Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lowell Scott Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1107 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2013

This is school is horrible. Most of the classrooms do not have windows and most of the walls between classrooms are temporary walls so you can hear right through them. Teacher morale is extremely low, and the students do not participate in spirit-building events. The principal is not visible to the students, in fact, most of the students don't even know who she is because she likes to sit in her office all day (I know this b/c I substituted at Lowell Scott for several years). She never offers to help teachers, she only tells them to do more and more work and takes away more of their resources every year (more of a district/state issue, but she could try thinking outside the box to solve problems). Many of the students here seem depressed. Programs rarely carry over from year to year, so there is no continuity. There is no school newspaper, debate team, or drama club. The only extracurricular activities are sports and music. The PTA is a joke. Only a few parents are members. From what I saw, the teachers worked very hard, but were so overloaded they couldn't keep up and were exhausted all the time. I am VERY glad my children did not go to school at Lowell Scott.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

my sister went there for 2 years and absolte hated it. it is the worst school ever never go there i reccomend heritage


Posted October 7, 2011

I understand some of your fustration. But it is only a bad experience if you make it. For example, how could you make that grade better? How could that argument have been handled better? How could I understand that teacher's expectations a little more clearly? If you look at things with a positive question in mind, things could make much more sense and could be potentially easier in the future. Personally, I think it is a great school with great programs run by great teachers. I am in the GT (gifted and talented) program in the sixth grade and I love all that we do and the instructors that make it possible. If you participate in the GT program, you will meet fun people like mr. Meyers and mrs. Leitzinger. An overall great place.


Posted April 22, 2011

I have never disliked a school until we my child attended Lowell Scott. I made a point to meet all the teachers and some didn't know which child mine was in their classroom. I initially went in to talk to the principal at the beginning of the year and introduce myself to staff and never once have I been asked to participate in any way. Only one teacher has ever called all year, and bullies are ignored. I have seen so much gang activity at age 12. We will not be attending next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

This school is absolutely amazing no matter what anyone else says, its great. Best experiece of my entire life, they have great teachers and it is a very loving school that accepts everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

Lowell Scott is the best school ever! I have As in every class! People who think it it is bad should really listen in class more, so you can get better grades! It is not the school's fault!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2010

lowell scott middle school is by farTHE WORST school i have ever attended! they do try, however, so many students are getting pregnant, using drugs, or alcohol! there is some definite problems with this school with the disiplinary action! im apologize for this statement, however this was one of the worst experiences ive had a school


Posted May 11, 2009

lowell scott middle school is totally FABULOUS!!! i love it and would reccomend it to everyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2008

This school has a fabulous academic program. They offer different teachings for different students. There's the Primera program for more arts-centered students and they also offer the GATE program for smarter children of which I am a part of. The teachers were great and although the school is very cliquey I had an overall good experience at this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2008

There is an atmosphere of failure at this school. The teachers, counsellors, staff and students expect D's and F's. There is embarrassed or shocked when assignments aren't done and there are few consequences for such behavior. I feel as if I am the only one in the school environment that's telling my child that zeros and failing grades are not acceptable and unfortunately, my children are choosing to listen to the other voices. I've asked the teachers and counsellors to hold my kids back if they fail and almost without exception tell me it's against their policy. They tell me that there are other kids doing more poorly than mine! Doesn't that mean there is a problem? I am going to pull them out of this school and either find another school that will support my standards or I'll do the computer- based program offered online and supervise the kids myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

Poor parent information in this day and age. Teachers do not keep information updated on the website. Teachers not teaching in some cases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

I went to this school for a year and it was the worst year of my life. The teachers weren't helpful at all and i got into a fight every week, oh by the way i am a girl. I left after on year to go to crossroads middle for two years and got straight A's. This school is seriously horrible.


Posted February 7, 2008

I think that this school is by far he best. Mr.Arnell is an awesome spainsh teacher. He dosnt make you learn from the book, he helps you and teachs you right! The teachers are awesome! Go Team Discovery.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

This is the best school there ever was! All 3 of my kids got straight A's at this school and no other!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

this is a fantastic school i really like it, it is a really good education for students like me so i would give this a five star cuse i think that the teachers know what they are doing.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 75% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 75% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students75%
Female78%
Male73%
African American42%
Asian88%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Special education27%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
African American23%
Asian88%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Special education26%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)25%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
African American58%
Asian88%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Special education40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)44%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students79%
Female84%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Special education26%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)33%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Special education30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)38%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Special education52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)60%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students70%
Female70%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian53%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Special education19%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial64%
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Special education44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)22%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students89%
Female88%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial82%
American Indiann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Special education52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)61%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial91%
American Indiann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)83%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 78%
Hispanic 10% 16%
Asian 4% 1%
Black 3% 1%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13600 West Mc Millan Rd
Boise, ID 83713
Phone: (208) 350-4060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT