Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended this school in Kindergarten and part of first grade then again for third through fifth. The school environment and the cliques have improved significantly since Mr. Bond retired. Bullying is no longer tolerated and the teacher quality has improved dramatically as bad teachers have been weeded out. Teachers, the counselor, and the administration team care about what is best for children and work to support them in developmentally appropriate ways.

Riverside Elementary School 2

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
We have two kids who have attended this school. This last year there was very lIttle respect for the students, yelling at the students by the Principal. Poor leadership makes teaching hard which affects the learning by the children. What good there used to be seems to be diminishing quickly. Thank goodness we moved so we will not have to be returning to that toxic environment.. We did meet some wonderful parents and their children but many of them we have talked with have chosen to leave the school too.


Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
My son attended kindergarten here this year and I was truly impressed with the LOVE, time and patience his teacher gave to every child. The parents I've came into contact with seemed extremely involved with their kids' education and their activities. It was a wonderful year! :)

Riverside Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
This school is absolutely a miserable place. The workers and teachers are mean. They punish kids for anything. They made our kids not talk for a whole week because they were loud at lunch. They can't touch or talk anywhere else yet they punish them for being kids when they have a break. I heard from another mom that some classes withhold bathroom privileges unless kids earn good points. This was a good school but no more. I can't think of a more despicable place to have my kids and I will get mine out as quick as I can.

Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
Excellent! My daughter went in K with Mrs Hoetker. Huge progress, a lot of reading and home work (!). You have to spend much time with your child to keep up with home work. If you want an easy way with lots of movie and games then it is Mrs Jones classes. Both teachers are great and my daughter loves them.


Riverside Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2013
- a parent
This school has gone downhill fast since Mr. Bond left. The new Principal only cares about her own career aspirations and has not problem stopping on everyone in this school. Policy before our children. Full length movies are shown all the time, teachers lie to parents, the Principal has divided the parents and cut their involvement in the school. So many families leaving this very broken school - the kids and education are last on the list of priorities at Riverside. Administrators only care about Policy and Parents only care about parties.

Riverside Elementary School 1

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
I was amazed to see how cliquesh this school is even in Kindergarten. My daughter went into this school nearly reading and did not progress until I pulled her from this school towards the end of the year. The teacher that has taught Kindergarten at this school for many years is actually very cold to some of the children and my daughter was put in a time out because she was crying and missed her mom. I was really hoping this was going to be a great school, but it ended up getting my child off on the wrong start for her education. Hopefully the new princepal will be a better leader for this school.

Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a community member
I did my student teaching here! I loved it! Everyone was so amazing and kind!


Riverside Elementary School 4

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
Out of the public elementary school choices in Boise, this is probably a pretty good school... well, for Idaho schools, it's probably a GREAT school, actually. I would like to describe why I rated things the way I did, however: Mr. Bond and admin is exceptional; they are excellent communicators, responsible, timely and support parents, kids and teachers in every way imaginable. I hope that the incoming new principle can fill the shoes that Mr. Bond will be leaving. Kindergarten teachers: changed during the years my kids were there; the recent addition of Mrs. Hoetker is unfortunate. After transfering out of state, my child is now "way behind" and having to catch up. This educator did nothing but test prep drills and assessments with the kindergartners and that has nearly turned my child (a kindergartner!) off of school. I'm rebuilding now and trying to bring her back around. Mrs. Spurgeon is an excellent educator and really helps inspire a love of learning and writing for the kids. Wakewood is a bully with bad teaching methods. She uses fear and intimidation; that may work for some kids, but for sensitive, high achievers, this woman is disastrous.

Riverside Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
We moved from Texas 4 yrs ago & Mr. Bond was the only public school principal who would hear our unique situation & accept placement for our children, easily within district guidelines. I have been impressed that he has remembered all of our names since our first meeting. Teachers have been involved & amazing... Ms. Wakewood, Ms. Merkley, Mrs. Parsons, Ms. McKevitte, Mrs. Spurgeon, and the heart of the school, Tani Nelson, all deserve endless praise!! I have loved the extras Riverside does annually: run/walk club, manners lunches, silent auctions, community outreaches & educating the children on the value of charity, and so much more above & beyond just a classroom education. I would recommend Riverside Elem. to anyone with high expectations for academic and social success!

Nearby schools

Riverside Elementary School
2100 East Victory, Boise, ID  83706
(208) 854-5980
Last modified Riverside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top