focused on what was in the best interest for my child. She made many life-long connections there with others students and with some of the teachers. Every time I talked to her she raved about the exciting new things she was able to do there that she couldn't do at home. I was also impressed with the academic work and projects that she showed me, they were interesting and challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

They change administration every few years. It is a nightmare. I had three kids there. I could not wait to leave. A real waste of time and money, one of the few regrets of my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

HPA is a good school with good teachers. My daughter graduated in June 2007 and, unsolicited, recently said 'HPA really prepared me for college'. She currently attends a competitive private west coast university.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

Teacher quality has gone down dramatically as of 2005-2006 school year. The school's reputation within the community has deteriated. Most parents believe the new leadership has contributed to this. In some cases, the students are anxious to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

HPA is a small, private, K-12 school in Kamuela, one of the most beautiful settings in paradise. (www.puamanawebdesign.com/ bi_tour/waimea.html)The academic programs are solid and under the leadership of our new headmaster we are moving to add the International Baccalaureate. We are expecially strong in the sciences with many of our students involved in field work the the endangered green sea turtles, with great access to the Mauna Kea observatories, and active volcanoes on the south part of our island. Theatre arts has always been a significant part of our curriculum, but there is an initiative to grow music and visual arts which have not been strong programs in the past. Sports in Hawaii are huge, and students are required to participate. As a small school students have great opportunities to play varsity sports. The relationship between Parents and the Administration are especially heathy with many opportunities for involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 51% 8%
White 39% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65-1692 Kohala Mountain Road
Waimea, HI 96743
Phone: (808) 885-7321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Parker School
Waimea, HI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT