Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Collister Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
I have 3 children there and I (and they) love it. Obviously all schools have issues but I couldn't be happier. The staff are caring and skilled. They provide a "just right" challenge for the kids and work hard to meet their individual needs.

Collister Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about Collister! The teachers and principal are fantastic. They teach from the heart and really care about the students. The school community is very tight-knit and supportive of one another. The HG program has been a godsend for our family and has provided the challenge and individualized education my children needed in a smaller, nurturing environment. Collister has instilled a love of learning in my kids. They truly love their school!


Collister Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
Collister has been a wonderful school so far and I cannot wait for the years to come!

Collister Elementary School 4

Posted June 27, 2009
- a parent
My child has attended Collister Elementary for 3 years and I've so far been very impressed with the quality of teaching, parent involvement, and communication from the administration and staff. The music teachers are wonderful and in the last year I have noticed a small increase in diversity of the student population. It's also great to have Captalpa Park adjacent to the school.

Collister Elementary School 4

Posted November 23, 2008
- a parent
Would love to read a review by a parent who could spell and write a clear sentence. Great school. Collister is a small school, only one classroom per grade, so that impacts resources for students who need enrichment. Teachers are very open to feedback. Not sure about the new principal yet but we'll see how she does.


Collister Elementary School 1

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
The school is heading to the bad trend due to change in administration level and teachers level. The new administration is just busy with fund-raising but not the teaching quality! Most of the first grade HG program teachers don't even develop a syllabus and they don't let parents know what they teach at school! At school, kids are learning on their own, or by computers, not by teachers! They just care their personal stuff. The teachers are often absent -- because they travel to watch football game in another state! No wonder gifted students left this seemingly precious opportunity!

Collister Elementary School 3

Posted May 23, 2007
- a parent
The academic programs are good and consistantly working on ways to improve, especially with the new 3rd grade teacher. She is amazing. Discipline is not dependable when it comes to bullies. The music teacher is working to rectify this somewhat and educate through shows. For the average child, and some children with special needs who do not question mainstream beliefs, this is a good school. For children of thinkers and kids who are well above average, they have a lot of work to do. Bright kids tend to be ignored or slip through the cracks unless the parents really fight for them.

Collister Elementary School 3

Posted July 20, 2005
- a parent
Collister Elementary has been an interesting expearience for myself and my son thus far. As another reviewer stated, he was squelched in K due to bullies and an inexpearienced teacher. He likes first grade fairly well, until he ran into problems with a small group of classmates threatening his life with their personal faith...that he would burn in hell, their 'god' would kill him, etc. I was not at all happy. I brought the situation to the teacher, and playground attendent (the only one they have for the whole school...an unfortunate problem due to not enough funding or volunteers), and had to take it to the principal ultimately. She was very open and understanding, and immediately rectified the situation.

Nearby schools

Collister Elementary School
4426 Catalpa Dr, Boise, ID  83703
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (208) 854-4650
Last modified Collister Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top