Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pioneer Elementary School 1

Posted December 28, 2015
- a parent
I would not recommend this school for children with special needs. The IEP team is disconnected, oblivious to the needs of children, and unwilling to work with parents. The principal does not demonstrate any understanding of special needs or the laws that protect children with special needs in the state of Idaho. The teacher we have worked with has little knowledge or understanding of sensory needs, auditory processing concerns, or struggles with attention and comprehension. We have had to contact the district and the state in order to have this team follow the law. Communication between the home and school is minimal and it is made very clear that parents are not welcome in the classroom. We have had a terrible experience with this school and will not be returning.

Pioneer Elementary School 4

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Pros: The arts! The "specials" are Art, Music, computers, PE, keyboards (like piano) & library. So far teachers have been kind & well educated. Other schools in the area have a 1x/month craft mom that comes in & 0 keyboarding. These are amazing opportunities & all start in Kinder! Cons: communication home could be better. (I subscribe to their emails & joined the PTA) I've noticed that parents either get told of something quite far in advance or the day before. If a family is new to the school, there isn't a lot of information about what certain events are either. My advice- make friends with repeat parents quickly & have them keep you in the loop & explain stuff to you. Overall- good school. Principal seems involved & is good with students. Other parents & kids are nice. (I.e. A good demographic of families attend here)


Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Love the exposure to art and music that starts right away in Kindergarten. Has been a great school for my son!

Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
We love this school, both of my kids have attended over the last 6 years and it's amazing. The teachers are fantastic and the Principal is kind, but expects order too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Pioneer. They make learning fun through the arts, including music, starting in Kindergarten.

Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
Pioneer Rocks! Our son has attended Pioneer from 2nd through 5th grades. We've had great teachers who really care about their students and our son has enjoyed the music and art options offered at Pioneer. It's a great community-oriented environment with an active PTA group, as well as a principal who attends all of the PTA family activities, along with several of the teachers.


Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
Pioneer Elementary School is the best!! They teach with art which is fun. I also went to another schoool and they only do art crafts like once a month. If you want your kid to have fun and learn then Pioneer is your best option!!

Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
We have been a Pioneer family for three years now and can not say enough about this wonderful Art Magnet school! We have a daughter in 4th grade and a son in 2nd. The Art Magnet status means smaller class sizes, more involved parents (in my opinion...enrollment at the school is via a lottery system), an emphasis in the arts- visual, as well as musical, etc. Both are children have thrived here. The teachers are engaging, the principal and staff are very committed. We couldn't be happier!

Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
My son has really had a wonderful time at this Pioneer, he loves all of the music classes and really is challenged with his classwork. He has always been a bright child and Pioneer is helping him hit his full potential!


Pioneer Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and staff! They really care about every student!

Pioneer Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2008
- a parent
Pioneer School of the Arts has been a blessing for my son. He has loved all three teachers that he has had there. He loved being in the play last year in second grade and has enjoyed the other performances as well in the previous years. Our 5 year old will be going to Pioneer for the first year this year and has the same Kindergarten teacher our older son had. She is wonderful! The new principle is amazing! He is really involved with the kids and knows their names. The front office staff are very friendly and call me by name when I come to the office. The lunch staff are equally friendly. This is a great school! I would recommend it to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pioneer Elementary School
13255 West Mc Millan Rd, Boise, ID  83713
(208) 855-4100
Last modified Pioneer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pioneer Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top