Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Boise, ID
Students enrolled: 247

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Collister Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about Collister! The teachers and principal are fantastic. They teach from the heart and really care about the students. The school community is very tight-knit and supportive of one another. The HG program has been a godsend for our family and has provided the challenge and individualized education my children needed in a smaller, nurturing environment. Collister has instilled a love of learning in my kids. They truly love their school!

Collister Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
Collister has been a wonderful school so far and I cannot wait for the years to come!


Collister Elementary School 4

Posted June 27, 2009
- a parent
My child has attended Collister Elementary for 3 years and I've so far been very impressed with the quality of teaching, parent involvement, and communication from the administration and staff. The music teachers are wonderful and in the last year I have noticed a small increase in diversity of the student population. It's also great to have Captalpa Park adjacent to the school.

Collister Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Collister Elementary School 4

Posted November 23, 2008
- a parent
Would love to read a review by a parent who could spell and write a clear sentence. Great school. Collister is a small school, only one classroom per grade, so that impacts resources for students who need enrichment. Teachers are very open to feedback. Not sure about the new principal yet but we'll see how she does.


Collister Elementary School 1

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
The school is heading to the bad trend due to change in administration level and teachers level. The new administration is just busy with fund-raising but not the teaching quality! Most of the first grade HG program teachers don't even develop a syllabus and they don't let parents know what they teach at school! At school, kids are learning on their own, or by computers, not by teachers! They just care their personal stuff. The teachers are often absent -- because they travel to watch football game in another state! No wonder gifted students left this seemingly precious opportunity!

Collister Elementary School 3

Posted March 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Collister Elementary School 3

Posted May 23, 2007
- a parent
The academic programs are good and consistantly working on ways to improve, especially with the new 3rd grade teacher. She is amazing. Discipline is not dependable when it comes to bullies. The music teacher is working to rectify this somewhat and educate through shows. For the average child, and some children with special needs who do not question mainstream beliefs, this is a good school. For children of thinkers and kids who are well above average, they have a lot of work to do. Bright kids tend to be ignored or slip through the cracks unless the parents really fight for them.


Collister Elementary School 3

Posted July 20, 2005
- a parent
Collister Elementary has been an interesting expearience for myself and my son thus far. As another reviewer stated, he was squelched in K due to bullies and an inexpearienced teacher. He likes first grade fairly well, until he ran into problems with a small group of classmates threatening his life with their personal faith...that he would burn in hell, their 'god' would kill him, etc. I was not at all happy. I brought the situation to the teacher, and playground attendent (the only one they have for the whole school...an unfortunate problem due to not enough funding or volunteers), and had to take it to the principal ultimately. She was very open and understanding, and immediately rectified the situation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Collister Elementary School
4426 Catalpa Dr, Boise, ID  83703
(208) 854-4650
Last modified Collister Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Collister Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top