Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cecil D Andrus Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
I do not wish to make a comment about this at this time. Thank you.

Cecil D Andrus Elementary School 3

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
My son has had issue's going to the restroom and getting a drink. He comes home all the time almost wetting his pants (and has a couple of times) and really thirsty, sometimes dehydrated. He says he's not aloud to get drinks or use the restroom when he asks. That is a problem for me.


Cecil D Andrus Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Andrus is unique in many ways. It has one of the two "Gifted & Talented" self-contained programs in the West Ada school district. It also has an incredible "special needs" program. Andrus is also one of the few schools in the district to offer orchestra (4th & 5th grade). The teachers are overall exceptional. They genuinely care and want to be there. The administration has had some turn-over the past 4 years but, things seem to still be running smoothly. The best thing about Andrus? THE MUSIC PROGRAM is extraordinary. Included in the music program is the opportunity for the kids to join an "honor choir" (4th & 5th grades). The honor choir sings at multiple city wide events including at The Christmas Tree Lightning Ceremony at the Capitol Building. It is a very unique opportunity. Is the parking lot too small and a complete mess especially after school? Absolutely. Would I still suggest you send your kids to Andrus despite the parking debacle? Most certainly.

Cecil D Andrus Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Andrus is a great school and has really been great for both of my children

Cecil D Andrus Elementary School 3

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
Clickish for sure... Teachers have the same perception. Excellent PTO. Excellent after school programs and activities.


Cecil D Andrus Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
Nothing but positive things to say about our dear school!! My son started in private school for pre-school and I was hesitant to put him in public. I am so thankful we live in this district because the school is incredible! It's small enough that it doesn't feel over-crowded, and yet there is still some decent diversity. I have really enjoyed every one of his 3 teachers so far and have been really pleased with their involvement.

Cecil D Andrus Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
My son was in the 5th grade fully contained GT program. I was extremely happy with his teacher. Initially, he struggled with the add'l responsibility, work load and was held accountable. This was the first year his intellect was truly challenged. He was used to sailing through without having to work hard. He had as many lessons in accountability, work ethics, and holding himself to a high standard as he did in math, english, and literature. His teacher was a fair, but tough task master with no tolerance for excuses. The kids all respected and loved him. So did the parents. My only issue was the amount of homework. I felt it was too much. My son learned to work hard and was very proud of his achievements at the end of the year. I would highly recommend this school, homework and all. I also had a 1st grader here and his teacher was very involved in working with him to build his esteem and focus. He is a much more physical learner then his brother and needs a completely different learning style. She worked closely with me to build a program that worked best for him. I absolutely LOVED the first grade reading, writing program. It is very comprehensive.

Cecil D Andrus Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2011
- a parent
Teachers and administration for this school are by far the best in the area. So many wonderful programs available to the students- honor choir, orchestra, clubs, challenge classes. The teachers are so dedicated to providing a safe and positive learning environment for the students. There is a high level of parent participation which adds to the dynamic environment. My children have attended for 3 years and love their school and their school experience. I have nothing but positive things to say about this school and it's commitment to the child's educational success and personal opportunity for growth.


Cecil D Andrus Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 15, 2010
- a parent
We moved out of state and attended this school. What a gem. From the top down we had an excellent experience. Only wish we could have stayed, don't walk, run to this school.

Cecil D Andrus Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
I havent seen the love and logic approach yet. Bully's and victims are treated equally here. It is an extremly clickish type of enviornment at this school, and if one doesnt conform to their beliefs your child will be labled and this stigma will stay for the remainder of the time your child goes to this school.

Nearby schools

Cecil D Andrus Elementary School
6100 Park Meadow Dr, Boise, ID  83713
(208) 939-3400
Last modified Cecil D Andrus Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top