Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kanoelani Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

The staff is very rude and they seem to alway have an attitude when you go into the office. I sent my son here to be taught academics not solely learn about Hawaii.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

There is nothing wrong with learning about Hawaii. This is not something that is unique to Kanoelani, all the other public schools focus on Hawaiian history. As for schools stateside, we are part of the U.S. That parent needs to brush up on some history. My son is in 1st grade and is reading at 2nd grade reading level (and will soon read at a 3rd grade reading level). Kanoelani is a great school that has great communication. Newsletters are sent home monthly. Students have planners that they write their homework in and parents can use it as a way to communicate with the teachers. I've also been able to reach the teacher by phone after school hours. When I haven't, my messages were returned promptly. All of my interaction with the staff has been pleasant. They have been extremely helpful. The PTA program is strong and the other parents I interact with are very helpful. Perhaps the unhappy parents were rude and got rudeness in return? Here in Hawaii we do not tolerate rudeness. There is also the understanding that the parents need to do their part. As you can tell, the parents that are unhappy need to go back to school to learn grammar, it likely is passed on to their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

this school gets no stars!! it is horrible no help what so ever. i constantly called to communicate with principals, teachers & counselors -got no where but lots of false claims!!! this school has been my familys worst nightmare!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I don't think this school deserves any stars. They are so far behind on schooling my child is doing 3rd grade work & he's in the 5th grade! School tends to make alot of false claims especially pointing the finger to the parents when something in the school is wrong. LAck of communication with-in the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I dont think any of the parents below have had their children go to stateside schools because this school is sooooo far behind, school materials are dated & all they teach is about hawaii. with furlough fridays they have not done anything at all to help keep the students learning -those flyers they send home are not from the school. honestly theres so much I am not happy with at this school my list could go on & on -I know when we leave I will have to spend alot of $$ on getting some good tutoring for my child to catch up the the other peers in his new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

They strive to do the best they can for our children with many obstacles, especially furlough fridays. Hawaii has the least amount of school days in the nation which is so wrong and shameful. Kanoelani strives to always put the children first and foremost.


Posted September 16, 2009

I love this school. 3 generations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Kanoelani is a great school. My children are thriving there academically as well as socially. The principal has implemented several new programs to enhance student learning (high test scores) and has increase the students use and understanding of technology. The math program is designed for understanding math rather than just memorization. A skill students will need facing the advanced use of technology in every employment field. The school is a safe environment for learning. I am proud to say my children attend Kanoelani Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

My children are attending Kanoelani Elementary and they love their teachers. We have been very fortunate to have had quality teachers who show how much dedication they have to teaching our children. My kindergartener is reading and my 3rd grader is doing extensive research projects. The math curriculum takes some getting used to, but covers a wide variety of concepts. I think the teachers are doing a good job at trying to develop lessons that focus on the Hawaii State Standards, but with so many of benchmarks at each grade level it can be overwhelming at times. I applaud, not just my children's teachers, but all of the teachers for the hard work and effort they put into their profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

My daughter started at Kanoelani Elementary last year as a third-grader. After attending a private, Catholic school and doing above average work and receiving praises from her teachers, I was extremely disappointed in the school as a whole and the quality of education my daughter was now receiving. The quality of the academic program is below par. My daughter left St. Elizabeth School already learning multiplication and division. At Kanoelani in the third grade, she was re-learning addition and subtraction. My main concern is the ridiculous method of teaching math. Instead of focusing on strengthening the basics, the math program jumps from one math subject to another without setting up a proper foundation. My daughter is now in the fourth grade and hates math, which is a shame because she used to love it at St. Elizabeth. I would not recommend this school. If you can afford it, go private.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

Teachers and support staff of this school are wonderful. The current principal leaves much to be desired. Lack of follow through and consistant discipline by principal has left many parents feeling that their children are unsafe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 41% 34%
Two or more races 21% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 18% 34%
Hispanic 14% 6%
White 5% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

941091 Oli Lp
Waipahu, HI 96797
Phone: (808) 675-0195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Hanalani Schools
Mililani, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT