Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

August Ahrens Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 1390 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2014

(Part 2) This school doesn't have an interaction system that is really great. My mom is disappointed as well. I really wouldn't go through any trouble of applying. The admin are nice, yeah, but they aren't as professional. I pity my school because it's a public school and no one really gives two sh*ts about anything. So teachers should start taking notice on the "ditchers". These are usually the "popular group" because why? They think they're better than everyone! That's why! I want to seriously leave back to my old school this school gives me more problems. It adds up everyday. I'm bullied, yes, and my teachers seem lay back and cool. The only class I really enjoy is probably SFA. It's reading. Library isn't even a subject anymore. Like I said, I pity this school. I really don't like this school and a few of my piers apparently like to stare at every f*cking thing I do. People tease admin, for their voices or accents. Ill be totally honest; I've made fun of teachers but I don't start bullying them. One of my teachers FELL ASLEEP. He stopped though. This is true. I'm a 6th grader and my music teacher threatened to take away banquet and graduation privileges


Posted August 6, 2013

August Ahrens is... A GREAT SCHOOL! I'm very pleased with the school. :)I think it's amazing!


Posted March 3, 2012

This is to confirm my email address on the review that was just submitted. What I really need is information on the genealogy of August Ahrens.


Posted March 4, 2010

I would like more informationa and requirements for me to enroll my child in kindergarten
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

Greatest Elementary School! Smart choice to attend because they've been around the longest and understand how to teach a child both academically and respectively.


Posted January 12, 2008

I would not send my children to this school at all. I found the administration to be very unprofessional. There seems to be a lack of communication going on. Not just between the principal and vice-principals, but with everyone else too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

what this school has most is 'ohana' . Teachers, parents as well as students all form a 'family' environment. i've had 4 of my children attend this school.. the oldest who is now 17 and in high school as been a straight A student since then and my other children are doing extremely well. i highly recommend this school to all that care about their kids and are concerned about the care, love and attention that the faculty has to offer their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2003

This school is the best ever. You should have your kids go to this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 80% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 11% 34%
Two or more races 6% 8%
Hispanic 3% 6%
White 1% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

941170 Waipahu St
Waipahu, HI 96797
Phone: (808) 675-0202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Joseph School
Waipahu, HI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT