Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waimea High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2013

Violence is a major concern if you are white. Most of my son's teachers did not know him even though his attendance was great. Drugs were rampant on campus. Test scores were poor. I am glad I took my son to the mainland. I moved him half way through his freshman year. It was a great decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

the principal is the problem here, and as another review stated, the (district) boss is a former principal who somehow got promoted - go figure. teachers can only do so much with limited resources/support, and "more with less" only will accomplish minimal results. the teachers are rebelling one by one due to inept administration, and students suffer. WHS has fallen dramatically from its heyday in the 90's, when academics and athletics were leading the island.


Posted September 30, 2010

This school is horrible. Some of the teachers and the principal didn't even show up for the back to school night. Bullying for NON local kids is rampant. The lack of control the teachers have over this school is unsatisfactory. The teachers are only hoping that the kids graduate, not that they succeed or get good grades. Smoking allowed right across the street by students within view of the school. I pulled my son from this school and enrolled him in ONLINE education, if you care about your child's education, I would suggest you do the same. Open house less than 10% of the parents even bothered to show up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

This school has the nicest campus on Kaua'i.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great football team, caring teachers & personnel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

Let's just say the principal that I know didn't even show up to the class of 2009's Graduation! When I went to school here, none of the administration showed up to the musical concerts. The block schedule cripples the minds and work habits of students. We fight as much as any school, but the general feeling you get is being unsafe. Where ever you go there seems to be a face ready to scowl. The teachers are either super good, but mistreated by the students or really lazy and layed back. When my parents asked me if I wanted to move, the school played a big part in my immediate yes. Only go here as a last resort. The school may try it's hardest, but they are fearfully behind the times and the students are incredibly lazy. The only redeeming quality is sports and they are even lacking there too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2008

this school may be the finest high school in America it by far has the nicest campus on the island of Kauai. 90% the students are well behaved outstanding students. the are bad kids that need to be kick out of school but other than that if your child enters this school with a great attitude they will not only not be bullied or disrespected but they shall receive a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

This ENTIRE island has a drug problem. From Haena to Kekaha. It is the parents who need to continue the awareness and education outside of the school. I was raised on the East side of Kauai. Our children attended both East and West schools. The close knit community of the Westside makes this school better in my eyes. Our children feel more accepted, therefore, they do better in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This school has serious issues. Nearly everyone in the area with an option chooses to send their children to an alternative school. From drugs to violence and incredibly low proficiency scores, this school has all the problems. The new principal is a big improvement however the former poor performing principal was promoted to his boss so it will be difficult to make significant progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

Waimea High School as a drug and violence problem on campus. I transferred my child out as soon as I was aware of the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Biology I

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%
Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 43% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 38% 34%
White 10% 14%
Two or more races 6% 8%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9707 Tsuchiya Rd
Waimea, HI 96796
Phone: (808) 338-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Island School
Lihue, HI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT