Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 2

Posted July 05, 2013
- a community member
The primary problem with North Fremont, as evidenced by many of these reviews, is its blindness to its own flaws. On numerous occasions as a student, I offered constructive, reasonable criticism of various elements of the school environment, and every time I was treated as if I were a spoiled brat who didn't realize what a "gem" of a school I was lucky enough to be attending. The main problem, in my opinion, is that the administration's assumption that most kids are naturally "bad". While I was there, for example, only three minutes were allowed between each class because, according to the assistant principal, if students had 5 minutes to get between classes, they would use the time to get in trouble. Thus, a trip to the bathroom or your locker without careful planning and speed would result in tardiness. Overall, the school is fine. To be a "gem" of a school, though, I believe the school must change its focus from "keeping kids in line" to encouraging real and varied intellectual pursuits. This would not take additional funds or teachers, simply a more trusting environment where students were not simply divided into the "good kids" and the "potential troublemakers".

North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted January 30, 2009
- a student
And to add a argument to what Mrs. Shelley Baum said; Contrary to your beliefs, the teachers are highly motivated and qualified. If I remember who you are correctly, you served as a substitute and treated the students hatefully. This is hands down one of the best schools in Idaho. You got into it, and often, you come out with a greater respect for just about anyone around. To the argument that this is 'not a good school'. The teachers are only 'unfair' to those who have a crappy attitude and are generally rude to everyone. The facilities are excellent, but could use a bit of strengthening (Basketballssprinklerpipe bad combination). Finally, the extracurricular activities and assemblies are what is to be desired at a small, rural school. No place is better, many are worse, North Fremont shines above the rest. PV1 Cianan JT Puckett


North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 4

Posted June 11, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 2

Posted October 27, 2007
- a former student
I graduated from North Fremont last year, and feel qualified to warn you that this is not a good school. Not only are most of the teachers and administration far below average, they are extremely unfair. To be sure, there are some good teachers, and the new principal is trying his best to make the school better. Besides bad leadership, the school has miserable facilities. The building is new, but already extremely dirty and depressing. The extracurricular activities/assemblies, etc. are a joke. Basically, this school is ok, but a rather depressing place from which to graduate

North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted May 09, 2007
- a teacher
In response to the revious comment, I am pleased to be listed in the 'great' teachers category. I wanted to address the comment about having more classes at North Fremont. We would love to offer more classes at North Fremont. However, due to limited spending on education in Idaho--and in all of America, if you want to go that far--more classes are going to be difficult to implement. There aren't enough teachers or times to teach the variety of classes that larger schools are able to teach.


North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 2

Posted January 31, 2007
- a student
Some of the teachers are incredible, (Hamilton,atchley,lopez,sam clark) but others some of the theachers are below par. the immaturity of the kids and the inability of some teachers to control it is the worst. north fremont needs to tuffen up their punishments and offer more classes.

North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 3

Posted August 25, 2006
- a parent
Two years in a brand new building...still no benches to sit down on in the hallways! How unwelcoming. Very little information is distributed to parents; report cards are not sent home with students or put in the mail and school calendars are not even given out at the beginning of the year. There are a lot of good kids at the school who could use some energetic leadership and it could be a better place. Right now it is 'O.K.'

North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 4

Posted April 05, 2006
- a former student
I attended North. You can't find a better and more willing staff to work with your kids. I should know. I went to North, South, Central, Madison, and even a couple of schools in Texas. As a world class troublemaker, I know that the staff at North was both fair and strict. Mr. Law, Mrs. Hamilton, Mrs. Case, Mrs. Bergman... so many wonderful people there. I wish I could have graduated from North, but at heart I'm still a husky. Oh, I went on to join the military and am doing great. All thanks to NFHS!


North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted January 25, 2006
- a student
This is a fabulous school. Sure, the public school system in general is the wrong way to go about education, but North Fremont is a top-notch public school. 'I can't read that, I was educated at North Fremont,' is balogna. The only students that leave this place without the proper education are those that chose to do so and never work at anything. Calculus class is taught by a volunteer teacher! The band and choir teacher is the perfect kind of teacher, and anyone who says otherwise must have never met him. Sorry to say, there is nothing wrong with telling some jokes, which is better than community members with terribly pessimistic opinions. The librarian and many others are marvelous teachers. And finally, NF prepares willing students for the real world as well as tries to teach them the strength to not be persuaded to the constant pessimism of parents!

North Fremont Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted June 15, 2005
- a parent
North Fremont Jr/Sr High School has been recognized as a distinguished school in both mathematics and reading. Schools are recognized when they are excelling according to the No Child Left Behind Act criteria and/or producing above average ISAT(Idaho State Assessment) scores. If you move here, get ready to attend a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Fremont Jr-Sr High School
3581 East 1300 North, Ashton, ID  83420
(208) 652-7468
Last modified North Fremont Jr-Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Fremont Jr-Sr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.